FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P196 / Storage / Connector

SAS SFF-8482 drive connector

A common SAS drive-side connector combines signal and power sections in a 29-circuit interface.

Also called SFF-8482 SAS drive connector 29 pin SAS

SAS drive connector shape should not be treated as proof that a SATA-only host or cable supports SAS.

Look for

Confirm the controller/backplane interface and the drive type; do not infer protocol support from a similar drive-edge outline.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-05, 2026-10-13, 2026-10-22 · Independent review pending

Image inspection / P196

See the view. Check its scope.

1 registered view for this reference. Different part examples are not automatically mates; all remain not to scale and independently unapproved.

The second signal set is on the opposite face. Specification-level device plug; an original source-observed qualitative study, not a pinout or safe-mating guide. (private workspace)

P196 / Source-observed physical study

SAS / SFF-8482

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 device free plug

Two contact-bearing faces of the specification device plug · Other declared component

Not to scale. Technical and rights review pending.

Inspect view & provenance (private workspace)

Application notes / Storage / P196

Does a familiar drive edge establish SATA support?

FIELD NOTES 04

No compatibility conclusion follows from the outline alone. Molex’s 78717-0002 is a named SAS/SATA receptacle example; it does not certify an unknown drive and USB adapter together.

Identify first

Read the part and the device.

Record the drive’s SAS/SATA label and the controller or backplane model, not just the edge shape.

Still unresolved

Keep this requirement open.

The selected adapter’s SAS support and the exact controller-to-drive path are not established.

Not established · named example only

Does a SATA-only adapter listing establish SAS drive support?

Unknown from these sources: the named SATA adapter does not establish a SAS-capable path.

Boundary. Missing support is not relabelled as a tested failure.

Next check. Obtain explicit controller/adapter support for the exact SAS disk.

S201 · S492 · C196A (private workspace) · C029D (private workspace)

Before choosing an adapter or reader

  1. Identify the exact drive interface.
  2. Check controller, backplane and cable support together.
  3. Do not treat a mechanical adapter as evidence of protocol conversion.
Read the evidence and its scope · 2 observations

C196A (private workspace) — Molex documents a 29-circuit SAS/SATA receptacle example with fourteen signal circuits, fifteen power circuits and SFF-8482/SFF-8680 mating references.

V36 catalogue-expansion identification fact only; not independent technical approval, fabrication data, wiring instruction or end-to-end compatibility proof.

S201

C029D (private workspace) — StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB supports 2.5-inch SATA SSD/HDD use and explicitly excludes 3.5-inch hard drives.

Named USB-to-SATA adapter. Do not generalize this product limitation to every powered SATA dock or infer SAS support.

S492

Source interpretation is not independent engineering review, hardware testing, wiring advice or a public-release approval.

INTERNAL SYSTEMS / DRIVES

SAS SFF-8482 drive-side fit is not a SATA host upgrade

No. The preserved Molex product reference describes a SAS/SATA drive-side connector example but not a universal controller conversion. A SATA-only motherboard connection does not become a SAS initiator by a cable or bay shape. Host protocol, backplane interposers and exact drive support are distinct.

Three checks before proceeding

  1. Identify the full drive model and SAS/SATA protocol.
  2. Inspect the backplane, controller/HBA and qualified drive list.
  3. Check supported cable assemblies and routing; do not force an incompatible connection.

One mistake to avoid

Concluding that a SATA host runs a SAS drive because parts of the physical receptacle look familiar.

Full technical reading, sources and related identities →

Claim-specific evidence remains in the canonical record. Concept diagrams do not show any safe wiring or mechanical mating geometry.

Inspect the illustrationGeneric family symbol · larger view & look-alikes
SAS SFF-8482 drive connector — generic family symbol; role not specified; label-led symbol, not interface geometry; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Generic family symbolDepiction Role not specifiedSymbol only — not interface geometryNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

Read SAS SFF-8482 in the written reference

No physical mating-face or rear view is depicted; check the exact controller, drive and backplane documentation.

Label-led symbol — not interface geometry. Read the exact designation and written reference; do not identify a physical connector by this generic shape.

About the marks: The dots do not represent the actual number or placement of contacts.

