FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P111 / Telephone / Connector

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)

A six-position modular housing with four populated contacts is commonly sold under the RJ11 trade label.

Also called RJ11 RJ-11 phone line plug telephone cord 6 position 4 contact

Count positions and contacts separately.

Look for

Record the six-position housing and the actual populated contacts; RJ11 wording by itself is not a complete wiring description.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03 · Independent review pending

Image inspection / P111

See the view. Check its scope.

1 registered view for this reference. Different part examples are not automatically mates; all remain not to scale and independently unapproved.

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11): Narrower six-position body, four populated contacts. Cable-end exterior front/underside concept; latch indicated, not a wiring view. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide. (private workspace)

P111 / Inherited recognition study

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)

Cable-end exterior front/underside concept; latch indicated, not a wiring view · Cable plug / cable end

Not to scale. Technical and rights review pending.

Inspect view & provenance (private workspace)
V117 / READER FIELD GUIDE / COPPER NETWORKS

Before you connect or replace

6P4C versus 8P8C

A common 6P4C modular plug is physically and electrically distinct from 8P8C. RJ trade labels also hide wiring variations, so match the physical contact count and the service specification.

Three checks and exact source trail ↗

Editorial decision guidance only. A connector identity or nominal pitch does not establish approved mating, safe wiring or a supported device combination.

Visual atlas / P111 / 2026

Recognize the right physical clue.

FIGURE · REVIEW PENDING
6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11): Narrower six-position body, four populated contacts. Cable-end exterior front/underside concept; latch indicated, not a wiring view. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide.
Cable-end plug. Cable-end exterior front/underside concept; latch indicated, not a wiring view.

What to look for

Narrower six-position body, four populated contacts

What the drawing does not prove

The short interior strokes are position-count glyphs, not contact placement or wiring.

RJ-style trade names do not establish wiring or Ethernet service; examine the port label and documented pinout.

No fabrication dimensions, conductor routing, guaranteed fit or device approval. For electrical, power and optical interfaces, follow the original equipment instructions.

Figure evidence, orientation & usage rights

Uses previously recorded V112 manufacturer claim/source inspections; October 2026 supplementary public-source spot checks are documented separately, not treated as a refreshed approval.

Original Port & Cable interpretive vector, no third-party photo, copied CAD, logo or vendor drawing. Third-party product photos, logos and source drawings are not redistributed. No independent technical or rights certification is claimed.

Original claim identifiers: C111A (private workspace) · C111B (private workspace). Legacy evidence dates and rights assessments remain as recorded.

The useful distinction

Does “RJ11” specify the contacts and telephone wiring?

Treat the trade label, position count and service wiring as separate fields. The guide uses RJ11 for a common six-position/four-conductor form while explaining the term’s wiring-scheme origin. C111A · C111B

Component or signal: documented distinction and remaining check
CheckDocumented distinctionWhat this does not establish
Common RJ11 trade formThe cited guide describes six positions with four conductors. C111ACount positions and populated contacts separately; a seller’s label is not a complete service specification.
Common RJ12 trade formThe same guide describes six positions with six conductors in one row. C112A · C112BIt also lists uses beyond one uniform telephone application.
Service wiringThe physical trade description is separate from the registered-jack wiring arrangement. C111BDo not assign line pairs, polarity or device service from the contact count.

Keep this limit: No telephone pinout, line voltage, smaller-plug substitution or universal RJ11/RJ12 wiring is established. C111B · C112B

Before choosing the cable or component

  1. Record the visible positions and contacts without connecting an unknown lead.
  2. Check the equipment model, port service and manufacturer cable part.
  3. Use the exact service wiring documentation, not an RJ trade name, to resolve missing assignments.
Original source statements and citation return points

A six-position modular housing with four populated contacts is commonly sold under the RJ11 trade label. [C111A]

That physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement. [C111B]

Source check · 14 October 2026. The guide’s RJ11/RJ12 trade descriptions were visible. They are not substituted for a normative registered-jack service specification.

Source-qualified reference, not a wiring, optical-link or compatibility approval. Each linked claim and source carries its own recorded inspection date and review status. Selected source checks do not constitute independent technical or rights approval.

Existing source trail: S091.

