FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P118 / Storage / Connector

eSATA 7-pin data connector

The seven-pin external SATA data form is documented on external storage cables; it is not a universal storage-power connection.

Also called external SATA e SATA 7 pin eSATA

External data and external power need separate evidence.

Look for

Look for the eSATA label and compare the external keyed housing with the device manual; do not substitute internal SATA by shape.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03, 2026-10-14 · Independent review pending

Image inspection / P118

See the view. Check its scope.

1 registered view for this reference. Different part examples are not automatically mates; all remain not to scale and independently unapproved.

eSATA / external cable end. Oblique shield envelope and molded cable body. Seven-pin identity comes from the source table. Individual contacts and hidden key geometry are not plotted. Original qualitative source study; no pinout. (private workspace)

P118 / Source-observed physical study

eSATA / external cable end

StarTech ESATA3 / named product photograph

Oblique photograph study / visible side only · Cable plug / cable end

Not to scale. Technical and rights review pending.

Inspect view & provenance (private workspace)
Inspect the illustrationFront-oriented outline study · larger view & look-alikes
eSATA 7-pin data connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
View Front-oriented outline studyDepiction Role not specifiedNot to scale · independent drawing review pending

Read the view

External SATA label and keyed opening

The lower-edge key features orient the sketch only; no rear view or installation direction is established.

About the marks: Dots are illustrative, not numbered interface assignments.

What it cannot establish: Do not substitute internal SATA or infer a power connection from this outline.

Enlargement changes display size only. It does not reveal measured geometry, a pin assignment or an approved mating combination.

Compare a likely look-alike

Read the underlying references: S094. Artwork interpretation remains review-pending.

How to read connector illustrations →

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

The seven-pin external SATA data form is documented on external storage cables; it is not a universal storage-power connection. [C118A]

The product is an external SATA storage data cable. [C118B]

The ESATA3 datasheet advertises a transfer rate up to 6 Gbps for this named external eSATA cable. [C118C]

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts7S094Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Connector roleplug (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.
ManufacturerStarTech.com (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.
SeriesExternal eSATA cable (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.
Exact part / implementationESATA3 (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.

Not recorded: Positions / cavity span, Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact pitch, Dimensions / axis, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Keying / polarization, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • SATA-IO external single-lane connector (historical draft assignment): Draft v0.108 p.148 §6.5.1 refers to Table 4 p.80. Neutral pair A/B names are retained. Rows 1-7 correspond to the S1-S7 signal segment. ARK-3440 Fig.2.8 shows a host mating face with 7 left, 1 right, but no signal table.
  • eSATA host plug: Numbered external plug contacts; Figure 94 is the RA SMT plug, Figure 95 a distinct reversed-pinout implementation. No universal board-tail mirror is claimed.
  • eSATA device plug: Numbered external plug contacts; Figure 94 is the RA SMT plug, Figure 95 a distinct reversed-pinout implementation. No universal board-tail mirror is claimed.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

eSATA 7-pin data connector facts and limitations
Documented identificationStarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends. [C118A]
Important distinctionThe product is an external SATA storage data cable. [C118B]
Named V153 component roleStarTech ESATA3 — External cable end. Named cable assembly; no power-delivery claim. [C118A] [C118B] [C118C]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Identify the exact enclosure data interface.
  2. Record the separate power arrangement from the enclosure manual.
  3. Do not extend this entry to powered-eSATA combination sockets.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

SATA-IO external single-lane connector (historical draft assignment)

View and evidence limits

Draft v0.108 p.148 §6.5.1 refers to Table 4 p.80. Neutral pair A/B names are retained. Rows 1-7 correspond to the S1-S7 signal segment. ARK-3440 Fig.2.8 shows a host mating face with 7 left, 1 right, but no signal table.

