FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P014 / Video / Connector

DVI-D dual-link connector

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

Also called DVI-D dual dual link DVI 24+1 DVI

A full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.

Look for

Inspect both the grid and the flat blade. A dual-link cable is not evidence that a video adapter actively generates a dual-link signal.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-01, 2026-10-07, 2026-10-11 · Independent review pending

Image inspection / P014

See the view. Check its scope.

1 registered view for this reference. Different part examples are not automatically mates; all remain not to scale and independently unapproved.

DVI-D dual-link / cable plug. Dense contact field beside a flat blade. No four-contact analog cluster around the blade. Plug view, not the receptacle view. No pitch, pin numbers, recess depths or mating dimensions are plotted. Not to scale. (private workspace)

P014 / Source-observed physical study

DVI-D dual-link / cable plug

StarTech DVIDDMM2M / one cable end

Observed oblique cable-end view · Cable plug / cable end

Not to scale. Technical and rights review pending.

Inspect view & provenance (private workspace)

Application notes / Legacy video / P014

Will a passive DVI-to-VGA adapter make a picture?

FIELD NOTES 04

The named passive DVIVGAMF is specified for DVI-I, not DVI-D. DVI2VGAE instead documents an active digital-DVI-to-VGA path.

Identify first

Read the part and the device.

Confirm the source’s DVI signal type before interpreting the adapter’s shell.

Still unresolved

Keep this requirement open.

Supported timing, power availability and the exact source/display pair remain separate requirements.

Explicit source exclusion · named example only

Is DVIVGAMF documented for the DVI-D-to-VGA job?

No: this passive model is specified for DVI-I; its note directs DVI-D users to a converter.

Boundary. An active conversion path is a different product and still needs equipment checks.

Next check. Check input signal, converter direction and display timing.

S494 · S493 · C015E (private workspace) · C014E (private workspace)

Not established · named example only

Does DVI2VGAE’s documentation establish reverse conversion?

Unknown from this evidence: only DVI input to VGA output is documented.

Boundary. Do not call missing reverse support a tested failure or imply a reversible cable.

Next check. Find a converter explicitly specified for VGA input and DVI output.

S493 · C016F (private workspace) · C014E (private workspace)

Before choosing an adapter or reader

  1. Identify the DVI source signal.
  2. Distinguish passive routing from active conversion.
  3. Check converter direction, timing and power for the actual equipment.
Read the evidence and its scope · 3 observations

C014A (private workspace) — DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

S018

C014E (private workspace) — StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio.

Named direction and video-only conversion. The pictured DVI connector is a dual-link form; pin loading is not a resolution guarantee.

S493

C015E (private workspace) — StarTech DVIVGAMF is a passive DVI-I-to-VGA adapter; its instructions refer DVI-D users to a separate converter.

Named adapter for a DVI-I output and VGA display. The source does not approve arbitrary DVI-I devices, modes or mechanical pairings.

S494

Source interpretation is not independent engineering review, hardware testing, wiring advice or a public-release approval.

V117 / READER FIELD GUIDE / AV & LEGACY

Before you connect or replace

Dual-link is not a universal speed guarantee

The additional DVI-D dual-link contacts identify an interface provision, not a tested display path. Timing support depends on source, cable and display electronics.

Three checks and exact source trail ↗

Editorial decision guidance only. A connector identity or nominal pitch does not establish approved mating, safe wiring or a supported device combination.

Inspect the illustrationContact-pattern sketch · larger view & look-alikes
DVI-D dual-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Contact-pattern sketchDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

Dual-link grid with a flat blade

The blade is shown at the right in this illustration. Do not mirror it to invent an assignment.

What it cannot establish: A cable layout does not prove that an adapter generates dual-link video.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S018 · S411 · S413 · S414. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D. [C014A]

DDWG DVI 1.0 Table 5-1 defines 24 numbered digital-only positions. Pin 8 is not connected in that table; positions 4/5, 12/13 and 20/21 carry the additional TMDS data pairs. [C014B]

Dell SE2416HM documentation shows a numbered 24-position DVI-D grid but labels positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 Floating. Its implementation must not be substituted into a universal dual-link pinout. [C014C]

Dell documents E-Port docks with DVI connectors accepting dual-link-shaped cables but wired for single-link operation. It also identifies the source, cable, display and any adapter as separate dual-link requirements. [C014D]

StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio. [C014E]

Identify the documented form

Distinguish a full DVI-D grid from an actually active dual-link path.