What it cannot establish: The dot array is not the documented twenty-nine-circuit interface. Similarity to a SATA label symbol is not SAS support.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S201. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

A common SAS drive-side connector combines signal and power sections in a 29-circuit interface. [C196A]

Molex part 787170002 is a documented SAS/SATA receptacle example in the existing primary-source record; its connector description alone cannot establish whether a given host controller supports SAS. [C196B]

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 distinguishes the device free plug from fixed backplane and fixed cable receptacles; their roles and retention context are not interchangeable labels. [C196C]

SFF-8482 describes two seven-contact signal sets and a fifteen-contact power set; the second signal set is on the opposite side of the device plug. [C196D]

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 section 5.3 describes backplane insertion sequencing but states that cable hot plugging is not supported by that interface; a familiar plug outline is not a live-cable permission. [C196E]

Exact source example 787170002: contacts: 29 loaded:14signal plus15power. construction: Right-angle female SMT connector; PCB locator and retention. recommended pcb mm: 2.36. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing. No physical compatibility, pin map or hardware validation is established. [C196F]

PC internals · a documented check

Does a SAS/SATA connector or adapter prove that my controller supports the drive?

No. A connector description establishes a physical interface, not the controller’s supported protocol. Keep the drive plug, cable receptacle and backplane receptacle distinct, then obtain the exact controller and drive documentation. C196B · C196C

What the documentation establishes—and what still needs checking
CheckDocumented distinctionBoundary
Drive-side plugSFF-8482 describes two seven-contact signal sets and a fifteen-contact power set. C196DThe second signal set is on the other side of the plug; one visible face is not the whole inventory.
Cable or backplaneThe specification distinguishes a device free plug from fixed cable and backplane receptacles. C196CDo not label every view as the same component or assume the same retention context.
Host supportThe Molex 787170002 description is not controller-support evidence. C196BA passive change in connector shape does not supply the missing controller documentation.
Live connectionSFF-8482 revision 2.5 separates backplane sequencing from cable hot plugging. C196EThat interface does not support cable hot plugging.

Check these next

  1. Identify the drive model, controller/HBA model, backplane model where present and complete cable assembly.
  2. Find the controller’s explicit drive-interface support and the assembly’s direction and endpoint roles.
  3. Treat absent controller or hot-service documentation as unresolved—not as permission to connect.

Keep this limit: A backplane hot-plug description is not permission to hot-plug a cable. No SAS-to-SATA support verdict is made here. C196E

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts29S201Cited product example has 29 loaded circuits; V36 does not publish signal assignments.
Positions / cavity span29 (Claim C196A)S201Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. V36 catalogue-expansion identification fact only; not independent technical approval, fabrication data, wiring instruction or end-to-end compatibility proof.
Contact rows2 (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.
Contact pitch0.8 mm one listed mating-interface pitch; combined signal/power part (787170002); 1.27 mm other listed mating-interface pitch; combined signal/power part (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.
Connector rolesocket (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.
Keying / polarizationKeyed and polarized to mating part and PCB; no mating lock (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.
ManufacturerMolex (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.
Series78717 (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.
Exact part / implementation787170002 (787170002)S201Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 787170002. Documented role: socket. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing.

Not recorded: Populated contacts, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

SAS SFF-8482 drive connector facts and limitations
Documented identification29 circuits in the cited SAS/SATA receptacle example: 14 signal + 15 power. [C196A]
Source-scoped role and recognitionThe backplane and cable receptacles are different roles. The second signal set is on the opposite face. [C196C] [C196D] [C196E]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently reviewed mechanical drawing in V36; do not use this page for fabrication, fit testing or tolerance work.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Use the source-backed form or position count only for identification. Resolve ratings, protocol, direction, wiring, cable construction and exact device support from the relevant equipment and component documentation.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Identify the exact connector family and variant from the equipment or cable documentation.
  2. Keep shape, contact count, protocol, electrical rating and device support as separate facts.
  3. Do not force, rewire or adapt a connector from this recognition record; resolve the remaining requirements first.
Trace a supported connection class →

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, adapter, cable assembly, rewiring scheme or fabricated part. It intentionally omits unsupported pin assignments and mechanical tolerances.

