FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

DVI-D dual-link vs DVI-I dual-link

DVI-D and DVI-I use related shells but have different contact arrangements. The analog-contact area is a key physical distinction.

Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P014 · ConnectorDVI-D dual-link connector
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P015 · ConnectorDVI-I dual-link connector

How they differ

  • DVI-D dual-link connector Inspect both the grid and the flat blade. A dual-link cable is not evidence that a video adapter actively generates a dual-link signal.
  • DVI-I dual-link connector Compare the contacts around the flat blade with a DVI-D connector. Some mechanical combinations do not fit; never remove pins to force a match.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
FieldDVI-D dual-link connectorDVI-I dual-link connector
TypeConnectorConnector
FamilyVideoVideo
Shaped subd sub
Nominal contacts24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.29S411 · S412 · S411 · S411 · S41424 numbered positions plus C1–C5, including the analog return contact.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. 24 numbered positions plus C1–C5, including the analog return contact.
Positions / cavity span24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rows3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.3 (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Connector rolesocket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.socket (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Key distinctionA full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.Extra contacts are a clue, not a promise of analog output from every device.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Connector records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: Video

Application comparison / concept only

DVI: route analog or convert digital

The adapter model matters more than its outline.

DVI: route analog or convert digital. The passive model is not documented as a DVI-D converter.
The passive model is not documented as a DVI-D converter. Concept only; not physical interface geometry.

Not a general compatibility verdict. S493 · S494

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

2 selected records · 17 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
DVI-D dual-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P014 / ConnectorDVI-D dual-link connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

DVI-I dual-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P015 / ConnectorDVI-I dual-link connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

LayerConnectorConnector
Key distinctionA full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.Extra contacts are a clue, not a promise of analog output from every device.
Nominal contacts24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.29S411 · S412 · S411 · S411 · S41424 numbered positions plus C1–C5, including the analog return contact.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. 24 numbered positions plus C1–C5, including the analog return contact.
Positions / cavity span24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Populated contactsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rows3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.3 (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Contact pitch1.9 mm manufacturer-reported centerline or mating-interface pitch (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.1.9 mm published contact centerline (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Dimensions / axis2.34 mm PCB tail length (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.2.34 mm termination tail length (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Connector rolesocket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.socket (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Coupling / latchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Mating lock; manufacturer also specifies keyed and polarized to mate/PCB (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.
Keying / polarizationmanufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
VariantDVI-D dual-linkC014ANot an equivalent field
Not a guaranteeSource dual-link outputC014ANot an equivalent field
Engineering evidenceNamed-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC014B · C014C · C014DNamed-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC015B · C015C · C015D
CategoryNot an equivalent fieldIntegrated DVI variantC015A
Analog availabilityNot an equivalent fieldCheck source implementationC015A
EvidenceC014A,C014B,C014C,C014D,C014E →
Independent review pending
C015A,C015B,C015C,C015D,C015E →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Connector
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Connector

Key distinction

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
A full set of cable contacts does not prove the source drives both links.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Extra contacts are a clue, not a promise of analog output from every device.

Nominal contacts

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
24S411 · S413 · S414Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Numbered grid positions only; flat blade excluded from this count.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
29S411 · S412 · S411 · S411 · S41424 numbered positions plus C1–C5, including the analog return contact.; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. 24 numbered positions plus C1–C5, including the analog return contact.

Positions / cavity span

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
24 (Claim C014C)S413Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Populated contacts

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact rows

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
3 (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
3 (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.

Contact pitch

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
1.9 mm manufacturer-reported centerline or mating-interface pitch (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
1.9 mm published contact centerline (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.

Dimensions / axis

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
2.34 mm PCB tail length (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
2.34 mm termination tail length (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.

Connector role

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
socket (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
socket (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.

