FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P105 / FireWire / Connector

FireWire 4-pin connector

A compact four-contact FireWire form used on legacy equipment; its data connection has no bus-power contacts.

Also called IEEE 1394 4 pin i.LINK 4 pin DV connector

Four contacts do not make it USB.

Look for

Look for the compact rectangular shell with a bottom notch; compare the port label and four-contact form in the manual.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03, 2026-10-14, 2026-10-22 · Independent review pending

Application notes / Legacy data / P105

Which FireWire cable does the device documentation name?

FIELD NOTES 04

Match the documented port pair and cable identifier, then check power separately. Changing the host-side plug does not establish power at a four-contact device. C105C · C105B

Cable or component: documented role and remaining check
CheckDocumented distinctionWhat this does not establish
Documented four-to-four cableSony names VMC-IL4415 for a four-to-four-pin connection. C105CA legacy identifier is not a claim of current availability or approval for your equipment.
Documented four-to-six cableSony names VMC-IL4615 for a four-to-six-pin connection. C105CThe cable name does not verify a host interface, driver or capture application.
Four-contact device endThe existing four-contact FireWire record excludes bus-power contacts. C105BFollow the device power instructions; do not infer power from the larger plug at the other end.
Read the part and the device.
Look for the four-pin notched shell and read the peripheral’s power instructions.
Keep this requirement open.
The peripheral’s approved supply, host support, drivers and application support remain unresolved.

Explicit source exclusion · named example only

Will bus power be carried through the four-pin interface?

No: the four-contact form carries data without bus power.

Boundary. This does not determine which external supply, host or software the peripheral needs.

Next check. Follow the peripheral’s approved power and connection instructions.

S088 · C105B (private workspace) · C106B (private workspace)

Before choosing an adapter or reader

  1. Identify both FireWire ends.
  2. Find the peripheral’s own power instructions.
  3. Check current host and software support before assuming capture or transfer will work.

Source scope · 14 October 2026. Sony’s displayed 2024 article is limited to applicable products/operating systems; its displayed ID differs from the URL suffix. Current OS support and availability are not established.

Source-qualified reference, not a pinout, compatibility verdict or installation approval. New claims have separate dates; inherited claim dates and review status remain unchanged. No independent technical or rights approval is implied.

Source trail: S642 · S088.

FireWire 6-pin connector · FireWire 9-pin connector

Read the evidence and its scope · 3 observations

C105A (private workspace) — The FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S088

C105B (private workspace) — The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S088

C106B (private workspace) — The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S088

Source interpretation is not independent engineering review, hardware testing, wiring advice or a public-release approval.

V117 / READER FIELD GUIDE / AV & LEGACY

Before you connect or replace

FireWire 4-pin and 6-pin do not carry identical power

The cited 4-pin FireWire form carries data without the bus-power conductors provided by the documented 6-pin form. Shape and contact count reflect a real capability distinction.

Three checks and exact source trail ↗

Editorial decision guidance only. A connector identity or nominal pitch does not establish approved mating, safe wiring or a supported device combination.

Inspect the illustrationFront-oriented outline study · larger view & look-alikes
FireWire 4-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Front-oriented outline studyDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

Rectangular outline with a small lower-edge notch feature

The notch feature is drawn at the bottom; that is not a device installation-up direction or rear view.

About the marks: Unnumbered dots are illustrative marks, not pin positions or wiring.

What it cannot establish: The dots are not a verified contact arrangement, and this face does not establish a cable power path.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S088. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

A compact four-contact FireWire form used on legacy equipment; its data connection has no bus-power contacts. [C105A]

The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power. [C105B]

Sony identifies VMC-IL4415 as a four-to-four-pin i.LINK cable and VMC-IL4615 as a four-to-six-pin cable, directing selection to the device manuals. [C105C]

EXSYS EX-16600 external 4-pin FireWire1394a socket: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope. [C883A]

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts4S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Connector roleplug (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.
ManufacturerStarTech.com (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.
SeriesFireWire400 four-pin cable (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.
Exact part / implementation1394_44_6 (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.

