FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Display question

HDMI/DVI cable or USB-audio adapter: what changes?

Do not promote bidirectionality, a full DVI grid or a published timing into unsupported audio and performance guarantees.

The answer

Short answer A plain HDMI–DVI cable carries video but is not documented for audio; a USB-audio adapter such as DVI2HD adds stereo audio.

The passive HDMIDVIMM6 cable documents bidirectional digital video but does not specify an audio mode or maximum timing in the inspected sheet. The separate DVI2HD product documents USB stereo-audio insertion and a 1080p/60 Hz entry. These are different evidence scopes.

DVI-D single-link connectorComputer-generated illustration, not a photograph
DVI-D dual-link connector — contact-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
DVI-D dual-link connectorOriginal identification schematic · not to scale · review pending

Why the simple answer is not enough

Keep the evidence layers separate

1Reasoning step

HDMIDVIMM6 is a named 6 ft / 1.8 m cable with a DVI-D single-link endpoint. Its documented bidirectionality is not a blanket promise of every HDMI feature.

2Reasoning step

DVI2HD’s documented 1920 × 1080p at 60 Hz entry belongs to that adapter. Other resolutions in its sheet do not have individual refresh rates, and its full DVI contact form is not a dual-link implementation guarantee.

3Reasoning step

DVI2VGAE illustrates why performance summaries must preserve disagreement: the sheet says 1080p in one place and 1920 × 1200 in another. This site does not choose the larger value or invent a refresh rate.

4Reasoning step

An operating-limit panel now distinguishes a documented statement, missing evidence and conflicting statements. None of those states calculates the maximum of a complete source/cable/adapter/display chain.

HDMI/DVI cable or USB-audio adapter: what changes? — named examples, not universal rules
ExampleDocumented pathBoundary to preserveEvidence
HDMIDVIMM6Bidirectional digital video, 6 ft / 1.8 mNo inspected audio mode or maximum timing entry.C335A (private workspace) · C335B (private workspace)
DVI2HD1920 × 1080p at 60 Hz; separate USB stereo audioNamed adapter scope, not a generic DVI or HDMI feature claim.C336B (private workspace) · C336C (private workspace)
DVI2VGAE1080p headline/features; 1920 × 1200 performance tableUnresolved source conflict; no synthesized maximum or refresh rate.C334C (private workspace)

Scroll horizontally on narrow screens.

What to check next

  1. Check a resolution and refresh-rate pair rather than a marketing label alone.
  2. Keep input timing, output timing, cable form and implemented links separate.
  3. Confirm conflicting source entries before relying on them.
  4. Check audio origin and format independently from video connector fit.

Canonical connector and cable notes

Structured Cable & Adapter Atlas profiles

Related permanent comparisons

Your next step

Continue with the relevant reference.

Question pages do not create compatibility verdicts.

They reorganize facts and uncertainty already represented in the atlas. Exact-device, cable, protocol, power, safety and performance requirements remain separate where the evidence says they are separate.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

18 linked sources · 27 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence attached to records and cable profiles referenced by this guide; not a sentence-by-sentence editorial approval.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2026-12-30. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 18 source scopes, access limits and dates

S012 · HDMI 2.1 feature implementation FAQ

HDMI Licensing Administrator · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: A version number alone does not identify implemented features.

Not established / limitations:

Locator: FAQ about HDMI 2.1 supporting TMDS without FRL

S018 · Video connector guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Narrow physical identifiers only, not historical speed or video capability descriptions.

Not established / limitations: The old DisplayPort technology/speed description on this page is not relied on.

Locator: HD15, HDMI, HDMI Mini, HDMI Micro, DVI-D and RCA sections

S365 · TE 1747981-1 Standard HDMI connector

TE Connectivity · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-06 · due 2027-01-04

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Manufacturer example supporting the 19-position contact count for the standard/full-size HDMI connector form.

Not established / limitations: A manufacturer component example supports connector-form contact count only; it does not establish HDMI version, video mode, cable capability or universal fabrication dimensions.

