FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P107 / FireWire / Connector

FireWire 9-pin connector

The nine-contact form is associated with IEEE 1394b / FireWire 800 and differs physically from earlier FireWire ends.

Also called IEEE 1394b FireWire 800 connector 9 pin FireWire

A different end does not establish software support.

Look for

Check the squared rectangular housing and the documented nine-contact form, rather than assuming any rectangular socket is USB.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03, 2026-10-14 · Independent review pending

FireWire 9-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Front-oriented outline studyDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending
Original recognition schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending
Inspect the illustrationFront-oriented outline study · larger view & look-alikes
FireWire 9-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Front-oriented outline studyDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

Rectangular FireWire family outline

No validated mating-face or rear orientation is provided. Compare the named form in the equipment documentation.

About the marks: Dots identify neither numbered assignments nor the real contact placement.

What it cannot establish: The nine-position family name does not make the rounded sketch an accurate key, gauge or contact-face reference.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S088. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Does a nine-pin end make an older device run at FireWire 800 speed?

No speed upgrade follows from the end shape alone. Keep the device generation, cable form, power arrangement and actual host/software support as separate checks. C107A · C107B · C107C

Cable or component: documented role and remaining check
CheckDocumented distinctionWhat this does not establish
Connector generationThe existing reference identifies the nine-contact form with FireWire 800. C107AThat form does not prove the capability of an older connected device.
Earlier FireWire endsThe existing guide describes connections from nine-pin to earlier FireWire forms. C107BThat description does not approve an arbitrary adapter chain or USB conversion.
Rate limitationSony’s support note limits i.LINK operation to the slowest connected device. C107CThis is not a measured transfer speed or confirmation of a modern operating system.

Before choosing the cable or component

  1. Read the exact host and peripheral interface specifications.
  2. Match the documented cable and independent power needs.
  3. Confirm driver and capture-software support for the actual operating-system version.
Original source statements and citation return points

The nine-contact form is associated with IEEE 1394b / FireWire 800 and differs physically from earlier FireWire ends. [C107A]

The guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory. [C107B]

Sony states that an i.LINK connection operates at the speed of its slowest connected device. [C107C]

Source scope · 14 October 2026. New rate-scope claim comes from Sony’s bounded legacy support article. Other current driver/capture pages could not be retrieved and are not used as proof.

Source-qualified reference, not a pinout, compatibility verdict or installation approval. New claims have separate dates; inherited claim dates and review status remain unchanged. No independent technical or rights approval is implied.

Source trail: S088 · S642.

FireWire 4-pin connector · FireWire 6-pin connector

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts9S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Connector roleplug (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.
ManufacturerStarTech.com (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.
SeriesFireWire800 nine-pin cable (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.
Exact part / implementation1394_99_6 (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.

Not recorded: Positions / cavity span, Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact pitch, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • IEEE 1394b 9-circuit (beta and bilingual) plug/socket: See connector view_convention.
  • Apple Xserve (G4) FireWire 800 port, IEEE 1394b 9-pin bilingual: Apple Table 3-2 contact numbers.
  • TI TSB41BA3A reference design, 1394b bilingual connector: TI schematic symbol pin numbers (pins 10-13 are shell/mounting).
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

FireWire 9-pin connector facts and limitations
Documented identificationFireWire 800 uses a nine-contact connector with a rectangular shell. [C107A]
Important distinctionThe guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory. [C107B]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Identify both ends of the proposed cable.
  2. Verify the exact computer and peripheral support.
  3. Keep the slower endpoint and software requirements in your notes.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

IEEE 1394b 9-circuit (beta and bilingual) plug/socket

View and evidence limits

See connector view_convention.

  • P107 FireWire 9-pin — **Agree** (1 TPB−, 2 TPB+, 3 TPA−, 4 TPA+, 5 TPA(R), 6 VG, 7 SC no-connect, 8 VP, 9 TPB(R)) — The 1394 TA guide (pass A) and Apple (pass B) match. Pass B's TI reference schematic couldn't trace pins 5, 6 and 9, which stay unverified in that variant only.
  • Beta-only versus bilingual keying is not distinguished in the pin tables; both use the same contact assignment in FWDG Tables 2-2 and 2-3.
  • Paywalled (IEEE); not inspected.
  • Not transcribed from any drawing.
FireWire 9-pin (IEEE 1394b beta/bilingual) engineering referenceSee connector view_convention.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: TPB- (TPB*) (single_source)12: TPB+ (TPB) (single_source)23: TPA- (TPA*) (single_source)34: TPA+ (TPA) (single_source)45: TPA(R) (confirmed)56: VG (confirmed)67: SC (not_connected)78: VP (confirmed)89: TPB(R) (confirmed)9Shell: Outer shell / inner shell (single_source)ShellpowergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
IEEE 1394b 9-circuit (beta and bilingual) plug/socket — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1TPB- (TPB*)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
2TPB+ (TPB)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3TPA- (TPA*)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4TPA+ (TPA)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5TPA(R)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Confirmed
Sources
6VGControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Confirmed
Sources
7SCNot connected or absent in this named wiring.Not connected
Sources
8VPControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Confirmed
Sources
9TPB(R)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Confirmed
Sources
ShellOuter shell / inner shellCable screen or shield connection; check the named equipment.Single source
Sources
Sources (3)

Apple Xserve (G4) FireWire 800 port, IEEE 1394b 9-pin bilingual

Device-specific wiring. Check your device’s manual before connecting or applying power.