  1. Read the numbered digital grid separately from the flat blade; the blade is outside this profile’s numbered-position count. S411
  2. A documented Dell implementation marks several positions Floating; its assignment is not the universal dual-link map. S413
  3. A dock accepting a dual-link-shaped cable can still be wired for single-link operation. S414
Documented identity facts; exact part and variant scope remains with each value
Nominal contacts24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.
Positions / cavity span24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.
Populated contactsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector rolesocket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Rows, pitch, dimensions, keying and view limits
Additional scoped facts; not a fabrication drawing or a mating approval
Contact rows3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Contact pitch1.9 mm manufacturer-reported centerline or mating-interface pitch (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Dimensions / axis2.34 mm PCB tail length (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Coupling / latchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Keying / polarizationmanufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
View conventionDDWG Rev. 1.0 Tables 5-1/5-2 and Figures 5-1/5-3; receptacle viewed from its mating front, numbered grid on the left, position 1 upper-left and position 24 lower-right. The plug front is mirrored (Figure 5-5). Molex explicitly labels its combined diagram as a receptacle front view. Not a solder-side or PCB map.S411 · S413 · S414Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Existing engineering orientation text; source/part/view remains controlling.
Contact gender / arrangementNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
MountingNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Shell / formNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
ManufacturerMolex (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Series74320 DVI digital (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Exact part / implementation74320-4004 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Recorded markingsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Keep this limit: Source, cable, display and any adapter must all support the required link; pin presence alone is insufficient. S414

Make the next check

Confirm the exact source/display link support and adapter function, not just the cable’s pin field.

Existing source inspection and AI review remain distinct from independent technical review. A matching form does not establish a safe connection.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • The flat digital blade is not an invented numbered signal 25. Different vendor counts can include or exclude it.
  • No housing dimensions, tolerances, insertion depth, PCB layout or fabrication approval is established.
  • Full receptacle contact presence is not evidence that a source, cable or receiver operates both links.
  • Do not apply voltage or modify connector pins based on a reference table. Exact device wiring and operating requirements remain separate.
  • DVI 1.0 digital-only connector, all 24 contacts (both TMDS links): Receptacle mating face, pin 1 upper left (Figure 5-1).
  • DDWG DVI 1.0 digital-only connector (Table 5-1), both TMDS links: DDWG DVI 1.0 Fig. 5-1 (p. 45), receptacle mating face: pin 1 top-left; pins 1-8 top row, 9-16 middle row, 17-24 bottom row, left to right; pin 24 bottom-right; flat-blade / micro-cross area to the right. Fig. 5-5 (p. 47) shows the plug face mirrored: pin 1 top-right, blade on the left.
Report a correction to this identification or view →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

DVI-D dual-link connector facts and limitations
VariantDVI-D dual-link [C014A]
Not a guaranteeSource dual-link output [C014A]
Engineering evidenceNamed-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separate [C014B] [C014C] [C014D]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently reviewed mechanical drawing in this release; do not use this page for fabrication.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

This record is an identification starting point. It does not provide measured mating tolerances, electrical approval, or a list of verified device models. Use the original device and accessory documentation to resolve the remaining requirements.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Identify the exact DVI variant at both ends.
  2. Check whether the source and any converter support the requested timing.
  3. Do not equate a passive HDMI-to-DVI adapter with a dual-link converter.
Trace a supported connection class →

Can I connect…

Common connections for this connector

All connection questions →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

DVI 1.0 digital-only connector, all 24 contacts (both TMDS links)

View and evidence limits

Receptacle mating face, pin 1 upper left (Figure 5-1).

