FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P106 / FireWire / Connector

FireWire 6-pin connector

The six-contact FireWire form has a larger housing than the four-contact form and includes a power-carrying interface.

Also called IEEE 1394 6 pin FireWire 400 connector

Identify the generation, then verify the power arrangement.

Look for

Compare the beveled end of the shell and six-contact arrangement; do not use trial insertion to identify it.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03, 2026-10-22 · Independent review pending

Application notes / Legacy data / P106

Does the powered form guarantee a working connection?

FIELD NOTES 04

The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data, unlike the four-pin form. Actual power availability and software support still depend on the equipment.

Identify first

Read the part and the device.

The larger beveled shell distinguishes the form; it is not a current or driver certificate.

Still unresolved

Keep this requirement open.

Unknown port power, device demand and operating-system support stay open.

Explicit source exclusion · named example only

Will bus power be carried through the four-pin interface?

No: the four-contact form carries data without bus power.

Boundary. This does not determine which external supply, host or software the peripheral needs.

Next check. Follow the peripheral’s approved power and connection instructions.

S088 · C105B (private workspace) · C106B (private workspace)

Before choosing an adapter or reader

  1. Identify the host and peripheral models.
  2. Confirm the required power arrangement in their manuals.
  3. Check data support separately from bus-power availability.
Read the evidence and its scope · 3 observations

C106A (private workspace) — The six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S088

C106B (private workspace) — The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S088

C105B (private workspace) — The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.

Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

S088

Source interpretation is not independent engineering review, hardware testing, wiring advice or a public-release approval.

Inspect the illustrationFront-oriented outline study · larger view & look-alikes
FireWire 6-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Front-oriented outline studyDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

Beveled end on the right of the shell

The beveled end points right in the sketch. No front-to-rear pin transformation is supplied.

About the marks: The dot arrangement is not an actual contact map.

What it cannot establish: Use the exact device and cable documentation for power and supported operation, not this outline.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S088. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

The six-contact FireWire form has a larger housing than the four-contact form and includes a power-carrying interface. [C106A]

The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data. [C106B]

EXSYS EX-16600 six-pin FireWire1394a sockets: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope. [C883B]

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts6S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Contact pitch2 mm manufacturer-labelled centerline (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
Dimensions / axis3.18 mm termination post/tail length (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
Connector rolesocket (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
ManufacturerTE Connectivity (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
SeriesIEEE1394 (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
Exact part / implementation1734290-2 (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.

Not recorded: Positions / cavity span, Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • IEEE 1394 6-circuit (legacy) plug/socket: See connector view_convention; plug and socket faces are mirror views.
  • Apple Xserve (G4) FireWire 400 port, IEEE 1394a 6-pin: Apple Table 3-3 contact numbers.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

FireWire 6-pin connector facts and limitations
Documented identificationThe six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end. [C106A]
Important distinctionThe six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data. [C106B]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Inspect the disconnected plug for damage.
  2. Match the host and peripheral port descriptions.
  3. Follow the device instructions for power and connection order.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

IEEE 1394 6-circuit (legacy) plug/socket

View and evidence limits

See connector view_convention; plug and socket faces are mirror views.

  • P106 FireWire 6-pin — **Agree** (1 power, 2 ground, 3 TPB−, 4 TPB+, 5 TPA−, 6 TPA+) — Different sources: pass A used the 1394 TA guide, pass B Apple's Xserve developer note.
  • TI SLLA090 schematic also numbers two shield tabs as footprint pins 7 and 8 (Shld); these are PCB-footprint numbers of the Molex 53462-0611 socket used there, not mating contacts.
  • Paywalled (IEEE); not inspected.
  • Apple's 12.8 V is specific to the 17-inch PowerBook G4; no general range is recorded here.
FireWire 6-pin (IEEE 1394-1995/1394a 6-circuit) engineering referenceSee connector view_convention; plug and socket faces are mirror views.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: VP (Power) (single_source)12: VG (Ground) (single_source)23: TPB- (TPB*) (single_source)34: TPB+ (TPB) (single_source)45: TPA- (TPA*) (single_source)56: TPA+ (TPA) (single_source)6Shell: Outer shield (single_source)ShellpowergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
IEEE 1394 6-circuit (legacy) plug/socket — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1VP (Power)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
2VG (Ground)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3TPB- (TPB*)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4TPB+ (TPB)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5TPA- (TPA*)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
6TPA+ (TPA)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
ShellOuter shieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
Sources (3)

Apple Xserve (G4) FireWire 400 port, IEEE 1394a 6-pin

Device-specific wiring. Check your device’s manual before connecting or applying power.

