FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

E321 · Source-scoped pinout variants

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11) engineering reference

Named wiring from the pinout research; connector shape alone does not establish capabilities.

Source checked · no independent review claimed · Fabrication approved: no

6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering reference original orientation schematic
Original pinout diagram; read the exact variant and view below. Not to scale.

Orientation

How to read this profile

Read the exact variant view convention. Schematic layouts do not establish physical positions.

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts4S091Four populated contacts in a six-position housing; this is not a six-contact observation.
Positions / cavity span6 (Claim C111A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
Connector roleplug (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
ManufacturerPrimex (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
SeriesModular Plugs (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
Exact part / implementation135-0337 (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.

Not recorded: Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact pitch, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring: Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.
  • USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring: Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.
  • FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line): 47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering.
  • FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line): 47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering; the RJ14C plug drawing shows four contacts in positions 2-5.
Report a correction to these facts →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring

View and evidence limits

Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • The CFR describes a 6-position jack configuration; it does not say how many contacts the part carries (6P2C/6P4C/6P6C).
  • TIA-1096-A (and TIA-968-B) are paywalled (Accuris store, linked from part68.org/documents); not inspected. The CFR text used is a historical (10-1-00) edition.
  • Section 68.502 diagrams are schematic; the mechanical figures of Section 68.500 were not inspected.
  • Not stated in the source.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering referenceSchematic position numbers 1-6 only.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Reserved (single_source)12: Reserved (single_source)23: R (Ring) (single_source)34: T (Tip) (single_source)45: Reserved (single_source)56: Reserved (single_source)6powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
2ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
3R (Ring)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T (Tip)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
6ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)

USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring

View and evidence limits

Schematic position numbers 1-6 only.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • Text: the telephone company wires the lines to the jack in the sequence designated by the customer.
  • TIA-1096-A (and TIA-968-B) are paywalled (Accuris store, linked from part68.org/documents); not inspected. The CFR text used is a historical (10-1-00) edition.
  • Section 68.502 diagrams are schematic; the mechanical figures of Section 68.500 were not inspected.
  • Not stated in the source.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering referenceSchematic position numbers 1-6 only.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Not confirmed (unverified)12: T2 (single_source)23: R1 (single_source)34: T1 (single_source)45: R2 (single_source)56: Not confirmed (unverified)6powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
2T2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3R1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5R2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
6Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
Sources (1)

FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line)

View and evidence limits

47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • Positions 1 and 6 are also reserved in RJ11C; a 6P4C plug has no contacts there.
  • The current registered-jack drawings are in ANSI/TIA-1096-A, sold through a standards store (paywalled); ACTA's part68.org links only to the store. The historical CFR 2000 edition is used instead.
  • Proprietary 6P4C uses (data, power, sensors) are not covered.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering reference47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual2: Reserved (single_source)23: R (ring) (single_source)34: T (tip) (single_source)45: Reserved (single_source)5powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
2ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
3R (ring)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T (tip)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5ReservedReserved; no general-purpose wiring is established.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)

FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line)

View and evidence limits

47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering; the RJ14C plug drawing shows four contacts in positions 2-5.

  • P111 6P4C (RJ11) — **Agree** on RJ11C (3 ring, 4 tip) and RJ14C (2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2) — Both passes used the same regulation, 47 CFR §68.502, so the agreement comes from one source document. The outer positions are unassigned.
  • The current registered-jack drawings are in ANSI/TIA-1096-A, sold through a standards store (paywalled); ACTA's part68.org links only to the store. The historical CFR 2000 edition is used instead.
  • Proprietary 6P4C uses (data, power, sensors) are not covered.
6P4C modular (RJ11) engineering reference47 CFR 68.502 diagram position numbering; the RJ14C plug drawing shows four contacts in positions 2-5.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual2: T2 (single_source)23: R1 (single_source)34: T1 (single_source)45: R2 (single_source)5powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
2T2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3R1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4T1Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5R2Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)

Unknowns stay unknown.

  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.

Your next step

Use the detail without guessing past its limits.

Source trail

Claims and sources

C804Gsource checked

USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring: original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

U.S. Federal Communications Commission / U.S. Government Printing Office · 47 CFR 68.502 Configurations (Title 47, Chapter I, Part 68, Subpart F) ↗
Section 68.502(a)(1) 'Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ11C/RJ11W: text 'Conductors 1, 2, 5 and 6 are reserved for telephone company use' and wiring diagram (R to position 3, T to position 4); Section 68.502(c)(1) 'Two-line configurations - Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ14C/RJ14W (text); Section 68.502(c)(1) wiring diagram: plug positions 2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2 · Source scope and unresolved evidence are preserved in the engineering variant.