  • P014 DVI-D dual-link — **Agree** on all 24 contacts — DDWG DVI 1.0 only; neither pass found an independent second source.
  • No named dual-link device or cable document was examined; rows reflect the DVI 1.0 connector table, corroborated by Molex PS-74320-001.
DVI-D dual-link connector — scoped DVI referenceReceptacle mating face, pin 1 upper left (Figure 5-1).SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: T.M.D.S. Data2- (single_source)12: T.M.D.S. Data2+ (single_source)23: T.M.D.S. Data2/4 Shield (single_source)34: T.M.D.S. Data4- (single_source)45: T.M.D.S. Data4+ (single_source)56: DDC Clock (single_source)67: DDC Data (single_source)78: No Connect (not_connected)89: T.M.D.S. Data1- (single_source)910: T.M.D.S. Data1+ (single_source)1011: T.M.D.S. Data1/3 Shield (single_source)1112: T.M.D.S. Data3- (single_source)1213: T.M.D.S. Data3+ (single_source)1314: +5V Power (single_source)1415: Ground (for +5V) (single_source)1516: Hot Plug Detect (single_source)1617: T.M.D.S. Data0- (single_source)1718: T.M.D.S. Data0+ (single_source)1819: T.M.D.S. Data0/5 Shield (single_source)1920: T.M.D.S. Data5- (single_source)2021: T.M.D.S. Data5+ (single_source)2122: T.M.D.S. Clock Shield (single_source)2223: T.M.D.S. Clock+ (single_source)2324: T.M.D.S. Clock- (single_source)24powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
DVI 1.0 digital-only connector, all 24 contacts (both TMDS links) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1T.M.D.S. Data2-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
2T.M.D.S. Data2+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
3T.M.D.S. Data2/4 ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
4T.M.D.S. Data4-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
5T.M.D.S. Data4+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
6DDC ClockClock or clock-control connection, as named by this source.Single source
Sources
7DDC DataSignal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
8No ConnectNot connected or absent in this named wiring.Not connected
Sources
9T.M.D.S. Data1-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
10T.M.D.S. Data1+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
11T.M.D.S. Data1/3 ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
12T.M.D.S. Data3-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
13T.M.D.S. Data3+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
14+5V PowerPower connection (+5V Power). Check the specified supply.Single source
Sources
15Ground (for +5V)Ground reference and return.Single source
Sources
16Hot Plug DetectControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
17T.M.D.S. Data0-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
18T.M.D.S. Data0+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
19T.M.D.S. Data0/5 ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
20T.M.D.S. Data5-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
21T.M.D.S. Data5+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
22T.M.D.S. Clock ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
23T.M.D.S. Clock+Clock or clock-control connection, as named by this source.Single source
Sources
24T.M.D.S. Clock-Clock or clock-control connection, as named by this source.Single source
Sources
Sources (4)

DDWG DVI 1.0 digital-only connector (Table 5-1), both TMDS links

View and evidence limits

DDWG DVI 1.0 Fig. 5-1 (p. 45), receptacle mating face: pin 1 top-left; pins 1-8 top row, 9-16 middle row, 17-24 bottom row, left to right; pin 24 bottom-right; flat-blade / micro-cross area to the right. Fig. 5-5 (p. 47) shows the plug face mirrored: pin 1 top-right, blade on the left.

