FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

Internal SATA data versus eSATA

External data cabling does not establish the device power arrangement.

Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P029 · ConnectorSATA 7-pin data connector
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P118 · ConnectoreSATA 7-pin data connector

How they differ

  • SATA 7-pin data connector Look for the narrow, keyed data connection. Read the device service guidance before opening equipment; the atlas provides recognition, not a repair procedure.
  • eSATA 7-pin data connector Look for the eSATA label and compare the external keyed housing with the device manual; do not substitute internal SATA by shape.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
FieldSATA 7-pin data connectoreSATA 7-pin data connector
TypeConnectorConnector
FamilyStorageStorage
Shapekeyedkeyed
Nominal contacts7S032 · S193Serial ATA data connector reference; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Serial ATA data connector reference7S094Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Positions / cavity span7 (Claim C029B)S193Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Named product example only; contact count plus example pitch, excluding full SATA pin assignment and mating tolerancesNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rows1 (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector roleNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.plug (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.
Key distinctionA data connector is not a power connector.External data and external power need separate evidence.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Connector records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: Storage

Look here first

Spot the difference.

Read the views →

Not a size comparison. Illustrations fit the same display boxes; their physical dimensions are not shown to a common scale. No mating or compatibility verdict follows.

SATA 7-pin data connector: Narrow seven-position data family. Drive-facing female cable-plug opening concept; qualitative L-shaped key. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide.

P029 / Front-oriented outline

SATA 7-pin data connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Narrow keyed opening, not the separate power section

Copper-colored marks are illustrative, not numbered contacts.

Still check: The sketch does not show the complete drive-side data-and-power assembly.

eSATA 7-pin data connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P118 / Front-oriented outline study

eSATA 7-pin data connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: External SATA label and keyed opening

Dots are illustrative, not numbered interface assignments.

Still check: Do not substitute internal SATA or infer a power connection from this outline.

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

2 selected records · 18 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
SATA 7-pin data connector: Narrow seven-position data family. Drive-facing female cable-plug opening concept; qualitative L-shaped key. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide.
P029 / ConnectorSATA 7-pin data connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

eSATA 7-pin data connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P118 / ConnectoreSATA 7-pin data connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

LayerConnectorConnector
Key distinctionA data connector is not a power connector.External data and external power need separate evidence.
Nominal contacts7S032 · S193Serial ATA data connector reference; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Serial ATA data connector reference7S094Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Positions / cavity span7 (Claim C029B)S193Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Named product example only; contact count plus example pitch, excluding full SATA pin assignment and mating tolerancesNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Populated contacts7 (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rows1 (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact pitch1.27 mm Example product pitch (Recorded example component); 1.27 mm Source-described pitch / centerline (Claim C029B)S193Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. example_component; Serial ATA data connector reference Named product example only; contact count plus example pitch, excluding full SATA pin assignment and mating tolerancesNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Dimensions / axisNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector roleNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.plug (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.
Coupling / latchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Keying / polarizationmanufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Function coveredSATA data connectorC029ANot an equivalent field
Contacts7; no pin assignment providedC029ANot an equivalent field
Exact-board resource sharingAC-HES example: populating M.2_2 disables SATA6G_56, not every SATA connector.C029CNot an equivalent field
Documented identificationNot an equivalent fieldStarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends.C118A
Important distinctionNot an equivalent fieldThe product is an external SATA storage data cable.C118B
Named V153 component roleNot an equivalent fieldStarTech ESATA3 — External cable end. Named cable assembly; no power-delivery claim.C118A · C118B · C118C
EvidenceC029A,C029C,C029D →
Independent review pending
C118A,C118B,C118C →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Connector
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Connector

Key distinction

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
A data connector is not a power connector.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
External data and external power need separate evidence.

Nominal contacts

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
7S032 · S193Serial ATA data connector reference; nominal engineering count, not automatically positions, population or a device wiring map. Serial ATA data connector reference
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
7S094Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.

Positions / cavity span

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
7 (Claim C029B)S193Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Named product example only; contact count plus example pitch, excluding full SATA pin assignment and mating tolerances
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Populated contacts

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
7 (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact rows

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
1 (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact pitch

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
1.27 mm Example product pitch (Recorded example component); 1.27 mm Source-described pitch / centerline (Claim C029B)S193Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. example_component; Serial ATA data connector reference Named product example only; contact count plus example pitch, excluding full SATA pin assignment and mating tolerances
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Dimensions / axis

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Connector role

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
plug (ESATA3)S637Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. ESATA3. Documented role: plug. Productwidth15mm andheight9mm describe assembly without endpoint-specific view,so not counted as connector dimensions.; Currenttable temperature20to80C andstorage23to25C appear unusual; no thermal generalization adopted.; Cable length andpackaging sizes excluded from geometry; pitch/rows still not established.