C804Hsource checked

USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring: original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

U.S. Federal Communications Commission / U.S. Government Printing Office · 47 CFR 68.502 Configurations (Title 47, Chapter I, Part 68, Subpart F) ↗
Section 68.502(a)(1) 'Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ11C/RJ11W: text 'Conductors 1, 2, 5 and 6 are reserved for telephone company use' and wiring diagram (R to position 3, T to position 4); Section 68.502(c)(1) 'Two-line configurations - Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ14C/RJ14W (text); Section 68.502(c)(1) wiring diagram: plug positions 2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2 · Source scope and unresolved evidence are preserved in the engineering variant.

C804Isource checked

FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line): original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

U.S. Government Publishing Office / Federal Communications Commission · Code of Federal Regulations, Title 47, Chapter I, Part 68, Section 68.502 (Configurations) ↗
Sec. 68.502(a)(1) 'Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ11C/RJ11W, text and wiring diagram, printed p. 433; Sec. 68.502(a)(3) 'Bridged T/R with make-busy arrangement; 6-position jack', USOC RJ18C/RJ18W, text p. 434 and wiring diagram p. 435; Sec. 68.502(c)(1) 'Two-line configurations - Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ14C/RJ14W, text p. 437 and wiring diagram p. 438 · Source scope and unresolved evidence are preserved in the engineering variant.

C804Jsource checked

FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line): original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

U.S. Government Publishing Office / Federal Communications Commission · Code of Federal Regulations, Title 47, Chapter I, Part 68, Section 68.502 (Configurations) ↗
Sec. 68.502(a)(1) 'Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ11C/RJ11W, text and wiring diagram, printed p. 433; Sec. 68.502(a)(3) 'Bridged T/R with make-busy arrangement; 6-position jack', USOC RJ18C/RJ18W, text p. 434 and wiring diagram p. 435; Sec. 68.502(c)(1) 'Two-line configurations - Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ14C/RJ14W, text p. 437 and wiring diagram p. 438 · Source scope and unresolved evidence are preserved in the engineering variant.

2 source records support this profile. No independent engineering review or hardware validation is claimed.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 4 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Original schematic; not to scale and not fabrication approval.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-18. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S732 · 47 CFR 68.502 Configurations (Title 47, Chapter I, Part 68, Subpart F)

U.S. Federal Communications Commission / U.S. Government Printing Office · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-20 · due 2027-01-18

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact named pinout variant only; not capability or compatibility approval.

Not established / limitations: Source scope and unresolved evidence are preserved in the engineering variant.

Locator: Section 68.502(a)(1) 'Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ11C/RJ11W: text 'Conductors 1, 2, 5 and 6 are reserved for telephone company use' and wiring diagram (R to position 3, T to position 4); Section 68.502(c)(1) 'Two-line configurations - Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ14C/RJ14W (text); Section 68.502(c)(1) wiring diagram: plug positions 2 T2, 3 R1, 4 T1, 5 R2

S733 · Code of Federal Regulations, Title 47, Chapter I, Part 68, Section 68.502 (Configurations)

U.S. Government Publishing Office / Federal Communications Commission · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-20 · due 2027-01-18

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact named pinout variant only; not capability or compatibility approval.

Not established / limitations: Source scope and unresolved evidence are preserved in the engineering variant.

Locator: Sec. 68.502(a)(1) 'Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ11C/RJ11W, text and wiring diagram, printed p. 433; Sec. 68.502(a)(3) 'Bridged T/R with make-busy arrangement; 6-position jack', USOC RJ18C/RJ18W, text p. 434 and wiring diagram p. 435; Sec. 68.502(c)(1) 'Two-line configurations - Bridged T/R; 6-position jack', USOC RJ14C/RJ14W, text p. 437 and wiring diagram p. 438

Trace 4 claims to their source records

C804G · P111

USOC RJ11C / RJ11W - single line bridged tip and ring: original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

Claim scope: Pinout variant only; see comparison and per-contact status. Not fabrication approval.

Source links: S732 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C804H · P111

USOC RJ14C / RJ14W - two-line bridged tip and ring: original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

Claim scope: Pinout variant only; see comparison and per-contact status. Not fabrication approval.

Source links: S732 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C804I · P111

FCC registered jack RJ11C / RJ11W (single line): original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

Claim scope: Pinout variant only; see comparison and per-contact status. Not fabrication approval.

Source links: S733 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C804J · P111

FCC registered jack RJ14C / RJ14W (two line): original contact normalization. Statuses distinguish comparison agreement, source limits and named-device wiring.

Claim scope: Pinout variant only; see comparison and per-contact status. Not fabrication approval.

Source links: S733 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.