FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

DVI-D single-link vs DVI-D dual-link

Both are DVI-D forms, but their contact patterns differ. Inspect the complete pin field instead of relying on the DVI label alone.

Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P013 · ConnectorDVI-D single-link connector
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P014 · ConnectorDVI-D dual-link connector

How they differ

  • DVI-D single-link connector Inspect the contact pattern rather than the outer housing alone. The schematic is not a wiring diagram and deliberately has no pin numbers.
  • DVI-D dual-link connector Inspect both the grid and the flat blade. A dual-link cable is not evidence that a video adapter actively generates a dual-link signal.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
FieldDVI-D single-link connectorDVI-D dual-link connector
TypeConnectorConnector
FamilyVideoVideo
Shaped subd sub
Nominal contacts18S414 · S411 · S412Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.
Positions / cavity spanNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.
Contact rowsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Connector roleplug (DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01)S936Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01. Documented role: plug. 1m cable length,7.3mm cableOD and28AWG wire are not connector envelope or contact pitch.; Full exact primary part page read. Linked2D drawing access failed; contact rows and dimensional axes remain unknown.; Part-specific values differ from older generic LTW brochure40VAC. Do not force brochure voltage onto this exact part.socket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Key distinctionThe gap in the contact grid matters.A full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Connector records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: Video

Look here first

Spot the difference.

Read the views →

Not a size comparison. Illustrations fit the same display boxes; their physical dimensions are not shown to a common scale. No mating or compatibility verdict follows.

DVI-D single-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P013 / Contact-pattern sketch

DVI-D single-link connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Read the single-link grid and blade together

Still check: The outside DVI shell alone does not identify the variant.

DVI-D dual-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P014 / Contact-pattern sketch

DVI-D dual-link connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Dual-link grid with a flat blade

Still check: A cable layout does not prove that an adapter generates dual-link video.

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

2 selected records · 17 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
DVI-D single-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P013 / ConnectorDVI-D single-link connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

DVI-D dual-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P014 / ConnectorDVI-D dual-link connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

LayerConnectorConnector
Key distinctionThe gap in the contact grid matters.A full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.
Nominal contacts18S414 · S411 · S412Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.
Positions / cavity spanNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.
Populated contactsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rowsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Contact pitchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.1.9 mm manufacturer-reported centerline or mating-interface pitch (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Dimensions / axisNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.2.34 mm PCB tail length (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Connector roleplug (DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01)S936Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01. Documented role: plug. 1m cable length,7.3mm cableOD and28AWG wire are not connector envelope or contact pitch.; Full exact primary part page read. Linked2D drawing access failed; contact rows and dimensional axes remain unknown.; Part-specific values differ from older generic LTW brochure40VAC. Do not force brochure voltage onto this exact part.socket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Coupling / latchScrew-thread retention; straight overmoulded male cable connector (DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01)S936Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01. Documented role: plug. 1m cable length,7.3mm cableOD and28AWG wire are not connector envelope or contact pitch.; Full exact primary part page read. Linked2D drawing access failed; contact rows and dimensional axes remain unknown.; Part-specific values differ from older generic LTW brochure40VAC. Do not force brochure voltage onto this exact part.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Keying / polarizationNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.manufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
Signal familyDigital DVI; not analog VGAC013ANot an equivalent field
ContactsSingle-link layout; confirm exact productC013ANot an equivalent field
Engineering evidenceNamed-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC013B · C013CNamed-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC014B · C014C · C014D
VariantNot an equivalent fieldDVI-D dual-linkC014A
Not a guaranteeNot an equivalent fieldSource dual-link outputC014A
EvidenceC013A,C013B,C013C →
Independent review pending
C014A,C014B,C014C,C014D,C014E →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Connector
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Connector

Key distinction

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
The gap in the contact grid matters.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
A full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.

Nominal contacts

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
18S414 · S411 · S412Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.

Positions / cavity span

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.

Populated contacts

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact rows

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.

Contact pitch

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
1.9 mm manufacturer-reported centerline or mating-interface pitch (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.

Dimensions / axis

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
2.34 mm PCB tail length (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.

Connector role

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
plug (DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01)S936Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01. Documented role: plug. 1m cable length,7.3mm cableOD and28AWG wire are not connector envelope or contact pitch.; Full exact primary part page read. Linked2D drawing access failed; contact rows and dimensional axes remain unknown.; Part-specific values differ from older generic LTW brochure40VAC. Do not force brochure voltage onto this exact part.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
socket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.

Coupling / latch

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Screw-thread retention; straight overmoulded male cable connector (DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01)S936Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. DDS-19AMMM-SL7A01. Documented role: plug. 1m cable length,7.3mm cableOD and28AWG wire are not connector envelope or contact pitch.; Full exact primary part page read. Linked2D drawing access failed; contact rows and dimensional axes remain unknown.; Part-specific values differ from older generic LTW brochure40VAC. Do not force brochure voltage onto this exact part.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Keying / polarization

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
manufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.

Signal family

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Digital DVI; not analog VGAC013A
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Contacts

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Single-link layout; confirm exact productC013A
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Engineering evidence

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Named-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC013B · C013C
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Named-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC014B · C014C · C014D

Variant

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
DVI-D dual-linkC014A

Not a guarantee

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Source dual-link outputC014A

Evidence

DVI-D single-link connectorP013 / Connector
C013A,C013B,C013C →
Independent review pending
DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
C014A,C014B,C014C,C014D,C014E →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Resolve the DVI question behind this comparison

Contact count, connector loading and implemented signal support are different evidence questions.