Network, fiber and RF questions · 6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts4S091Four populated contacts in a six-position housing; this is not a six-contact observation.
Positions / cavity span6 (Claim C111A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
Connector roleplug (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
ManufacturerPrimex (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
SeriesModular Plugs (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
Exact part / implementation135-0337 (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.

Not recorded: Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact pitch, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring: Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.
  • USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring: Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.
  • FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line): 47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering.
  • FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line): 47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering; the RJ14C plug drawing shows four contacts in positions 2-5.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11) facts and limitations
Documented identificationC2G describes common RJ11 trade usage as a six-position, four-conductor modular form. [C111A]
Important distinctionThat physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement. [C111B]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Confirm whether the port is a telephone line, handset or another interface.
  2. Compare positions and populated contacts separately.
  3. Use the device-approved cable; do not force a smaller plug into a wider socket.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring

View and evidence limits

Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • The CFR describes a 6-position jack configuration; it does not say how many contacts the part carries (6P2C/6P4C/6P6C).
  • TIA-1096-A (and TIA-968-B) are paywalled (Accuris store, linked from part68.org/documents); not inspected. The CFR text used is a historical (10-1-00) edition.
  • Section 68.502 diagrams are schematic; the mechanical figures of Section 68.500 were not inspected.
  • Not stated in the source.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering referenceSchematic position numbers 1-6 only.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Reserved (single_source)12: Reserved (single_source)23: R (Ring) (single_source)34: T (Tip) (single_source)45: Reserved (single_source)56: Reserved (single_source)6powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
2ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
3R (Ring)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T (Tip)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
6ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)

USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring

View and evidence limits

Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • Text: the telephone company wires the lines to the jack in the sequence designated by the customer.
  • TIA-1096-A (and TIA-968-B) are paywalled (Accuris store, linked from part68.org/documents); not inspected. The CFR text used is a historical (10-1-00) edition.
  • Section 68.502 diagrams are schematic; the mechanical figures of Section 68.500 were not inspected.
  • Not stated in the source.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering referenceSchematic position numbers 1-6 only.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Not confirmed (unverified)12: T2 (single_source)23: R1 (single_source)34: T1 (single_source)45: R2 (single_source)56: Not confirmed (unverified)6powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
2T2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3R1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5R2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
6Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
Sources (1)

FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line)

View and evidence limits

47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • Positions 1 and 6 are also reserved in RJ11C; a 6P4C plug has no contacts there.
  • The current registered-jack drawings are in ANSI/TIA-1096-A, sold through a standards store (paywalled); ACTA's part68.org links only to the store. The historical CFR 2000 edition is used instead.
  • Proprietary 6P4C uses (data, power, sensors) are not covered.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering reference47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual2: Reserved (single_source)23: R (ring) (single_source)34: T (tip) (single_source)45: Reserved (single_source)5powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
2ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
3R (ring)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T (tip)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)

FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line)

View and evidence limits

47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering; the RJ14C plug drawing shows four contacts in positions 2-5.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • The current registered-jack drawings are in ANSI/TIA-1096-A, sold through a standards store (paywalled); ACTA's part68.org links only to the store. The historical CFR 2000 edition is used instead.
  • Proprietary 6P4C uses (data, power, sensors) are not covered.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering reference47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering; the RJ14C plug drawing shows four contacts in positions 2-5.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual2: T2 (single_source)23: R1 (single_source)34: T1 (single_source)45: R2 (single_source)5powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
2T2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3R1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5R2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C111ASource checked · pending review

C2G describes common RJ11 trade usage as a six-position, four-conductor modular form.

C2G / Legrand · Modular connector identification guide ↗

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22
Access: public page. Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

S091: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C111BSource checked · pending review

That physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement.

C2G / Legrand · Modular connector identification guide ↗

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22
Access: public page. Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

S091: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: Telephone modular forms · Telephone modular versus 8P8C

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

1 linked sources · 2 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 1 source scopes, access limits and dates

S091 · Modular connector identification guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 6P6C, common 6P4C trade naming, and the four-position handset form.

Not established / limitations: Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22

Trace 2 claims to their source records

C111A · P111

C2G describes common RJ11 trade usage as a six-position, four-conductor modular form.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C111B · P111

That physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.