Coupling / latch

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Mating lock; manufacturer also specifies keyed and polarized to mate/PCB (74320-1000)S932Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 74320-1000. Documented role: socket. Primary part identity linked to DVI-I in existing Molex-authored MicroCross brochureS412; current official exact-part specification independently read.; Limited-online-catalog notice preserved. Historical brochure pin sequencing and current exact component attributes remain separate. No universal DVI signal/capability inferred.

Keying / polarization

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
manufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (74320-4004)S866 · S873Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 74320-4004: DVI digital right-angle receptacle. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. 1.90mm is the current part-page mating-interface value as displayed; source drawing refers users to DDWG for mating dimensions. No unobserved diagram dimension is interpreted.
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Variant

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
DVI-D dual-linkC014A
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Not a guarantee

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Source dual-link outputC014A
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Engineering evidence

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Named-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC014B · C014C · C014D
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Named-source DVI reference; exact device and cable support remain separateC015B · C015C · C015D

Category

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Integrated DVI variantC015A

Analog availability

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
Check source implementationC015A

Evidence

DVI-D dual-link connectorP014 / Connector
C014A,C014B,C014C,C014D,C014E →
Independent review pending
DVI-I dual-link connectorP015 / Connector
C015A,C015B,C015C,C015D,C015E →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Resolve the DVI question behind this comparison

Contact count, connector loading and implemented signal support are different evidence questions.

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

8 linked sources · 10 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2026-12-30. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 8 source scopes, access limits and dates

S018 · Video connector guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Narrow physical identifiers only, not historical speed or video capability descriptions.

Not established / limitations: The old DisplayPort technology/speed description on this page is not relied on.

Locator: HD15, HDMI, HDMI Mini, HDMI Micro, DVI-D and RCA sections

S411 · Digital Visual Interface, Revision 1.0 (02 April 1999)

Digital Display Working Group (DDWG) · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary DDWG specification authored in 1999, read from an explicitly third-party document mirror. Digital-only and combined assignments, interface grouping and numbered receptacle/plug views.

Not established / limitations: Mirror hosting is not an official live DDWG publication channel. No independent authentication, fabrication approval, current product conformance, universal PCB layout or timing guarantee.

Locator: Printed/PDF pp. 43–47; Tables 5-1 and 5-2; Figures 5-1, 5-3 and 5-5.

S412 · MicroCross DVI Connector System — signal interface and cable assemblies

Molex · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary manufacturer brochure hosted by Mouser. Numbered DVI-I front view and named cable-family distinctions.

Not established / limitations: Archived brochure, not evidence of current availability. Plug contacts may be partially loaded for a signal set. Do not transfer full receptacle assignments to unspecified cables or PCB terminals.

Locator: PDF p. 2: DVI-I Receptacle Connector Front View and signal roles; p. 3: single/dual-link and analog cable families; partially loaded plug note.

S413 · SE2416HM Monitor User’s Guide — DVI-D connector assignments

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact SE2416HM manual example. Positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 are labeled Floating despite the full numbered grid.

Not established / limitations: Labels belong to this manual. Do not substitute its Self test or supply labels for the DDWG standard; no voltage application, hardware measurement, or universal DVI implementation is established.

Locator: PDF/printed p. 44: numbered DVI-D view and 24-position assignment table.

S414 · Video Display and Multiple Video Display General Information — DVI questions

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Bounded use: 18 versus 24 grid positions; source/cable/display requirements; named E-Port single-link wiring despite accepting dual-link-shaped cables; active versus passive circuitry.

Not established / limitations: General article includes simplified descriptions and a broad conversion chart; those are not adopted as universal compatibility rules. E-Port wording is not an inventory of every dock revision.

Locator: Article 000052929, version 13; modified 17 April 2026. First FAQ on dual link, E-Port dock note, and active/passive adapter definitions.

S493 · DVI2VGAE active DVI-D to VGA datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named active DVI-D source to VGA display path. Reverse operation is not established. Conflicting resolution labels are not used.