View and evidence limits

Apple Table 3-3 contact numbers.

  • P106 FireWire 6-pin — **Agree** (1 power, 2 ground, 3 TPB−, 4 TPB+, 5 TPA−, 6 TPA+) — Different sources: pass A used the 1394 TA guide, pass B Apple's Xserve developer note.
  • IEEE 1394-1995 / 1394a-2000 are paywalled and were not read; coverage rests on one named-manufacturer document.
  • No second independent manufacturer document with a 6-pin table was retrieved.
FireWire 6-pin (IEEE 1394-1995/1394a 6-circuit) engineering referenceApple Table 3-3 contact numbers.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Power (device_specific)12: Ground (device_specific)23: TPB- (device_specific)34: TPB+ (device_specific)45: TPA- (device_specific)56: TPA+ (device_specific)6Shell: Outer cable shield (device_specific)ShellpowergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
Apple Xserve (G4) FireWire 400 port, IEEE 1394a 6-pin — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1PowerControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
2GroundGround reference and return.Device-specific
Sources
3TPB-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
4TPB+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
5TPA-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
6TPA+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
ShellOuter cable shieldCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Device-specific
Sources
Sources (1)

EXSYS EX-16600 six-pin FireWire1394a sockets

Device-specific wiring. Check your device’s manual before connecting or applying power.

View and evidence limits

Source table/illustration labeled6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse/Port. Contact numbers are as printed; no termination-side view or cable-rear mirror is asserted.

  • Exact EX-16600 six-pin sockets only. No general bus supply voltage/current or shared-port power budget inferred.
  • No PCB tail, wire-entry or opposite cable-face numbering established.
  • Schematic listing only, not to scale; fabrication remains unapproved.
FireWire 6-pin (IEEE 1394-1995/1394a 6-circuit) engineering referenceSource table/illustration labeled6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse/Port. Contact numbers are as printed; no termination-side view or cable-rear mirror is asserted.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Power (device_specific)12: Ground (device_specific)23: TPB- (device_specific)34: TPB+ (device_specific)45: TPA- (device_specific)56: TPA+ (device_specific)6powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
EXSYS EX-16600 six-pin FireWire1394a sockets — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1PowerPower contact as named by the manufacturer; voltage/current not established by this table.Device-specific
Sources
2GroundGround as named for the EX-16600 six-pin port.Device-specific
Sources
3TPB-Twisted-pairB negative conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
4TPB+Twisted-pairB positive conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
5TPA-Twisted-pairA negative conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
6TPA+Twisted-pairA positive conductor in this named card port.Device-specific
Sources
Sources (1)
  • S883 · EXSYS · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung

    Vers. 1.0 / 26.10.22 (printed verbatim; date not reinterpreted) · PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C106ASource checked · pending review

The six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end.

C2G / Legrand · FireWire connector guide — physical forms ↗

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector
Access: public page. Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

S088: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C106BSource checked · pending review

The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.

C2G / Legrand · FireWire connector guide — physical forms ↗

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector
Access: public page. Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

S088: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C883BSource checked · pending review

EXSYS EX-16600 six-pin FireWire1394a sockets: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope.

EXSYS · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung ↗

Locator: PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5
Access: public pdf text. 6-pin1 is called Power without a voltage/current here. Numeric socket figures are recorded as printed; no solder-tail/cable-rear mirror inferred. Printed date is preserved verbatim.

S883: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Only the named implementation and explicit numbered rows; no universal family claim, independent confirmation, hardware verification or fabrication approval.. Next review due 2027-01-20.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: FireWire: 4-pin, 6-pin and 9-pin

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 3 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S088 · FireWire connector guide — physical forms

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 4-, 6- and 9-contact forms; the 4-pin form omits bus power.

Not established / limitations: Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector

S883 · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung

EXSYS · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: EX-16600 named-card4-pin / 6-pin FireWire1394a socket assignments only.

Not established / limitations: 6-pin1 is called Power without a voltage/current here. Numeric socket figures are recorded as printed; no solder-tail/cable-rear mirror inferred. Printed date is preserved verbatim.

Locator: PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5

Trace 3 claims to their source records

C106A · P106

The six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C106B · P106

The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C883B · P106

EXSYS EX-16600 six-pin FireWire1394a sockets: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope.

Claim scope: Only the named implementation and explicit numbered rows; no universal family claim, independent confirmation, hardware verification or fabrication approval.

Source links: S883 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.