Locator: Configuration features: Standard HDMI connector; 19 positions; receptacle

S411 · Digital Visual Interface, Revision 1.0 (02 April 1999)

Digital Display Working Group (DDWG) · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary DDWG specification authored in 1999, read from an explicitly third-party document mirror. Digital-only and combined assignments, interface grouping and numbered receptacle/plug views.

Not established / limitations: Mirror hosting is not an official live DDWG publication channel. No independent authentication, fabrication approval, current product conformance, universal PCB layout or timing guarantee.

Locator: Printed/PDF pp. 43–47; Tables 5-1 and 5-2; Figures 5-1, 5-3 and 5-5.

S412 · MicroCross DVI Connector System — signal interface and cable assemblies

Molex · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Primary manufacturer brochure hosted by Mouser. Numbered DVI-I front view and named cable-family distinctions.

Not established / limitations: Archived brochure, not evidence of current availability. Plug contacts may be partially loaded for a signal set. Do not transfer full receptacle assignments to unspecified cables or PCB terminals.

Locator: PDF p. 2: DVI-I Receptacle Connector Front View and signal roles; p. 3: single/dual-link and analog cable families; partially loaded plug note.

S413 · SE2416HM Monitor User’s Guide — DVI-D connector assignments

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact SE2416HM manual example. Positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 are labeled Floating despite the full numbered grid.

Not established / limitations: Labels belong to this manual. Do not substitute its Self test or supply labels for the DDWG standard; no voltage application, hardware measurement, or universal DVI implementation is established.

Locator: PDF/printed p. 44: numbered DVI-D view and 24-position assignment table.

S414 · Video Display and Multiple Video Display General Information — DVI questions

Dell · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Bounded use: 18 versus 24 grid positions; source/cable/display requirements; named E-Port single-link wiring despite accepting dual-link-shaped cables; active versus passive circuitry.

Not established / limitations: General article includes simplified descriptions and a broad conversion chart; those are not adopted as universal compatibility rules. E-Port wording is not an inventory of every dock revision.

Locator: Article 000052929, version 13; modified 17 April 2026. First FAQ on dual link, E-Port dock note, and active/passive adapter definitions.

S417 · StarTech DVI2VGAE — Active DVI-D to VGA converter with optional USB power (manufacturer datasheet)

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact StarTech DVI2VGAE product documentation only; no class-wide or inspected-hardware certification.

Not established / limitations: The headline/features say 1080p while the performance table lists 1920 × 1200. Refresh rate and the discrepancy are unresolved. Generic connector taxonomy is not USB data capability evidence. No explicit revision date was present in the inspected sheet; the live locator can change.

Locator: Pages 1–3: direction, active conversion, optional USB power, audio field, differing resolution entries, attached and auxiliary cable lengths.

S418 · StarTech HDMIDVIMM6 — 6 ft HDMI to DVI-D single-link bidirectional cable (manufacturer datasheet)

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact StarTech HDMIDVIMM6 product documentation only; no class-wide or inspected-hardware certification.

Not established / limitations: No inspected entry establishes an audio mode, maximum video timing, dual-link operation or general HDMI-generation feature set. No explicit revision date was present in the inspected sheet; the live locator can change.

Locator: Pages 1–3: bidirectional digital-video applications, passive hardware, DVI-D single-link connector and 6 ft / 1.8 m cable length.

S419 · StarTech DVI2HD — DVI-D to HDMI adapter with separate USB audio and power (manufacturer datasheet)

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact StarTech DVI2HD product documentation only; no class-wide or inspected-hardware certification.

Not established / limitations: The AV-input table bounds the broad marketing wording to DVI-D. Reverse use and active/passive classification are not documented. Other listed resolutions do not have separate refresh-rate entries. No explicit revision date was present in the inspected sheet; the live locator can change.

Locator: Pages 1–4: DVI-D input and HDMI output, Windows USB audio, two-channel stereo, video-only use, 1080p at 60 Hz entry, and separate cable/product lengths.