View and evidence limits

Apple Table 3-2 contact numbers.

  • P107 FireWire 9-pin — **Agree** (1 TPB−, 2 TPB+, 3 TPA−, 4 TPA+, 5 TPA(R), 6 VG, 7 SC no-connect, 8 VP, 9 TPB(R)) — The 1394 TA guide (pass A) and Apple (pass B) match. Pass B's TI reference schematic couldn't trace pins 5, 6 and 9, which stay unverified in that variant only.
  • Paywalled; not read.
  • Their nets join a capacitor/ground network that could not be traced unambiguously; Apple's table is the only verification for 5/6/9.
  • 1394b beta-only keying versus bilingual keying was not mapped separately; TI notes beta-only and bilingual ports cannot mate with 1394a 4- or 6-pin connectors.
FireWire 9-pin (IEEE 1394b beta/bilingual) engineering referenceApple Table 3-2 contact numbers.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: TPB- (device_specific)12: TPB+ (device_specific)23: TPA- (device_specific)34: TPA+ (device_specific)45: TPA (R) (device_specific)56: VG (device_specific)67: SC (not_connected)78: VP (device_specific)89: TPB (R) (device_specific)9powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
Apple Xserve (G4) FireWire 800 port, IEEE 1394b 9-pin bilingual — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1TPB-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
2TPB+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
3TPA-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
4TPA+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
5TPA (R)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
6VGControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
7SCNot connected or absent in this named wiring.Not connected
Sources
8VPControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
9TPB (R)Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
Sources (1)

TI TSB41BA3A reference design, 1394b bilingual connector

View and evidence limits

TI schematic symbol pin numbers (pins 10-13 are shell/mounting).

  • P107 FireWire 9-pin — **Agree** (1 TPB−, 2 TPB+, 3 TPA−, 4 TPA+, 5 TPA(R), 6 VG, 7 SC no-connect, 8 VP, 9 TPB(R)) — The 1394 TA guide (pass A) and Apple (pass B) match. Pass B's TI reference schematic couldn't trace pins 5, 6 and 9, which stay unverified in that variant only.
  • Paywalled; not read.
  • Their nets join a capacitor/ground network that could not be traced unambiguously; Apple's table is the only verification for 5/6/9.
  • 1394b beta-only keying versus bilingual keying was not mapped separately; TI notes beta-only and bilingual ports cannot mate with 1394a 4- or 6-pin connectors.
FireWire 9-pin (IEEE 1394b beta/bilingual) engineering referenceTI schematic symbol pin numbers (pins 10-13 are shell/mounting).SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: TPB0- / TPB1- (single_source)12: TPB0+ / TPB1+ (single_source)23: TPA0- / TPA1- (single_source)34: TPA0+ / TPA1+ (single_source)45: Not confirmed (unverified)56: Not confirmed (unverified)67: (no connection) (not_connected)78: BUS POWER (single_source)89: Not confirmed (unverified)9powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
TI TSB41BA3A reference design, 1394b bilingual connector — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1TPB0- / TPB1-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
2TPB0+ / TPB1+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3TPA0- / TPA1-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4TPA0+ / TPA1+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
5Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
6Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
7(no connection)Not connected or absent in this named wiring.Not connected
Sources
8BUS POWERControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
9Not confirmedNo settled assignment. Do not wire from this row.Unverified
Sources
Sources (1)

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C107ASource checked · pending review

FireWire 800 uses a nine-contact connector with a rectangular shell.

C2G / Legrand · FireWire connector guide — physical forms ↗

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector
Access: public page. Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

S088: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C107BSource checked · pending review

The guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory.

C2G / Legrand · FireWire connector guide — physical forms ↗

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector
Access: public page. Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

S088: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C107CSource checked · pending review

Sony states that an i.LINK connection operates at the speed of its slowest connected device.

Sony · i.LINK cable selection, power and rate limits ↗

Locator: Displayed article ID 00006752, modified 2024-11-01; cable part-number list and NOTES. URL suffix differs from displayed ID.
Access: public page. Article is limited to applicable products/operating systems. Not current availability, universal camcorder coverage, USB conversion or present-day OS/driver/capture support. Third-party compatibility not verified.

S642: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Scoped legacy support statement, not a measured transfer rate or a promise of present-day host, driver or software compatibility.. Next review due 2027-01-12.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: FireWire: 4-pin, 6-pin and 9-pin

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 3 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S088 · FireWire connector guide — physical forms

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 4-, 6- and 9-contact forms; the 4-pin form omits bus power.

Not established / limitations: Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector

S642 · i.LINK cable selection, power and rate limits

Sony · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-14 · due 2027-01-12

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Documented 4-to-4 and 4-to-6 cable identifiers; four-contact power boundary and slowest-device rate statement.

Not established / limitations: Article is limited to applicable products/operating systems. Not current availability, universal camcorder coverage, USB conversion or present-day OS/driver/capture support. Third-party compatibility not verified.

Locator: Displayed article ID 00006752, modified 2024-11-01; cable part-number list and NOTES. URL suffix differs from displayed ID.

Trace 3 claims to their source records

C107A · P107

FireWire 800 uses a nine-contact connector with a rectangular shell.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C107B · P107

The guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C107C · P107

Sony states that an i.LINK connection operates at the speed of its slowest connected device.

Claim scope: Scoped legacy support statement, not a measured transfer rate or a promise of present-day host, driver or software compatibility.

Source links: S642 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.