FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P113 / Telephone / Connector

4-position modular handset form

A small four-position modular housing is commonly found on telephone handsets; trade names are not wiring guarantees.

Also called RJ9 handset RJ10 handset RJ22 4P4C handset telephone handset plug

Handset and telephone-line connections are different questions.

Look for

Inspect the disconnected handset lead and its four-position housing. Confirm actual populated contacts in the equipment documentation.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03, 2026-10-22 · Independent review pending

Inspect the illustrationHousing-only modular symbol · larger view & look-alikes
4-position modular handset form — housing-only modular symbol; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Housing-only modular symbolDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

Read the four-position housing label, not a contact pattern

The projection is drawn at the bottom. This housing symbol is not a validated plug face or jack opening.

About the marks: The contact area is deliberately blank; do not infer four populated contacts.

What it cannot establish: No populated contacts are depicted. This cannot establish handset wiring or a telephone-line connection.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S091. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

A small four-position modular housing is commonly found on telephone handsets; trade names are not wiring guarantees. [C113A]

It notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation. [C113B]

Molex identifies 95501-2441 as a right-angle 4P4C modular jack. Its chart separates 1.02 mm mating-interface pitch from 1.27 mm termination-interface pitch. [C113W]

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Positions / cavity span4 (Claim C113A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
Contact pitch1.02 mm Manufacturer Pitch-Mating Interface (Molex 955012441 board jack)S982Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. Exact Molex 95501-2441 right-angle 4P4C board jack; manufacturer mating-interface pitch only, separate from any unidentified handset plug.
Connector roleplug (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
ManufacturerPrimex (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
SeriesModular Plugs (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
Exact part / implementation135-0324 (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.

Not recorded: Nominal contacts, Populated contacts, Contact rows, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

4-position modular handset form facts and limitations
Documented identificationThe C2G guide describes a four-position modular form used on telephone handsets. [C113A]
Important distinctionIt notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation. [C113B]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Separate the handset socket from the wall-line socket.
  2. Record the telephone and handset model.
  3. Verify the approved lead and microphone/speaker wiring rather than substituting by appearance.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.

Numbered pin functions are not yet confirmed. No wiring table is published for this connector.

4-position modular handset (4P4C) engineering referenceNo numbered contact map is confirmed.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manualNumbered contacts are not yet confirmed.powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C113ASource checked · pending review

The C2G guide describes a four-position modular form used on telephone handsets.

C2G / Legrand · Modular connector identification guide ↗

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22
Access: public page. Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

S091: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C113BSource checked · pending review

It notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation.

C2G / Legrand · Modular connector identification guide ↗

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22
Access: public page. Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

S091: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C113WSource checked · pending review

Molex identifies 95501-2441 as a right-angle 4P4C modular jack. Its chart separates 1.02 mm mating-interface pitch from 1.27 mm termination-interface pitch.

Molex · Molex 95501 modular-jack series chart, exact4/4,6/4,6/6,8/8 variants ↗

Locator: Full Export Spreadsheet table: exact955012441,955012641,955012661,955012881 rows. Web Description identifies modular JACK; Pitch-Mating Interface1.02 mm differs from Pitch-Termination Interface1.27 mm; Positions/Loaded Contacts4/4,6/4,6/6,8/8.
Access: public page. P111/P112 are plug records, so jack values are counterpart context only and excluded from their pitch numerator. Port Configuration1x1 is not contact-row count. No Number of Rows field or inspected face drawing on this chart.

S982: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Exact Molex 95501-2441 right-angle 4P4C board jack; manufacturer mating-interface pitch only, separate from any unidentified handset plug.. Next review due 2027-01-20.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: Telephone modular forms

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 3 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S091 · Modular connector identification guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 6P6C, common 6P4C trade naming, and the four-position handset form.

Not established / limitations: Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22

S982 · Molex 95501 modular-jack series chart, exact4/4,6/4,6/6,8/8 variants

Molex · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact named right-angle board-jack rows only; no plug-role geometry transfer.

Not established / limitations: P111/P112 are plug records, so jack values are counterpart context only and excluded from their pitch numerator. Port Configuration1x1 is not contact-row count. No Number of Rows field or inspected face drawing on this chart.

Locator: Full Export Spreadsheet table: exact955012441,955012641,955012661,955012881 rows. Web Description identifies modular JACK; Pitch-Mating Interface1.02 mm differs from Pitch-Termination Interface1.27 mm; Positions/Loaded Contacts4/4,6/4,6/6,8/8.

Trace 3 claims to their source records

C113A · P113

The C2G guide describes a four-position modular form used on telephone handsets.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C113B · P113

It notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C113W · P113

Molex identifies 95501-2441 as a right-angle 4P4C modular jack. Its chart separates 1.02 mm mating-interface pitch from 1.27 mm termination-interface pitch.

Claim scope: Exact Molex 95501-2441 right-angle 4P4C board jack; manufacturer mating-interface pitch only, separate from any unidentified handset plug.

Source links: S982 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.