  • P014 DVI-D dual-link — **Agree** on all 24 contacts — DDWG DVI 1.0 only; neither pass found an independent second source.
  • Both links share one clock pair (Sec. 2.2.2, p. 12).
  • Every row rests on DDWG documents only. The Molex-hosted summary comes from the same publisher. No dual-link DVI-D device manual from another publisher was obtained (Dell U3011/U2711/3008WFP guide downloads failed or returned 404).
DVI-D dual-link connector — scoped DVI referenceDDWG DVI 1.0 Fig. 5-1 (p. 45), receptacle mating face: pin 1 top-left; pins 1-8 top row, 9-16 middle row, 17-24 bottom row, left to right; pin 24 bottom-right; flat-blade / micro-cross area to the right. Fig. 5-5 (p. 47) shows the plug face mirrored: pin 1 top-right, blade on the left.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: T.M.D.S. Data2- (single_source)12: T.M.D.S. Data2+ (single_source)23: T.M.D.S. Data2/4 Shield (single_source)34: T.M.D.S. Data4- (single_source)45: T.M.D.S. Data4+ (single_source)56: DDC Clock (single_source)67: DDC Data (single_source)78: No Connect (not_connected)89: T.M.D.S. Data1- (single_source)910: T.M.D.S. Data1+ (single_source)1011: T.M.D.S. Data1/3 Shield (single_source)1112: T.M.D.S. Data3- (single_source)1213: T.M.D.S. Data3+ (single_source)1314: +5V Power (single_source)1415: Ground (for +5V) (single_source)1516: Hot Plug Detect (single_source)1617: T.M.D.S. Data0- (single_source)1718: T.M.D.S. Data0+ (single_source)1819: T.M.D.S. Data0/5 Shield (single_source)1920: T.M.D.S. Data5- (single_source)2021: T.M.D.S. Data5+ (single_source)2122: T.M.D.S. Clock Shield (single_source)2223: T.M.D.S. Clock+ (single_source)2324: T.M.D.S. Clock- (single_source)24powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
DDWG DVI 1.0 digital-only connector (Table 5-1), both TMDS links — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1T.M.D.S. Data2-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
2T.M.D.S. Data2+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
3T.M.D.S. Data2/4 ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
4T.M.D.S. Data4-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
5T.M.D.S. Data4+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
6DDC ClockClock or clock-control connection, as named by this source.Single source
Sources
7DDC DataSignal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
8No ConnectNot connected or absent in this named wiring.Not connected
Sources
9T.M.D.S. Data1-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
10T.M.D.S. Data1+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
11T.M.D.S. Data1/3 ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
12T.M.D.S. Data3-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
13T.M.D.S. Data3+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
14+5V PowerPower connection (+5V Power). Check the specified supply.Single source
Sources
15Ground (for +5V)Ground reference and return.Single source
Sources
16Hot Plug DetectControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
17T.M.D.S. Data0-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
18T.M.D.S. Data0+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
19T.M.D.S. Data0/5 ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
20T.M.D.S. Data5-Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
21T.M.D.S. Data5+Signal conductor. Pair, polarity and direction follow this named wiring.Single source
Sources
22T.M.D.S. Clock ShieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
23T.M.D.S. Clock+Clock or clock-control connection, as named by this source.Single source
Sources
24T.M.D.S. Clock-Clock or clock-control connection, as named by this source.Single source
Sources

DVI count, assignment and implementation

Use the DVI reference guides to distinguish grid positions from the blade/analog group and to keep full standard assignments separate from exact device wiring. Read the source view before applying a number; never remove contacts to force a fit.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C014ASource checked · pending review

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

C2G / Legrand · Video connector guide ↗

Locator: HD15, HDMI, HDMI Mini, HDMI Micro, DVI-D and RCA sections
Access: public page. The old DisplayPort technology/speed description on this page is not relied on.

S018: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only. Next review due 2026-12-30.

Back to first citation ↑
C014BSource checked · pending review

DDWG DVI 1.0 Table 5-1 defines 24 numbered digital-only positions. Pin 8 is not connected in that table; positions 4/5, 12/13 and 20/21 carry the additional TMDS data pairs.

Digital Display Working Group (DDWG) · Digital Visual Interface, Revision 1.0 (02 April 1999) ↗

Locator: Printed/PDF pp. 43–47; Tables 5-1 and 5-2; Figures 5-1, 5-3 and 5-5.
Access: public pdf text. Mirror hosting is not an official live DDWG publication channel. No independent authentication, fabrication approval, current product conformance, universal PCB layout or timing guarantee.

S411: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Full digital-only interface assignment from the named specification; not a guarantee that an exact device implements every signal.. Next review due 2027-01-05.

Back to first citation ↑
C014CSource checked · pending review

Dell SE2416HM documentation shows a numbered 24-position DVI-D grid but labels positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 Floating. Its implementation must not be substituted into a universal dual-link pinout.

Dell · SE2416HM Monitor User’s Guide — DVI-D connector assignments ↗

Locator: PDF/printed p. 44: numbered DVI-D view and 24-position assignment table.
Access: public pdf text. Labels belong to this manual. Do not substitute its Self test or supply labels for the DDWG standard; no voltage application, hardware measurement, or universal DVI implementation is established.

S413: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.. Next review due 2027-01-05.

Back to first citation ↑
C014DSource checked · pending review

Dell documents E-Port docks with DVI connectors accepting dual-link-shaped cables but wired for single-link operation. It also identifies the source, cable, display and any adapter as separate dual-link requirements.