S450 · Elgato Game Capture 4K X — Technical Specifications

Elgato · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-08 · due 2027-01-06

Within inspection window

Scoped support: USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C host link; HDMI input and passthrough output.

Not established / limitations: Page displays September 3, 2024 update. Do not flatten abbreviated maximum capture/HDR bullets into an all-mode promise; use the detailed mode article. Not 4K Pro, 4K S or HD60 X.

Locator: Technical Specifications → Interface

S451 · Elgato Game Capture 4K X — Xbox Series X|S Setup

Elgato · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-08 · due 2027-01-06

Within inspection window

Scoped support: One HDMI input, one HDMI output and one USB-C host output; signal direction and reduced capture on USB Gen 1.

Not established / limitations: Page displays June 1, 2026 update. Setup example is not certification of an arbitrary console, cable, host or mode. Selected inventory excludes analog line input.

Locator: Inputs and Outputs; Required Items

S452 · Elgato Game Capture 4K X — Supported Resolutions and Frame Rates

Elgato · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-08 · due 2027-01-06

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Passthrough/capture distinction, USB/codec/software conditions and no capture of DSC video.

Not established / limitations: Page displays May 21, 2026 update. No complete matrix copied, no fixed universal capture ceiling, no device firmware or software installation inspected.

Locator: Input/Passthrough versus Capture definitions; Detailed Capture Codec Specifications; DSC

S453 · Blackmagic ATEM Mini Pro ISO — Product Technical Specifications

Blackmagic Design · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-08 · due 2027-01-06

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Four HDMI Type A inputs, one HDMI program output, one USB-C interface; no Ultra HD video standards.

Not established / limitations: Exact ATEM Mini Pro ISO, not Pro, Extreme, G2 or sibling products on the combined website. Total outputs is not HDMI-output count. USB mode list alone does not establish simultaneous webcam and external recording.

Locator: Model-specific PDF pages 1–2: Connections, labeled panel diagram, Standards

S493 · DVI2VGAE active DVI-D to VGA datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named active DVI-D source to VGA display path. Reverse operation is not established. Conflicting resolution labels are not used.

Not established / limitations: Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

Locator: PDF pages 1–2: direction, low-powered-port note, Hardware / AV Input / AV Output / Audio; page 2 visually inspected.

S518 · HDMI LA — Active cable power and direction

HDMI Licensing Administrator · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Feature-scoped active HDMI cable behavior. Not a universal prescription for all active converters.

Not established / limitations: Feature-scoped active HDMI cable behavior. Not a universal prescription for all active converters. Retrieval locators and observations retained; raw acquisition is recorded separately.

Locator: HDMI Cable Power requirements, direction paragraph and separate power connector

S606 · TE C-1747981 HDMI receptacle customer drawing

TE Connectivity · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-13 · due 2027-01-11

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 1747981-1 is linked by the sheet 1 table to the without-flange family view. Mouth, mounting features and PCB footprint are different views; no exact installed-device identity.

Not established / limitations: Not a hardware inspection, certification, pinout, dimensional mating check or blanket product-compatibility statement.

Locator: Rev H, 1 September 2022; sheet 1 variant table and sheet 6 without-flange form visually inspected.

S843 · 18/24/24+5 pin DVI-D, DVI-I, Single/Dual Link Female

Hatteland Technology · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-21 · due 2027-01-19

Within inspection window

Scoped support: The manufacturer distinguishes18/24 digital-interface contacts from24+5 integrated analog/digital arrangements and identifies analog-only additions. Its pictured dual-link connector does not guarantee that a named product implements dual-link.

Not established / limitations: Named manufacturer interface sheet; not current normative conformance or universal device capability. C013A also retains the existing DDWG specification S411. No new electrical contact assignments, dimensions or fabrication map imported. Sheet's pin21 color wording and resolution-specific statement are not generalized or reproduced.

Locator: Page1, title, user-POV note, DVI-I-only C1-C4 note and analog versus digital signal labels.

Trace 27 claims to their source records

C008A · P008

The familiar full-size HDMI connector is Type-A; Mini and Micro HDMI use different physical forms.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S018 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008B · P008

HDMI version labeling alone does not identify every optional feature implemented by a product.