  • P118 eSATA — **Agree**: ground on S1/S4/S7, A+/A- on S2/S3, B-/B+ on S5/S6 — A uses an explicitly identified historical SATA-IO draft plus an Advantech face drawing. B retrieved public **SATA 3.0 Gold, June 2009**, including host/device assignments and separate physical implementations. That fills A's missing final-edition evidence for the historical interface. Same standards issuer and related editions, not independent issuers; no current-edition compliance or powered-eSATA map is claimed.
  • Documented in an official historical draft; not claimed as a current final standard. No universal TX/RX direction assigned to pair A/B.
  • Final licensed SATA specification was not obtained. ARK-3440 p.10 establishes the external face but omits signal assignments. Current final compliance and host/device TX/RX expansion remain unverified; eSATAp additional contacts are excluded.
eSATA 7-pin data connector engineering referenceDraft v0.108 p.148 §6.5.1 refers to Table 4 p.80. Neutral pair A/B names are retained. Rows 1-7 correspond to the S1-S7 signal segment. ARK-3440 Fig.2.8 shows a host mating face with 7 left, 1 right, but no signal table.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: GND (single_source)12: A+ (single_source)23: A- (single_source)34: GND (single_source)45: B- (single_source)56: B+ (single_source)67: GND (single_source)7powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
SATA-IO external single-lane connector (historical draft assignment) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
2A+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
3A-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
4GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
5B-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
6B+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
7GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
Sources (2)

eSATA host plug

View and evidence limits

Numbered external plug contacts; Figure 94 is the RA SMT plug, Figure 95 a distinct reversed-pinout implementation. No universal board-tail mirror is claimed.

  • P118 eSATA — **Agree**: ground on S1/S4/S7, A+/A- on S2/S3, B-/B+ on S5/S6 — A uses an explicitly identified historical SATA-IO draft plus an Advantech face drawing. B retrieved public **SATA 3.0 Gold, June 2009**, including host/device assignments and separate physical implementations. That fills A's missing final-edition evidence for the historical interface. Same standards issuer and related editions, not independent issuers; no current-edition compliance or powered-eSATA map is claimed.
  • eSATAp/USB combination power contacts and exact shell-to-board grounding are separate and unverified here.
eSATA 7-pin data connector engineering referenceNumbered external plug contacts; Figure 94 is the RA SMT plug, Figure 95 a distinct reversed-pinout implementation. No universal board-tail mirror is claimed.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manualS1: GND (single_source)S1S2: A+ (single_source)S2S3: A- (single_source)S3S4: GND (single_source)S4S5: B- (single_source)S5S6: B+ (single_source)S6S7: GND (single_source)S7powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
eSATA host plug — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
S1GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
S2A+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S3A-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S4GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
S5B-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S6B+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S7GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)
  • S745 · Serial ATA International Organization (SATA-IO) · Serial ATA Revision 3.0

    Gold Revision, June 2, 2009 · p. 82, section 6.1.3.2, Table 3 Signal and Power SATA Plug and Nominal Mate Sequence; p. 69, Figure 17 SATA Cable / Connector Connection Diagram; p. 149 section 6.5.1 opposite host/device definitions; pp. 149-153, section 6.5.1; Figure 93 cable receptacle, Figure 94 RA SMT plug and Figure 95 reversed-pinout version

eSATA device plug

View and evidence limits

Numbered external plug contacts; Figure 94 is the RA SMT plug, Figure 95 a distinct reversed-pinout implementation. No universal board-tail mirror is claimed.

  • P118 eSATA — **Agree**: ground on S1/S4/S7, A+/A- on S2/S3, B-/B+ on S5/S6 — A uses an explicitly identified historical SATA-IO draft plus an Advantech face drawing. B retrieved public **SATA 3.0 Gold, June 2009**, including host/device assignments and separate physical implementations. That fills A's missing final-edition evidence for the historical interface. Same standards issuer and related editions, not independent issuers; no current-edition compliance or powered-eSATA map is claimed.
  • eSATAp/USB combination power contacts and exact shell-to-board grounding are separate and unverified here.
eSATA 7-pin data connector engineering referenceNumbered external plug contacts; Figure 94 is the RA SMT plug, Figure 95 a distinct reversed-pinout implementation. No universal board-tail mirror is claimed.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manualS1: GND (single_source)S1S2: A+ (single_source)S2S3: A- (single_source)S3S4: GND (single_source)S4S5: B- (single_source)S5S6: B+ (single_source)S6S7: GND (single_source)S7powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
eSATA device plug — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
S1GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
S2A+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S3A-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S4GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
S5B-Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S6B+Control, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Single source
Sources
S7GNDGround reference and return.Single source
Sources
Sources (1)
  • S745 · Serial ATA International Organization (SATA-IO) · Serial ATA Revision 3.0

    Gold Revision, June 2, 2009 · p. 82, section 6.1.3.2, Table 3 Signal and Power SATA Plug and Nominal Mate Sequence; p. 69, Figure 17 SATA Cable / Connector Connection Diagram; p. 149 section 6.5.1 opposite host/device definitions; pp. 149-153, section 6.5.1; Figure 93 cable receptacle, Figure 94 RA SMT plug and Figure 95 reversed-pinout version

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

ESATA3: a cable with two eSATA ends.