Not recorded: Positions / cavity span, Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact pitch, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • IEEE 1394a legacy 4-circuit plug/socket: Plug face per FWDG Figure 2-6: 4-3-2-1 left to right.
  • IEEE 1394 4-position (unpowered) connector: Unresolved: no primary source located.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

FireWire 4-pin connector facts and limitations
Documented identificationThe FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing. [C105A]
Important distinctionThe four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power. [C105B]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Read the camcorder or peripheral manual for the exact DV / IEEE 1394 port.
  2. Record how the device is powered separately.
  3. Check the computer interface, driver and capture software before buying a cable.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

IEEE 1394a legacy 4-circuit plug/socket

View and evidence limits

Plug face per FWDG Figure 2-6: 4-3-2-1 left to right.

  • P105 FireWire 4-pin — **Single source only** — Pass A: 1 TPB−, 2 TPB+, 3 TPA−, 4 TPA+ (1394 Trade Association FireWire Design Guide, Internet Archive copy). Pass B found no qualifying source. IEEE 1394 is paywalled. Treat as **not yet independently confirmed**.
  • FWDG writes the complementary line of each pair with an asterisk (TPA*, TPB*); Apple and TI documents write the 6-pin equivalents as TPA-/TPB-.
  • IEEE 1394 standards are paywalled (IEEE Xplore) and were not inspected; the 1394 TA design guide is used instead.
  • No manufacturer device manual or connector drawing giving a 4-pin signal table was found in this pass; only one source supports these rows.
  • Only the plug face (Figure 2-6) is numbered in the inspected document.
FireWire 4-pin (IEEE 1394a 4-circuit, no power) engineering referencePlug face per FWDG Figure 2-6: 4-3-2-1 left to right.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: TPB* (single_source)12: TPB (single_source)23: TPA* (single_source)34: TPA (single_source)4Shell: Shell (plug shell) (single_source)ShellpowergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.

Not yet independently confirmed. No settled pin table is available for this wiring.

Sources (1)
  • S717 · 1394 Trade Association · FireWire Design Guide

    FWDG 1.0TA, 03/02/2010 · Section 2.2, Figure 2-6 '1394b type 3 cable assembly and schematic (Legacy 4-circuit plug to Bilingual plug)' and Table 2-4 'Legacy 4 circuit to 1394b Bilingual end-to-end connections' (4-circuit side columns)

IEEE 1394 4-position (unpowered) connector

View and evidence limits

Unresolved: no primary source located.

  • P105 FireWire 4-pin — **Single source only** — Pass A: 1 TPB−, 2 TPB+, 3 TPA−, 4 TPA+ (1394 Trade Association FireWire Design Guide, Internet Archive copy). Pass B found no qualifying source. IEEE 1394 is paywalled. Treat as **not yet independently confirmed**.
  • No pin rows: all four contacts unresolved.
  • A declared contact lacks a cited assignment and is shown as unverified.
  • IEEE 1394-1995 / 1394a-2000 are paywalled (IEEE). Searches of Apple, TI, TE, Molex and camera/camcorder makers found no manufacturer document giving 4-pin contact numbers with TPA/TPB signals. Allied Vision's 1394 cable datasheet URL redirects to a generic page; the TE 'Interconnects for IEEE 1394' catalogue (2011) has no extractable pin table. Pinout websites that list a 4-pin map were deliberately not used.
  • Apple's Xserve note says the 6-pin connector's pin-2 wire (ground) goes to the shell of a 4-pin connector in a 6-to-4 cable; this implies the 4-pin has no power/ground contact but does not number its contacts.
FireWire 4-pin (IEEE 1394a 4-circuit, no power) engineering referenceUnresolved: no primary source located.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Not confirmed (unverified)12: Not confirmed (unverified)23: Not confirmed (unverified)34: Not confirmed (unverified)4powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.

Not yet independently confirmed. No settled pin table is available for this wiring.

Sources (1)

EXSYS EX-16600 external 4-pin FireWire1394a socket

Device-specific wiring. Check your device’s manual before connecting or applying power.

View and evidence limits

Source table/illustration labeled4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse/Port. Contact numbers1–4 are as printed; no termination-side view or cable-rear mirror is asserted.

