FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P124 / Fiber / Connector

ST fiber connector

ST is a round-bodied optical connector with bayonet-style retention; its housing does not specify the whole optical link.

Also called Straight Tip ST optical bayonet fiber

Identify the outside; never look into a fiber.

Look for

Use equipment labels and an exterior manufacturer illustration. Do not inspect the end face with your eye or an ordinary magnifier.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03, 2026-10-07, 2026-10-11, 2026-10-22 · Independent review pending

Image inspection / P124

See the view. Check its scope.

1 registered view for this reference. Different part examples are not automatically mates; all remain not to scale and independently unapproved.

UniCam ST-compatible / family exterior. Oblique exterior with mating tip toward lower left; normalized to a left-facing oblique study. Ferrule to the left, boot to the right. No mating-face optical detail. No dimensional, wiring or compatibility approval. (private workspace)

P124 / Source-observed physical study

UniCam ST-compatible / family exterior

Corning UniCam ST-compatible / CRR1245 family photo

Oblique exterior with mating tip toward lower left; normalized to a left-facing oblique study. · Cable plug / cable end

Not to scale. Technical and rights review pending.

Inspect view & provenance (private workspace)

Network notes / Fiber / P124

What does a bayonet-style ST connection identify?

FIELD NOTES 05

The cited TE kit and receptacle evidence identify an ST-style bayonet connection role. They do not establish which fiber, polish or optical service an unknown lead carries, or that a passive mechanical join produces a suitable optical link.

Identify first

Read the part and the device.

Use the documented ST part and its mating role. A bayonet coupling is a recognition clue, not a fiber-performance label.

Still unresolved

Keep this requirement open.

The unknown assembly’s endface, fiber type, optical budget and equipment support remain open.

Not established · named example only

Does an ST bayonet kit prove a complete optical path is suitable?

The TE evidence establishes the named mechanical kit/receptacle role only.

Boundary. It does not qualify the unknown fiber, termination or optical budget.

Next check. Obtain exact cable, adapter and optical equipment specifications.

S421 · C124C (private workspace)

Before choosing the cable or component

  1. Identify the cable and adapter part numbers from documentation.
  2. Confirm the specified optical termination and matching equipment.
  3. Follow optical-safety procedures without looking into the fiber or port.
Read the evidence and its scope · 3 observations

C124A (private workspace) — The ST guide identifies a round body with bayonet-style retention.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S099

C124B (private workspace) — Cisco warns against looking into energized fiber and using unfiltered magnifiers for optical inspection.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S104

C124C (private workspace) — TE’s 5504008-series ST kit example has an alignment key, metal coupling nut and stainless-steel ferrule. Its 501381-1 receptacle is described for joining two bayonet connectors.

TE 408-4151 Rev B, page 1 only; named component example, not every ST ferrule or a fabrication drawing.

S421

Source interpretation is not independent engineering review, hardware testing, wiring advice or a public-release approval.

V117 / READER FIELD GUIDE / FIBER IDENTITIES

Before you connect or replace

ST bayonet is not LC push-latch

The ST family uses bayonet-style retention in documented examples, rather than LC/SC-style push-pull designs. Distinguish connector family and active-light precautions before handling.

Three checks and exact source trail ↗

Editorial decision guidance only. A connector identity or nominal pitch does not establish approved mating, safe wiring or a supported device combination.

Inspect the illustrationExterior side view · larger view & look-alikes
ST fiber connector — exterior side view; plug-style exterior; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Exterior side viewDepiction Plug-style exteriorNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

ST exterior and documented bayonet coupling

Cable side is at the left; optical end details are deliberately omitted. Never look into an optical port.

What it cannot establish: Keep connector identification separate from polish, fiber and equipment requirements.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S099 · S104 · S421. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

ST is a round-bodied optical connector with bayonet-style retention; its housing does not specify the whole optical link. [C124A]

Cisco warns against looking into energized fiber and using unfiltered magnifiers for optical inspection. [C124B]

TE’s 5504008-series ST kit example has an alignment key, metal coupling nut and stainless-steel ferrule. Its 501381-1 receptacle is described for joining two bayonet connectors. [C124C]

The UniCam single-mode table identifies the ST-compatible variant as UPC with an amber housing and blue boot; its ordering table lists 95-200-51 for single-mode OS2. [C124D]

Corning’s May 2020 OEM guide lists 720-2040-0500B as an ST single-mode connector with metal housing, blue boot and a clear dust cap. [C124E]

AFL lists a nominal 2.5 mm ferrule for its ST connector overview. AFL describes quick-release bayonet(stick and twist) body. [C124F]