Claim scope: Narrowly stated supporting distinction; not an end-to-end device guarantee

Source links: S012 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008C · P008

TE's cited Standard HDMI receptacle is a 19-position connector example, supporting a 19-contact engineering count for the full-size HDMI form without implying HDMI version or video capability.

Claim scope: Connector-form contact count supported by one manufacturer example; protocol/version capability explicitly excluded.

Source links: S365 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008D · P008

Elgato 4K X has one HDMI input for an unencrypted video source and one HDMI passthrough output to a display; captured video reaches a computer through a separate USB-C connection.

Claim scope: 4K X only; input/output direction must not be exchanged and the selected profile is not a full connector inventory.

Source links: S450 · S451 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008E · P008

Elgato separates supported 4K X HDMI passthrough signals from capture formats. Its detailed guidance says DSC video cannot be captured even when a passthrough image is visible.

Claim scope: DSC limitation and mode-selection boundary, not a diagnosis of every black capture frame or a universal HDMI limit.

Source links: S452 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008F · P008

The ATEM Mini Pro ISO specifies four HDMI Type A inputs and one HDMI program output; the separately listed total of two outputs is not a count of HDMI output sockets.

Claim scope: Exact Pro ISO Connections table and labeled panel diagram; not a sibling model’s connection count.

Source links: S453 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008G · P008

The ATEM Mini Pro ISO Standards table lists no Ultra HD video standards. Its description of finishing in Ultra HD via relinked media does not establish an Ultra HD HDMI input or output mode.

Claim scope: Pro ISO live video-interface standards versus post-production description; no new conversion or capture capability inferred.

Source links: S453 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008H · P008

HDMI Cable Power requires support from both the active cable and the HDMI source. HDMI LA specifies source/sink direction for active cables and a separate power connector for sources without Cable Power support.

Claim scope: HDMI Cable Power feature scope; follow the exact cable’s instructions. Not monitor power or a universal converter-power rule.

Source links: S518 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C008I · P008

TE drawing C-1747981 H maps 1747981-1 to a without-flange HDMI board-receptacle form and presents its mating face separately from the reference PCB layout.

Claim scope: V146: Named drawing family and suffix table only. The drawing does not establish an installed port’s input/output role or HDMI feature set.

Source links: S606 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C013A · P013

DVI-D single-link uses a digital-only contact layout distinct from dual-link and DVI-I.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S411 · S843 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C013B · P013

Dell distinguishes 18 grid contacts in single-link DVI cables from 24 in dual-link cables. The flat blade is a separate visual feature and is not included in this numbered-grid count.

Claim scope: Grid-count convention; not the total of all visible metal, connected conductors or PCB terminals.

Source links: S414 · S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C013C · P013

Molex distinguishes digital single-link, digital dual-link and analog cable families and states that plug contacts may be partially loaded according to the signal set.

Claim scope: Manufacturer cable-family scope. No complete single-link terminal assignment is supplied here.

Source links: S412 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014A · P014

DVI-D dual-link uses a fuller digital contact grid than single-link DVI-D.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S018 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014B · P014

DDWG DVI 1.0 Table 5-1 defines 24 numbered digital-only positions. Pin 8 is not connected in that table; positions 4/5, 12/13 and 20/21 carry the additional TMDS data pairs.

Claim scope: Full digital-only interface assignment from the named specification; not a guarantee that an exact device implements every signal.

Source links: S411 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014C · P014

Dell SE2416HM documentation shows a numbered 24-position DVI-D grid but labels positions 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 Floating. Its implementation must not be substituted into a universal dual-link pinout.

Claim scope: Exact manual table, page 44. Other source-specific labels remain separate from the DDWG table.

Source links: S413 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014D · P014

Dell documents E-Port docks with DVI connectors accepting dual-link-shaped cables but wired for single-link operation. It also identifies the source, cable, display and any adapter as separate dual-link requirements.

Claim scope: Named legacy dock example and documentation checklist, not a universal resolution limit or all-dock inventory.