  • Exact EX-16600 socket only; does not promote the unresolvedgenericB variant or prove every 4-pin implementation.
  • Manufacturer numeric socket figure is recorded as printed; solder tails, cable rear and PCB footprint are unverified.
  • No power contacts are added. Schematic listing only; not to scale; fabrication remains unapproved.
FireWire 4-pin (IEEE 1394a 4-circuit, no power) engineering referenceSource table/illustration labeled4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse/Port. Contact numbers1–4 are as printed; no termination-side view or cable-rear mirror is asserted.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: TPB- (device_specific)12: TPB+ (device_specific)23: TPA- (device_specific)34: TPA+ (device_specific)4powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
EXSYS EX-16600 external 4-pin FireWire1394a socket — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1TPB-Twisted-pairB negative conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
2TPB+Twisted-pairB positive conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
3TPA-Twisted-pairA negative conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
4TPA+Twisted-pairA positive conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
Sources (1)
  • S883 · EXSYS · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung

    Vers. 1.0 / 26.10.22 (printed verbatim; date not reinterpreted) · PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C105ASource checked · pending review

The FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing.

C2G / Legrand · FireWire connector guide — physical forms ↗

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector
Access: public page. Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

S088: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C105BSource checked · pending review

The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.

C2G / Legrand · FireWire connector guide — physical forms ↗

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector
Access: public page. Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

S088: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C105CSource checked · pending review

Sony identifies VMC-IL4415 as a four-to-four-pin i.LINK cable and VMC-IL4615 as a four-to-six-pin cable, directing selection to the device manuals.

Sony · i.LINK cable selection, power and rate limits ↗

Locator: Displayed article ID 00006752, modified 2024-11-01; cable part-number list and NOTES. URL suffix differs from displayed ID.
Access: public page. Article is limited to applicable products/operating systems. Not current availability, universal camcorder coverage, USB conversion or present-day OS/driver/capture support. Third-party compatibility not verified.

S642: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Named legacy cable identifiers in the displayed 2024 article. Not current stock, third-party approval or support for an arbitrary capture setup.. Next review due 2027-01-12.

Back to first citation ↑
C883ASource checked · pending review

EXSYS EX-16600 external 4-pin FireWire1394a socket: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope.

EXSYS · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung ↗

Locator: PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5
Access: public pdf text. 6-pin1 is called Power without a voltage/current here. Numeric socket figures are recorded as printed; no solder-tail/cable-rear mirror inferred. Printed date is preserved verbatim.

S883: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Only the named implementation and explicit numbered rows; no universal family claim, independent confirmation, hardware verification or fabrication approval.. Next review due 2027-01-20.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: FireWire: 4-pin, 6-pin and 9-pin

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

3 linked sources · 4 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 3 source scopes, access limits and dates

S088 · FireWire connector guide — physical forms

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 4-, 6- and 9-contact forms; the 4-pin form omits bus power.

Not established / limitations: Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector

S642 · i.LINK cable selection, power and rate limits

Sony · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-14 · due 2027-01-12

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Documented 4-to-4 and 4-to-6 cable identifiers; four-contact power boundary and slowest-device rate statement.

Not established / limitations: Article is limited to applicable products/operating systems. Not current availability, universal camcorder coverage, USB conversion or present-day OS/driver/capture support. Third-party compatibility not verified.

Locator: Displayed article ID 00006752, modified 2024-11-01; cable part-number list and NOTES. URL suffix differs from displayed ID.

S883 · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung

EXSYS · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: EX-16600 named-card4-pin / 6-pin FireWire1394a socket assignments only.

Not established / limitations: 6-pin1 is called Power without a voltage/current here. Numeric socket figures are recorded as printed; no solder-tail/cable-rear mirror inferred. Printed date is preserved verbatim.

Locator: PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5

Trace 4 claims to their source records

C105A · P105

The FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C105B · P105

The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C105C · P105

Sony identifies VMC-IL4415 as a four-to-four-pin i.LINK cable and VMC-IL4615 as a four-to-six-pin cable, directing selection to the device manuals.

Claim scope: Named legacy cable identifiers in the displayed 2024 article. Not current stock, third-party approval or support for an arbitrary capture setup.

Source links: S642 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C883A · P105

EXSYS EX-16600 external 4-pin FireWire1394a socket: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope.

Claim scope: Only the named implementation and explicit numbered rows; no universal family claim, independent confirmation, hardware verification or fabrication approval.

Source links: S883 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.