The source identifies both ends as seven-pin eSATA. The qualitative study follows one visible oblique cable end; it is not a receptacle face or pin-number map. The advertised rate belongs to this cable’s documentation, not every similar connector or a measured storage system.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C118ASource checked · pending review

StarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends.

StarTech.com · ESATA3 external storage cable — connectors ↗

Locator: Connector(s); Product Description
Access: public page. Product speed and mechanical-life ratings are not universal limits; no powered-eSATA or power adapter approval.

S094: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C118BSource checked · pending review

The product is an external SATA storage data cable.

StarTech.com · ESATA3 external storage cable — connectors ↗

Locator: Connector(s); Product Description
Access: public page. Product speed and mechanical-life ratings are not universal limits; no powered-eSATA or power adapter approval.

S094: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C118CSource checked · pending review

The ESATA3 datasheet advertises a transfer rate up to 6 Gbps for this named external eSATA cable.

StarTech.com · ESATA3 external eSATA cable — manufacturer datasheet ↗

Locator: Page 1: Product ID, oblique cable-end photograph and Features. Page 2: Connector(s) table. Both pages rendered and inspected.
Access: public pdf text. No issue date established. Product width/height are not mating dimensions. Unusual environmental rows and inconsistent product/package weights are not promoted. No power-delivery, powered-eSATA or pinout inference.

S637: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Manufacturer cable-assembly claim only, not measured system throughput or the capability of every seven-pin connector. No device power or powered-eSATA capability is established.. Next review due 2027-01-12.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: Internal SATA data versus eSATA

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

NAMED COMPONENT / ROLE AND SCOPE

ESATA3: a cable with two eSATA ends.

The source identifies both ends as seven-pin eSATA. The qualitative study follows one visible oblique cable end; it is not a receptacle face or pin-number map. The advertised rate belongs to this cable’s documentation, not every similar connector or a measured storage system.

eSATA / external cable end. Oblique shield envelope and molded cable body. Seven-pin identity comes from the source table. Individual contacts and hidden key geometry are not plotted. Original qualitative source study; no pinout.
StarTech ESATA3 / named product photograph
Cable end, not a board receptacle · View, source and omissions (private workspace)
Read the source evidence and scope
  1. StarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends. C118A

    Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

    S094 · StarTech.com ↗

  2. The product is an external SATA storage data cable. C118B

    Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

    S094 · StarTech.com ↗

  3. The ESATA3 datasheet advertises a transfer rate up to 6 Gbps for this named external eSATA cable. C118C

    Manufacturer cable-assembly claim only, not measured system throughput or the capability of every seven-pin connector. No device power or powered-eSATA capability is established.

    S637 · StarTech.com ↗

Read the storage component recognition reference →

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 3 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S094 · ESATA3 external storage cable — connectors

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Seven-pin eSATA end forms on an external storage data cable.

Not established / limitations: Product speed and mechanical-life ratings are not universal limits; no powered-eSATA or power adapter approval.

Locator: Connector(s); Product Description

S637 · ESATA3 external eSATA cable — manufacturer datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-14 · due 2027-01-12

Within inspection window

Scoped support: ESATA3 named shielded cable assembly. Seven-pin ends and advertised up-to-6-Gbps transfer statement, not a universal interface or system guarantee.

Not established / limitations: No issue date established. Product width/height are not mating dimensions. Unusual environmental rows and inconsistent product/package weights are not promoted. No power-delivery, powered-eSATA or pinout inference.

Locator: Page 1: Product ID, oblique cable-end photograph and Features. Page 2: Connector(s) table. Both pages rendered and inspected.

Trace 3 claims to their source records

C118A · P118

StarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S094 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C118B · P118

The product is an external SATA storage data cable.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S094 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C118C · P118

The ESATA3 datasheet advertises a transfer rate up to 6 Gbps for this named external eSATA cable.

Claim scope: Manufacturer cable-assembly claim only, not measured system throughput or the capability of every seven-pin connector. No device power or powered-eSATA capability is established.

Source links: S637 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.