Storage recognition: next evidence check

Identify the drive, controller and fixed connector role. Use the equipment instructions for insertion, removal and power state. No installed-system support, reciprocal SATA/SAS compatibility, current cable assembly or hot-plug permission is established. Sources: C196C, C196D, C196E. Original qualitative study; independent technical and rights review pending.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C196ASource checked · pending review

Molex documents a 29-circuit SAS/SATA receptacle example with fourteen signal circuits, fifteen power circuits and SFF-8482/SFF-8680 mating references.

Molex · 78717-0002 SAS/SATA receptacle product page ↗

Locator: Product detail and mating-interface fields
Access: public page. Identification/reference scope only. V36 does not convert this source into a universal pinout, fabrication drawing, electrical approval or end-to-end compatibility verdict.

S201: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: V36 catalogue-expansion identification fact only; not independent technical approval, fabrication data, wiring instruction or end-to-end compatibility proof.. Next review due 2027-01-03.

Back to first citation ↑
C196BSource checked · pending review

Molex part 787170002 is a documented SAS/SATA receptacle example in the existing primary-source record; its connector description alone cannot establish whether a given host controller supports SAS.

Molex · 78717-0002 SAS/SATA receptacle product page ↗

Locator: Product detail and mating-interface fields
Access: public page. Identification/reference scope only. V36 does not convert this source into a universal pinout, fabrication drawing, electrical approval or end-to-end compatibility verdict.

S201: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: V140 / Source-scoped historical or exact-part identity only. No wiring, pinout, universal fit, cable/terminal assembly, device rating, fabrication or publication approval.. Next review due 2027-01-11.

Back to first citation ↑
C196CSource checked · pending review

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 distinguishes the device free plug from fixed backplane and fixed cable receptacles; their roles and retention context are not interchangeable labels.

SNIA · SNIA SFF-8482 Unshielded Dual Port Serial Attachment Connector, revision 2.5 ↗

Locator: Rev 2.5, 2018-08-31. Document pp.7–8 terminology/contact sets, p.10 Figure 4-1 device free plug, p.17 section 5.3. PDF zero-based pages 8 and 10 visually inspected.
Access: public pdf text. Specification-level study, not a manufacturer specimen or current hardware. No copied specification figures, dimensioned outlines or terminal assignments.

S598: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: V143: the named drawing/revision or exact product page only. Recognition and document-role evidence; not a pinout, adapter verdict, dimensioned mating gauge, electrical approval or current installed-device claim.. Next review due 2027-01-11.

Back to first citation ↑
C196DSource checked · pending review

SFF-8482 describes two seven-contact signal sets and a fifteen-contact power set; the second signal set is on the opposite side of the device plug.

SNIA · SNIA SFF-8482 Unshielded Dual Port Serial Attachment Connector, revision 2.5 ↗

Locator: Rev 2.5, 2018-08-31. Document pp.7–8 terminology/contact sets, p.10 Figure 4-1 device free plug, p.17 section 5.3. PDF zero-based pages 8 and 10 visually inspected.
Access: public pdf text. Specification-level study, not a manufacturer specimen or current hardware. No copied specification figures, dimensioned outlines or terminal assignments.

S598: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: V143: the named drawing/revision or exact product page only. Recognition and document-role evidence; not a pinout, adapter verdict, dimensioned mating gauge, electrical approval or current installed-device claim.. Next review due 2027-01-11.

Back to first citation ↑
C196ESource checked · pending review

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 section 5.3 describes backplane insertion sequencing but states that cable hot plugging is not supported by that interface; a familiar plug outline is not a live-cable permission.

SNIA · SNIA SFF-8482 Unshielded Dual Port Serial Attachment Connector, revision 2.5 ↗

Locator: Rev 2.5, 2018-08-31. Document pp.7–8 terminology/contact sets, p.10 Figure 4-1 device free plug, p.17 section 5.3. PDF zero-based pages 8 and 10 visually inspected.
Access: public pdf text. Specification-level study, not a manufacturer specimen or current hardware. No copied specification figures, dimensioned outlines or terminal assignments.

S598: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: V143: the named drawing/revision or exact product page only. Recognition and document-role evidence; not a pinout, adapter verdict, dimensioned mating gauge, electrical approval or current installed-device claim.. Next review due 2027-01-11.