Corning OEM-064-AEN lists 730-1021-006-B as: ST single-mode subassembly; metal housing, no boot, yellow dust cap. [C124G]

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Connector roleoptical connector subassembly (ExactCorning 730-1021-006-B)S951Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. ExactCorning 730-1021-006-B
Coupling / latchbayonet (Claim C124A); quick-release bayonet (Named series/reference only, not every family part. AFL ST marketedconnector overview;not universalfamily mechanicaltolerance)S099 · S954Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval Named series/reference only, not every family part. AFL ST marketedconnector overview;not universalfamily mechanicaltolerance
ManufacturerCorning (ExactCorning 730-1021-006-B)S951Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. ExactCorning 730-1021-006-B
Exact part / implementation730-1021-006-B (ExactCorning 730-1021-006-B)S951Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. ExactCorning 730-1021-006-B
View conventionActualAFL linked ST exterioroblique illustration inspected;not scaled andnoexactSKUassigned (Named series/reference only, not every family part. AFL ST marketedconnector overview;not universalfamily mechanicaltolerance)S954Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. Named series/reference only, not every family part. AFL ST marketedconnector overview;not universalfamily mechanicaltolerance

Not recorded: Dimensions / axis, Mounting, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Series, Recorded markings. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Fiber type, polish, optical loss budget and exact counterpart are separate checks.
  • No dimensioned mating interface or electrical contact map is published. Never look into a fiber to identify it.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

ST fiber connector facts and limitations
Documented identificationThe ST guide identifies a round body with bayonet-style retention. [C124A]
Important distinctionCisco warns against looking into energized fiber and using unfiltered magnifiers for optical inspection. [C124B]
Named ST constructionTE’s 5504008-series ST kit example has an alignment key, metal coupling nut and stainless-steel ferrule. Its 501381-1 receptacle is described for joining two bayonet connectors. [C124C]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Read the cable and equipment connector designation.
  2. Leave fiber type and optical requirements to the equipment documentation.
  3. Do not look into a fiber or expose an unknown optical connection for inspection.
Trace a supported connection class →

Can I connect…

Common connections for this connector

All connection questions →

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C124ASource checked · pending review

The ST guide identifies a round body with bayonet-style retention.

C2G / Legrand · Fiber connector guide — ST outline ↗

Locator: ST; SC
Access: public page. No fiber compatibility, optical-budget calculation or end-face inspection instruction is derived from housing shape.

S099: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C124BSource checked · pending review

Cisco warns against looking into energized fiber and using unfiltered magnifiers for optical inspection.

Cisco · Fiber-optic inspection safety boundaries ↗

Locator: Warnings
Access: public page. V12 does not reproduce or authorize cleaning, live inspection, loss testing or optical engineering procedures.

S104: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C124CSource checked · pending review

TE’s 5504008-series ST kit example has an alignment key, metal coupling nut and stainless-steel ferrule. Its 501381-1 receptacle is described for joining two bayonet connectors.

TE Connectivity / Tyco Electronics · TE ST stainless-steel ferrule kits and coupling receptacle — 408-4151 Rev B ↗

Locator: Page 1: Figure 1 alignment key and ferrule labels; kit 5504008 series and coupling receptacle 501381-1.
Access: public pdf text. Only page 1 was visually inspected. No assembly instructions, tolerances, fiber preparation dimensions or universal ferrule-material claim are reproduced. Parts of the PDF text layer are garbled; Figure 1 labels were visually checked.

S421: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: TE 408-4151 Rev B, page 1 only; named component example, not every ST ferrule or a fabrication drawing.. Next review due 2027-01-05.

Back to first citation ↑
C124DSource checked · pending review

The UniCam single-mode table identifies the ST-compatible variant as UPC with an amber housing and blue boot; its ordering table lists 95-200-51 for single-mode OS2.

Corning · UniCam high-performance connectors — family sheet 0250 EMEA ↗

Locator: Revision 2018-01-22; printed pp.1, 3–4: photograph CRR1245, single-mode table, LC/SC/ST ordering rows.
Access: public pdf text. Dated family and selected order-code observations, not a current-availability claim. Physical study is the photographed multimode ST-compatible family example, not an exact order-code assignment.

S529: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Named Corning family and dated order code. The amber housing is not evidence of multimode fiber or a generic color-to-polish rule.. Next review due 2027-01-09.

Back to first citation ↑
C124ESource checked · pending review

Corning’s May 2020 OEM guide lists 720-2040-0500B as an ST single-mode connector with metal housing, blue boot and a clear dust cap.