Not established / limitations: Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

Locator: PDF pages 1–2: direction, low-powered-port note, Hardware / AV Input / AV Output / Audio; page 2 visually inspected.

S494 · DVIVGAMF passive DVI-I to VGA datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named DVI-I output to VGA display adapter, not a DVI-D converter. Its illustrated plug is a dual-link DVI-I example.

Not established / limitations: Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

Locator: PDF pages 1–2: DVI-I use note, DVI-D referral, passive classification and pictured adapter. Visually inspected.

S843 · 18/24/24+5 pin DVI-D, DVI-I, Single/Dual Link Female

Hatteland Technology · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-21 · due 2027-01-19

Within inspection window

Scoped support: The manufacturer distinguishes18/24 digital-interface contacts from24+5 integrated analog/digital arrangements and identifies analog-only additions. Its pictured dual-link connector does not guarantee that a named product implements dual-link.

Not established / limitations: Named manufacturer interface sheet; not current normative conformance or universal device capability. C013A also retains the existing DDWG specification S411. No new electrical contact assignments, dimensions or fabrication map imported. Sheet's pin21 color wording and resolution-specific statement are not generalized or reproduced.

Locator: Page1, title, user-POV note, DVI-I-only C1-C4 note and analog versus digital signal labels.

Trace 10 claims to their source records

C014A · P014

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S018 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014B · P014

DDWG DVI 1.0 Table 5-1 defines 24 numbered digital-only positions. Pin 8 is not connected in that table; positions 4/5, 12/13 and 20/21 carry the additional TMDS data pairs.

Claim scope: Full digital-only interface assignment from the named specification; not a guarantee that an exact device implements every signal.

Source links: S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014C · P014

Dell SE2416HM documentation shows a numbered 24-position DVI-D grid but labels positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 Floating. Its implementation must not be substituted into a universal dual-link pinout.

Claim scope: Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.

Source links: S413 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014D · P014

Dell documents E-Port docks with DVI connectors accepting dual-link-shaped cables but wired for single-link operation. It also identifies the source, cable, display and any adapter as separate dual-link requirements.

Claim scope: Named legacy dock example and documentation checklist, not a universal resolution limit or all-dock inventory.

Source links: S414 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014E · P014

StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio.

Claim scope: Named direction and video-only conversion. The pictured DVI connector is a dual-link form; pin loading is not a resolution guarantee.

Source links: S493 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C015A · P015

DVI-I distinguishes an integrated analog/digital interface from digital-only DVI-D.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S843 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C015B · P015

DDWG Table 5-2 defines the combined interface as 24 numbered positions plus C1–C5. Pin 8 carries analog vertical sync, C1/C2/C3 carry analog color channels, C4 horizontal sync and C5 their analog return.

Claim scope: Combined interface assignment; analog and digital paths do not imply simultaneous multiple-display operation or exact source support.

Source links: S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C015C · P015

Molex labels its numbered illustration as a DVI-I receptacle front view: the 1–8 row is above 9–16 and 17–24, with the analog group on the right. The DDWG plug and receptacle drawings use opposing views.

Claim scope: Read connector type and viewing side before applying numbers. Not a solder-side or PCB drawing.

Source links: S412 · S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C015D · P015

DDWG distinguishes a digital-only interface from a combined analog/digital interface; the digital-only receptacle lacks sockets for the analog pins. Dell distinguishes active conversion circuitry from passive adapters.

Claim scope: A passive mechanical adaptation cannot establish an analog signal from a digital-only source. Exact direction, supported modes and power remain product-specific.

Source links: S411 · S414 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C015E · P015

StarTech DVIVGAMF is a passive DVI-I-to-VGA adapter; its instructions refer DVI-D users to a separate converter.

Claim scope: Named adapter for a DVI-I output and VGA display. The source does not approve arbitrary DVI-I devices, modes or mechanical pairings.

Source links: S494 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.