Back to first citation ↑
C196FSource checked · pending review

Exact source example 787170002: contacts: 29 loaded:14signal plus15power. construction: Right-angle female SMT connector; PCB locator and retention. recommended pcb mm: 2.36. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing. No physical compatibility, pin map or hardware validation is established.

Molex · 78717-0002 SAS/SATA receptacle product page ↗

Locator: Product detail and mating-interface fields
Access: public page. Identification/reference scope only. V36 does not convert this source into a universal pinout, fabrication drawing, electrical approval or end-to-end compatibility verdict.

S201: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Exact named component/family technical construction reference from the full current primary document; geometry, ratings and implementation limits do not transfer to other variants.. Next review due 2027-01-20.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 6 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: catalogue_expansion_v36

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-03. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S201 · 78717-0002 SAS/SATA receptacle product page

Molex · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-05 · due 2027-01-03

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Documents a 29-circuit SAS/SATA receptacle example with fourteen signal and fifteen power circuits and SFF-8482/SFF-8680 mating references.

Not established / limitations: Identification/reference scope only. V36 does not convert this source into a universal pinout, fabrication drawing, electrical approval or end-to-end compatibility verdict.

Locator: Product detail and mating-interface fields

S598 · SNIA SFF-8482 Unshielded Dual Port Serial Attachment Connector, revision 2.5

SNIA · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-13 · due 2027-01-11

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Specification-interface device plug and separate backplane/cable roles; three contact sets and bounded hot-plug limitation.

Not established / limitations: Specification-level study, not a manufacturer specimen or current hardware. No copied specification figures, dimensioned outlines or terminal assignments.

Locator: Rev 2.5, 2018-08-31. Document pp.7–8 terminology/contact sets, p.10 Figure 4-1 device free plug, p.17 section 5.3. PDF zero-based pages 8 and 10 visually inspected.

Trace 6 claims to their source records

C196A · P196

Molex documents a 29-circuit SAS/SATA receptacle example with fourteen signal circuits, fifteen power circuits and SFF-8482/SFF-8680 mating references.

Claim scope: V36 catalogue-expansion identification fact only; not independent technical approval, fabrication data, wiring instruction or end-to-end compatibility proof.

Source links: S201 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C196B · P196

Molex part 787170002 is a documented SAS/SATA receptacle example in the existing primary-source record; its connector description alone cannot establish whether a given host controller supports SAS.

Claim scope: V140 / Source-scoped historical or exact-part identity only. No wiring, pinout, universal fit, cable/terminal assembly, device rating, fabrication or publication approval.

Source links: S201 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C196C · P196

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 distinguishes the device free plug from fixed backplane and fixed cable receptacles; their roles and retention context are not interchangeable labels.

Claim scope: V143: the named drawing/revision or exact product page only. Recognition and document-role evidence; not a pinout, adapter verdict, dimensioned mating gauge, electrical approval or current installed-device claim.

Source links: S598 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C196D · P196

SFF-8482 describes two seven-contact signal sets and a fifteen-contact power set; the second signal set is on the opposite side of the device plug.

Claim scope: V143: the named drawing/revision or exact product page only. Recognition and document-role evidence; not a pinout, adapter verdict, dimensioned mating gauge, electrical approval or current installed-device claim.

Source links: S598 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C196E · P196

SFF-8482 revision 2.5 section 5.3 describes backplane insertion sequencing but states that cable hot plugging is not supported by that interface; a familiar plug outline is not a live-cable permission.

Claim scope: V143: the named drawing/revision or exact product page only. Recognition and document-role evidence; not a pinout, adapter verdict, dimensioned mating gauge, electrical approval or current installed-device claim.

Source links: S598 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C196F · P196

Exact source example 787170002: contacts: 29 loaded:14signal plus15power. construction: Right-angle female SMT connector; PCB locator and retention. recommended pcb mm: 2.36. Molex marks part as not formally published and limited information. Both pitches are listed without per-contact axis mapping; do not assign one to signal or power without drawing. No physical compatibility, pin map or hardware validation is established.

Claim scope: Exact named component/family technical construction reference from the full current primary document; geometry, ratings and implementation limits do not transfer to other variants.

Source links: S201 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.