Coupling / latch

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Keying / polarization

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
manufacturer reports keyed and polarized to mating part (0678005021)S193Separate exact examples; retain each value’s source, role, axis and part scope. Exact named example 0678005021: Seven-circuit Serial ATA PCB header. Exact example only; no universal geometry, electrical compatibility, fabrication approval or wiring instruction. No physical wiring layout is reconstructed from product attributes; manufacturer labels online information limited.
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Function covered

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
SATA data connectorC029A
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Contacts

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
7; no pin assignment providedC029A
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Exact-board resource sharing

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
AC-HES example: populating M.2_2 disables SATA6G_56, not every SATA connector.C029C
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
Not an equivalent field

Documented identification

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
StarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends.C118A

Important distinction

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
The product is an external SATA storage data cable.C118B

Named V153 component role

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
Not an equivalent field
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
StarTech ESATA3 — External cable end. Named cable assembly; no power-delivery claim.C118A · C118B · C118C

Evidence

SATA 7-pin data connectorP029 / Connector
C029A,C029C,C029D →
Independent review pending
eSATA 7-pin data connectorP118 / Connector
C118A,C118B,C118C →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

5 linked sources · 6 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 5 source scopes, access limits and dates

S032 · SATA18 data cable

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-07 · due 2027-01-05

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Seven-contact SATA data connector, not the separate power connector.

Not established / limitations: Exact SATA18 product description only. Seven-contact data receptacles do not establish separate SATA power wiring. No universal rate, length, dimensional or mating guarantee is adopted.

Locator: PDF p. 1: two seven-contact data receptacles; p. 3: Connector(s) table, visually inspected.

S094 · ESATA3 external storage cable — connectors

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Seven-pin eSATA end forms on an external storage data cable.

Not established / limitations: Product speed and mechanical-life ratings are not universal limits; no powered-eSATA or power adapter approval.

Locator: Connector(s); Product Description

S429 · PRIME B550-PLUS AC-HES User’s Manual

ASUS · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-08 · due 2027-01-06

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Selected storage and PCIe slot roles for PRIME B550-PLUS AC-HES only, with CPU, slot population and SATA-sharing conditions.

Not established / limitations: Not the ordinary PRIME B550-PLUS or every B550 motherboard. Selected internal groups only; no current BIOS verification, boot qualification, entire port inventory or hardware test. Manual conditions must not be generalized.

Locator: E18712, First Edition, July 2021; specification summary printed vi–vii and layout 1-2. PDF pages 2, 6, 7 and 12 visually inspected.

S492 · USB3S2SAT3CB USB to SATA adapter datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named 2.5-inch SATA adapter and explicit 3.5-inch drive exclusion. SAS support is not established.

Not established / limitations: Named example only. No universal compatibility or publication approval. Raw-byte acquisition status is recorded separately.

Locator: PDF page 2: drive-size exclusion and compatibility paragraphs; visually inspected.

S637 · ESATA3 external eSATA cable — manufacturer datasheet

StarTech.com · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-14 · due 2027-01-12

Within inspection window

Scoped support: ESATA3 named shielded cable assembly. Seven-pin ends and advertised up-to-6-Gbps transfer statement, not a universal interface or system guarantee.

Not established / limitations: No issue date established. Product width/height are not mating dimensions. Unusual environmental rows and inconsistent product/package weights are not promoted. No power-delivery, powered-eSATA or pinout inference.

Locator: Page 1: Product ID, oblique cable-end photograph and Features. Page 2: Connector(s) table. Both pages rendered and inspected.

Trace 6 claims to their source records

C029A · P029

SATA data cables use a seven-contact connector distinct from the separate power connection.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S032 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C029C · P029

The PRIME B550-PLUS AC-HES manual states that populating M.2_2 disables the SATA6G_56 ports. Its condition is not limited in that note to installing a SATA-mode M.2 SSD.

Claim scope: E18712 printed vii, exact board, M.2_2 and SATA6G_56 labels; not a rule for other boards or other slots.

Source links: S429 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C029D · P029

StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB supports 2.5-inch SATA SSD/HDD use and explicitly excludes 3.5-inch hard drives.

Claim scope: Named USB-to-SATA adapter. Do not generalize this product limitation to every powered SATA dock or infer SAS support.

Source links: S492 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C118A · P118

StarTech ESATA3 specifies seven-pin eSATA connectors at both ends.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S094 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C118B · P118

The product is an external SATA storage data cable.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S094 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C118C · P118

The ESATA3 datasheet advertises a transfer rate up to 6 Gbps for this named external eSATA cable.

Claim scope: Manufacturer cable-assembly claim only, not measured system throughput or the capability of every seven-pin connector. No device power or powered-eSATA capability is established.

Source links: S637 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.