Source links: S414 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C014E · P014

StarTech DVI2VGAE is an active adapter with DVI-D input and VGA output; the hardware table lists no audio.

Claim scope: Named direction and video-only conversion. The pictured DVI connector is a dual-link form; pin loading is not a resolution guarantee.

Source links: S493 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C334A · P334

StarTech DVI2VGAE documents active conversion from DVI-D input to VGA output. Its hardware table explicitly marks audio as unsupported and identifies a DVI-D dual-link contact form; the latter is not evidence of a dual-link video implementation.

Claim scope: DVI2VGAE exact conversion direction, audio boundary and physical form, pages 1–3.

Source links: S417 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C334B · P334

DVI2VGAE normally takes power through the DVI connection. The manufacturer provides a USB power option for low-powered DVI ports; the USB lead is described as supplying power, not transporting the video signal.

Claim scope: DVI2VGAE optional auxiliary-power path, pages 1–3. No USB data transport, charging standard or source power budget is inferred.

Source links: S417 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C334C · P334

The inspected DVI2VGAE sheet gives 1080p in its headline/features but 1920 × 1200 in the maximum-analog-resolution table. These differing statements are retained as a source conflict; no single maximum or refresh rate is selected.

Claim scope: DVI2VGAE unresolved operating-limit evidence, pages 1–2; confirmation of the exact supported timing remains required.

Source links: S417 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C334D · P334

DVI2VGAE lists a 190 mm attached cable and a separate 610 mm USB Type-A to Micro-B power cable. Those two lengths describe different paths and are not added into one video-cable reach.

Claim scope: DVI2VGAE cable and included-power-lead entries, pages 2–3; body dimensions and generic connector taxonomy remain separate.

Source links: S417 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C335A · P335

StarTech HDMIDVIMM6 is explicitly documented for bidirectional digital video: DVI output to HDMI display or HDMI output to DVI display. The hardware is classified passive and the DVI connector is specified as single-link.

Claim scope: HDMIDVIMM6 bidirectional digital-video applications and physical connector form, pages 1–3; no analog conversion inferred.

Source links: S418 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C335B · P335

HDMIDVIMM6 is the 6 ft / 1.8 m male-HDMI to male-DVI-D cable example. The inspected sheet does not specify an audio mode or a maximum resolution/refresh pair; the named length and bidirectionality do not establish those capabilities.

Claim scope: HDMIDVIMM6 exact cable length and documented-field boundary, pages 1–3; not a manufacturer-series or generic HDMI cable claim.

Source links: S418 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C336A · P336

StarTech DVI2HD lists DVI-D input and HDMI output for a computer-to-display path. Its DVI connector is described as a dual-link physical form; reverse operation, analog DVI-A input and implemented dual-link transport are not established by that description.

Claim scope: DVI2HD hardware and connector tables, pages 1–4; the explicit DVI-D AV-input entry bounds broad marketing wording.

Source links: S419 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C336B · P336

DVI2HD can add two-channel stereo from native USB audio on a Windows computer to the HDMI output. The sheet describes USB power and allows video-only use through the DVI connection; adding audio requires the separate USB connection.

Claim scope: DVI2HD separate USB audio/power path, pages 1–2. This is not evidence that an ordinary DVI-to-HDMI cable transports USB audio or that every operating system is supported.

Source links: S419 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C336C · P336

The DVI2HD performance table documents 1920 × 1080p at 60 Hz. Other listed resolutions have no individually stated refresh rates in the inspected sheet. This product entry is not a full timing or HDMI-feature compatibility guarantee.

Claim scope: DVI2HD performance entries, pages 2–3; named documented timing only, no computed maximum, HDCP or codec guarantee.

Source links: S419 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C336D · P336

DVI2HD lists a 17.8 cm cable length separately from a 25.0 cm whole-product length. The document describes audio integration but does not explicitly assign an active/passive classification; that classification remains not established here.

Claim scope: DVI2HD physical measurements and classification boundary, pages 2–4; no cable reach reconstructed from body dimensions.

Source links: S419 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.