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

7 linked sources · 8 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2026-12-30. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 7 source scopes, access limits and dates

S018 · Video connector guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Narrow physical identifiers only, not historical speed or video capability descriptions.

Not established / limitations: The old DisplayPort technology/speed description on this page is not relied on.

Locator: HD15, HDMI, HDMI Mini, HDMI Micro, DVI-D and RCA sections

S411 · Digital Visual Interface, Revision 1.0 (02 April 1999)

Digital Display Working Group (DDWG) · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary DDWG specification authored in 1999, read from an explicitly third-party document mirror. Digital-only and combined assignments, interface grouping and numbered receptacle/plug views.

Not established / limitations: Mirror hosting is not an official live DDWG publication channel. No independent authentication, fabrication approval, current product conformance, universal PCB layout or timing guarantee.

Locator: Printed/PDF pp. 43–47; Tables 5-1 and 5-2; Figures 5-1, 5-3 and 5-5.

S412 · MicroCross DVI Connector System — signal interface and cable assemblies

Molex · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary manufacturer brochure hosted by Mouser. Numbered DVI-I front view and named cable-family distinctions.

Not established / limitations: Archived brochure, not evidence of current availability. Plug contacts may be partially loaded for a signal set. Do not transfer full receptacle assignments to unspecified cables or PCB terminals.

Locator: PDF p. 2: DVI-I Receptacle Connector Front View and signal roles; p. 3: single/dual-link and analog cable families; partially loaded plug note.

S413 · SE2416HM Monitor User’s Guide — DVI-D connector assignments

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact SE2416HM manual example. Positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 are labeled Floating despite the full numbered grid.

Not established / limitations: Labels belong to this manual. Do not substitute its Self test or supply labels for the DDWG standard; no voltage application, hardware measurement, or universal DVI implementation is established.

Locator: PDF/printed p. 44: numbered DVI-D view and 24-position assignment table.

S414 · Video Display and Multiple Video Display General Information — DVI questions

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Bounded use: 18 versus 24 grid positions; source/cable/display requirements; named E-Port single-link wiring despite accepting dual-link-shaped cables; active versus passive circuitry.

Not established / limitations: General article includes simplified descriptions and a broad conversion chart; those are not adopted as universal compatibility rules. E-Port wording is not an inventory of every dock revision.

Locator: Article 000052929, version 13; modified 17 April 2026. First FAQ on dual link, E-Port dock note, and active/passive adapter definitions.

S493 · DVI2VGAE active DVI-D to VGA datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named active DVI-D source to VGA display path. Reverse operation is not established. Conflicting resolution labels are not used.

Not established / limitations: Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

Locator: PDF pages 1–2: direction, low-powered-port note, Hardware / AV Input / AV Output / Audio; page 2 visually inspected.

S843 · 18/24/24+5 pin DVI-D, DVI-I, Single/Dual Link Female

Hatteland Technology · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-21 · due 2027-01-19

Within inspection window

Scoped support: The manufacturer distinguishes18/24 digital-interface contacts from24+5 integrated analog/digital arrangements and identifies analog-only additions. Its pictured dual-link connector does not guarantee that a named product implements dual-link.

Not established / limitations: Named manufacturer interface sheet; not current normative conformance or universal device capability. C013A also retains the existing DDWG specification S411. No new electrical contact assignments, dimensions or fabrication map imported. Sheet's pin21 color wording and resolution-specific statement are not generalized or reproduced.

Locator: Page1, title, user-POV note, DVI-I-only C1-C4 note and analog versus digital signal labels.

Trace 8 claims to their source records

C013A · P013

DVI-D single-link uses a digital-only contact layout distinct from dual-link and DVI-I.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S411 · S843 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C013B · P013

Dell distinguishes 18 grid contacts in single-link DVI cables from 24 in dual-link cables. The flat blade is a separate visual feature and is not included in this numbered-grid count.

Claim scope: Grid-count convention; not the total of all visible metal, connected conductors or PCB terminals.

Source links: S414 · S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C013C · P013

Molex distinguishes digital single-link, digital dual-link and analog cable families and states that plug contacts may be partially loaded according to the signal set.

Claim scope: Manufacturer cable-family scope. No complete single-link terminal assignment is supplied here.

Source links: S412 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014A · P014

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S018 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014B · P014

DDWG DVI 1.0 Table 5-1 defines 24 numbered digital-only positions. Pin 8 is not connected in that table; positions 4/5, 12/13 and 20/21 carry the additional TMDS data pairs.

Claim scope: Full digital-only interface assignment from the named specification; not a guarantee that an exact device implements every signal.

Source links: S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014C · P014

Dell SE2416HM documentation shows a numbered 24-position DVI-D grid but labels positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 Floating. Its implementation must not be substituted into a universal dual-link pinout.

Claim scope: Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.

Source links: S413 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014D · P014

Dell documents E-Port docks with DVI connectors accepting dual-link-shaped cables but wired for single-link operation. It also identifies the source, cable, display and any adapter as separate dual-link requirements.

Claim scope: Named legacy dock example and documentation checklist, not a universal resolution limit or all-dock inventory.

Source links: S414 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014E · P014

StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio.

Claim scope: Named direction and video-only conversion. The pictured DVI connector is a dual-link form; pin loading is not a resolution guarantee.

Source links: S493 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.