Corning · Fiber Optic OEM Products — component ordering guide OEM-064-AEN ↗

Locator: May 2020; printed p.5 ST/FC rows, p.6 LC table, p.9 MT-RJ row.
Access: public pdf text. Only selected part identifiers, declared form, mode and pin/key descriptions. Dimensional fields and loss ratings are not imported. The SC boot-size typo and unlabeled ferrule-size interpretation are quarantined.

S530: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Exact listed kit identity. The printed disassembled parts view is not converted into an assembled pinout, dimensional model or current availability claim.. Next review due 2027-01-09.

Back to first citation ↑
C124FSource checked · pending review

AFL lists a nominal 2.5 mm ferrule for its ST connector overview. AFL describes quick-release bayonet(stick and twist) body.

AFL Hyperscale · Adapters and Connectors:Connectors ↗

Locator: Full manufacturer page: LC,SC,ST,FCsections and each directlylinked connector image; all4actual JPEGs downloaded/viewed.
Access: public page. Ferrule dimensions refer to AFL overview context, not universal housing/mating tolerances. Image-only latch/body observations remain labelled manufacturer illustrations; no measurements,partmarkings or performance from pixels.

S954: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: AFL ST marketedconnector overview;not universalfamily mechanicaltolerance;ferrulesize is not outerhousingdimension,contactpitch or sourceimage measurement.. Next review due 2027-01-20.

Back to first citation ↑
C124GSource checked · pending review

Corning OEM-064-AEN lists 730-1021-006-B as: ST single-mode subassembly; metal housing, no boot, yellow dust cap.

Corning · AFOP FastShip Connector and Adapter Ordering Guide OEM-064-AEN ↗

Locator: Full18-page PDF text: p.5ST/FC/SC,p.6LCno-logo variants,p.9MT-RJ,p.11ST/FCsubassemblies,p.18revision.
Access: public pdf text. Direct download403 and drawing/photo pixels unavailable. Table126/127micrometre ferrule-size values are not imported as outer ferrule diameters; unspecified SCboot3micrometre transcription is excluded. Table colors are exact-part descriptors, not general family marks.

S951: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Exact named Corningpart/subassembly inMay2020catalog;no universalfinish,matingdimension or assemblyapproval.. Next review due 2027-01-20.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Common questions

Questions this record can help resolve

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: ST, SC and LC fiber forms

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

SOURCE-QUALIFIED FIBER REFERENCE

Identify the end. Keep the path unresolved.

UniCam CRR1245 photo; 95-200-51 and 720-2040-0500B are separate text examples

Source / component role
Cable-plug family photograph; separate dated ordering records
Documented distinction
The named single-mode UniCam table uses an amber housing and blue boot.
What this establishes
This is a counterexample to deciding fiber mode from an amber housing. The new picture is a multimode family example, not either exact listed code.
Not established
Exact kit variant, polish on the user’s end, adapter and full path.
Next check
Keep photograph identity and order-code evidence separate.
Inspect the declared view → (private workspace)
Evidence, observation & limits

Inspected . C124D · C124E

UniCam high-performance connectors — family sheet 0250 EMEA ↗
V130 observation: Revision 2018-01-22; printed pp.1, 3–4: photograph CRR1245, single-mode table, LC/SC/ST ordering rows.
Canonical source record S529 dated 2026-10-11. The V130 visit is recorded separately; inherited source dates are unchanged.

Fiber Optic OEM Products — component ordering guide OEM-064-AEN ↗
V130 observation: May 2020; printed p.5 ST/FC rows, p.6 LC table, p.9 MT-RJ row.
Canonical source record S530 dated 2026-10-11. The V130 visit is recorded separately; inherited source dates are unchanged.

No hardware test, independent technical approval or rights clearance is asserted.

Read the illustrated fiber chart and field guide →

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

7 linked sources · 7 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 7 source scopes, access limits and dates

S099 · Fiber connector guide — ST outline

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: ST uses a round body and bayonet retention; SC uses a different housing and retention style.

Not established / limitations: No fiber compatibility, optical-budget calculation or end-face inspection instruction is derived from housing shape.

Locator: ST; SC

S104 · Fiber-optic inspection safety boundaries

Cisco · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Do not look into energized fiber or use unfiltered magnifiers to inspect optical connectors.

Not established / limitations: V12 does not reproduce or authorize cleaning, live inspection, loss testing or optical engineering procedures.

Locator: Warnings

S421 · TE ST stainless-steel ferrule kits and coupling receptacle — 408-4151 Rev B

TE Connectivity / Tyco Electronics · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named ST stainless-steel kit and bayonet-coupling example; revision B dated 2008-12-03.