Dell · Video Display and Multiple Video Display General Information — DVI questions ↗

Locator: Article 000052929, version 13; modified 17 April 2026. First FAQ on dual link, E-Port dock note, and active/passive adapter definitions.
Access: public page. General article includes simplified descriptions and a broad conversion chart; those are not adopted as universal compatibility rules. E-Port wording is not an inventory of every dock revision.

S414: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Named legacy dock example and documentation checklist, not a universal resolution limit or all-dock inventory.. Next review due 2027-01-05.

Back to first citation ↑
C014ESource checked · pending review

StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio.

StarTech.com · DVI2VGAE active DVI-D to VGA datasheet ↗

Locator: PDF pages 1–2: direction, low-powered-port note, Hardware / AV Input / AV Output / Audio; page 2 visually inspected.
Access: public pdf text. Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

S493: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Named direction and video-only conversion. The pictured DVI connector is a dual-link form; pin loading is not a resolution guarantee.. Next review due 2027-01-09.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Common questions

Questions this record can help resolve

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

5 linked sources · 5 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_pilot

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2026-12-30. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 5 source scopes, access limits and dates

S018 · Video connector guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Narrow physical identifiers only, not historical speed or video capability descriptions.

Not established / limitations: The old DisplayPort technology/speed description on this page is not relied on.

Locator: HD15, HDMI, HDMI Mini, HDMI Micro, DVI-D and RCA sections

S411 · Digital Visual Interface, Revision 1.0 (02 April 1999)

Digital Display Working Group (DDWG) · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary DDWG specification authored in 1999, read from an explicitly third-party document mirror. Digital-only and combined assignments, interface grouping and numbered receptacle/plug views.

Not established / limitations: Mirror hosting is not an official live DDWG publication channel. No independent authentication, fabrication approval, current product conformance, universal PCB layout or timing guarantee.

Locator: Printed/PDF pp. 43–47; Tables 5-1 and 5-2; Figures 5-1, 5-3 and 5-5.

S413 · SE2416HM Monitor User’s Guide — DVI-D connector assignments

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact SE2416HM manual example. Positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 are labeled Floating despite the full numbered grid.

Not established / limitations: Labels belong to this manual. Do not substitute its Self test or supply labels for the DDWG standard; no voltage application, hardware measurement, or universal DVI implementation is established.

Locator: PDF/printed p. 44: numbered DVI-D view and 24-position assignment table.

S414 · Video Display and Multiple Video Display General Information — DVI questions

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Bounded use: 18 versus 24 grid positions; source/cable/display requirements; named E-Port single-link wiring despite accepting dual-link-shaped cables; active versus passive circuitry.

Not established / limitations: General article includes simplified descriptions and a broad conversion chart; those are not adopted as universal compatibility rules. E-Port wording is not an inventory of every dock revision.

Locator: Article 000052929, version 13; modified 17 April 2026. First FAQ on dual link, E-Port dock note, and active/passive adapter definitions.

S493 · DVI2VGAE active DVI-D to VGA datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named active DVI-D source to VGA display path. Reverse operation is not established. Conflicting resolution labels are not used.

Not established / limitations: Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

Locator: PDF pages 1–2: direction, low-powered-port note, Hardware / AV Input / AV Output / Audio; page 2 visually inspected.

Trace 5 claims to their source records

C014A · P014

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S018 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014B · P014

DDWG DVI 1.0 Table 5-1 defines 24 numbered digital-only positions. Pin 8 is not connected in that table; positions 4/5, 12/13 and 20/21 carry the additional TMDS data pairs.

Claim scope: Full digital-only interface assignment from the named specification; not a guarantee that an exact device implements every signal.

Source links: S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014C · P014

Dell SE2416HM documentation shows a numbered 24-position DVI-D grid but labels positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 Floating. Its implementation must not be substituted into a universal dual-link pinout.

Claim scope: Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.

Source links: S413 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014D · P014

Dell documents E-Port docks with DVI connectors accepting dual-link-shaped cables but wired for single-link operation. It also identifies the source, cable, display and any adapter as separate dual-link requirements.

Claim scope: Named legacy dock example and documentation checklist, not a universal resolution limit or all-dock inventory.

Source links: S414 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014E · P014

StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio.

Claim scope: Named direction and video-only conversion. The pictured DVI connector is a dual-link form; pin loading is not a resolution guarantee.

Source links: S493 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.