Not established / limitations: Only page 1 was visually inspected. No assembly instructions, tolerances, fiber preparation dimensions or universal ferrule-material claim are reproduced. Parts of the PDF text layer are garbled; Figure 1 labels were visually checked.

Locator: Page 1: Figure 1 alignment key and ferrule labels; kit 5504008 series and coupling receptacle 501381-1.

S529 · UniCam high-performance connectors — family sheet 0250 EMEA

Corning · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Dated family and selected order-code observations, not a current-availability claim. Physical study is the photographed multimode ST-compatible family example, not an exact order-code assignment.

Not established / limitations: Dated family and selected order-code observations, not a current-availability claim. Physical study is the photographed multimode ST-compatible family example, not an exact order-code assignment.

Locator: Revision 2018-01-22; printed pp.1, 3–4: photograph CRR1245, single-mode table, LC/SC/ST ordering rows.

S530 · Fiber Optic OEM Products — component ordering guide OEM-064-AEN

Corning · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Only selected part identifiers, declared form, mode and pin/key descriptions. Dimensional fields and loss ratings are not imported. The SC boot-size typo and unlabeled ferrule-size interpretation are quarantined.

Not established / limitations: Only selected part identifiers, declared form, mode and pin/key descriptions. Dimensional fields and loss ratings are not imported. The SC boot-size typo and unlabeled ferrule-size interpretation are quarantined.

Locator: May 2020; printed p.5 ST/FC rows, p.6 LC table, p.9 MT-RJ row.

S951 · AFOP FastShip Connector and Adapter Ordering Guide OEM-064-AEN

Corning · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact named connector/subassembly construction and named no-logo option; keep each role separate.

Not established / limitations: Direct download403 and drawing/photo pixels unavailable. Table126/127micrometre ferrule-size values are not imported as outer ferrule diameters; unspecified SCboot3micrometre transcription is excluded. Table colors are exact-part descriptors, not general family marks.

Locator: Full18-page PDF text: p.5ST/FC/SC,p.6LCno-logo variants,p.9MT-RJ,p.11ST/FCsubassemblies,p.18revision.

S954 · Adapters and Connectors:Connectors

AFL Hyperscale · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: AFL marketed connector-series examples: stated ferrule nominal sizes and coupling mechanisms; no exact orderableSKU.

Not established / limitations: Ferrule dimensions refer to AFL overview context, not universal housing/mating tolerances. Image-only latch/body observations remain labelled manufacturer illustrations; no measurements,partmarkings or performance from pixels.

Locator: Full manufacturer page: LC,SC,ST,FCsections and each directlylinked connector image; all4actual JPEGs downloaded/viewed.

Trace 7 claims to their source records

C124A · P124

The ST guide identifies a round body with bayonet-style retention.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S099 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C124B · P124

Cisco warns against looking into energized fiber and using unfiltered magnifiers for optical inspection.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S104 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C124C · P124

TE’s 5504008-series ST kit example has an alignment key, metal coupling nut and stainless-steel ferrule. Its 501381-1 receptacle is described for joining two bayonet connectors.

Claim scope: TE 408-4151 Rev B, page 1 only; named component example, not every ST ferrule or a fabrication drawing.

Source links: S421 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C124D · P124

The UniCam single-mode table identifies the ST-compatible variant as UPC with an amber housing and blue boot; its ordering table lists 95-200-51 for single-mode OS2.

Claim scope: Named Corning family and dated order code. The amber housing is not evidence of multimode fiber or a generic color-to-polish rule.

Source links: S529 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C124E · P124

Corning’s May 2020 OEM guide lists 720-2040-0500B as an ST single-mode connector with metal housing, blue boot and a clear dust cap.

Claim scope: Exact listed kit identity. The printed disassembled parts view is not converted into an assembled pinout, dimensional model or current availability claim.

Source links: S530 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C124F · P124

AFL lists a nominal 2.5 mm ferrule for its ST connector overview. AFL describes quick-release bayonet(stick and twist) body.

Claim scope: AFL ST marketedconnector overview;not universalfamily mechanicaltolerance;ferrulesize is not outerhousingdimension,contactpitch or sourceimage measurement.

Source links: S954 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C124G · P124

Corning OEM-064-AEN lists 730-1021-006-B as: ST single-mode subassembly; metal housing, no boot, yellow dust cap.

Claim scope: Exact named Corningpart/subassembly inMay2020catalog;no universalfinish,matingdimension or assemblyapproval.

Source links: S951 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.