FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

Telephone modular forms

Positions, populated contacts and port role are separate observations.

Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P111 · Connector6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P112 · Connector6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P113 · Connector4-position modular handset form

How they differ

  • 6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11) Record the six-position housing and the actual populated contacts; RJ11 wording by itself is not a complete wiring description.
  • 6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12) Compare the six populated contacts with the six-position housing; keep the port role separate from this observation.
  • 4-position modular handset form Inspect the disconnected handset lead and its four-position housing. Confirm actual populated contacts in the equipment documentation.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
Field6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)4-position modular handset form
TypeConnectorConnectorConnector
FamilyTelephoneTelephoneTelephone
Shapemodularmodularmodular
Nominal contacts4S091Four populated contacts in a six-position housing; this is not a six-contact observation.6S091Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Positions / cavity span6 (Claim C111A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval6 (Claim C112A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval4 (Claim C113A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
Contact rowsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector roleplug (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.plug (135-0341)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0341. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.plug (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
Key distinctionCount positions and contacts separately.Same position count can hide a different populated layout.Handset and telephone-line connections are different questions.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Connector records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: Telephone

Look here first

Spot the difference.

Read the views →

Not a size comparison. Illustrations fit the same display boxes; their physical dimensions are not shown to a common scale. No mating or compatibility verdict follows.

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11): Narrower six-position body, four populated contacts. Cable-end exterior front/underside concept; latch indicated, not a wiring view. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide.

P111 / Front-oriented modular sketch

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)

Role not specified

Visible clue: Four filled contact marks within a six-position outline

Filled versus unfilled marks illustrate population, not wire order.

Still check: The RJ11 trade label does not establish a complete wiring or equipment-role description.

6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12) — front-oriented modular sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P112 / Front-oriented modular sketch

6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)

Role not specified

Visible clue: Six filled contact marks within a six-position outline

Contact population is separate from signal assignment.

Still check: A shared housing is not proof of the same wiring, service or device role.

4-position modular handset form — housing-only modular symbol; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P113 / Housing-only modular symbol

4-position modular handset form

Role not specified

Visible clue: Read the four-position housing label, not a contact pattern

The contact area is deliberately blank; do not infer four populated contacts.

Still check: No populated contacts are depicted. This cannot establish handset wiring or a telephone-line connection.

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

3 selected records · 14 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11): Narrower six-position body, four populated contacts. Cable-end exterior front/underside concept; latch indicated, not a wiring view. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide.
P111 / Connector6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12) — front-oriented modular sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P112 / Connector6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

4-position modular handset form — housing-only modular symbol; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P113 / Connector4-position modular handset form

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

LayerConnectorConnectorConnector
Key distinctionCount positions and contacts separately.Same position count can hide a different populated layout.Handset and telephone-line connections are different questions.
Nominal contacts4S091Four populated contacts in a six-position housing; this is not a six-contact observation.6S091Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Positions / cavity span6 (Claim C111A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval6 (Claim C112A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval4 (Claim C113A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
Populated contactsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rowsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact pitchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.1.02 mm Manufacturer Pitch-Mating Interface (Molex 955012441 board jack)S982Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. Exact Molex 95501-2441 right-angle 4P4C board jack; manufacturer mating-interface pitch only, separate from any unidentified handset plug.
Dimensions / axisNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector roleplug (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.plug (135-0341)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0341. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.plug (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
Coupling / latchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Keying / polarizationNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Documented identificationC2G describes common RJ11 trade usage as a six-position, four-conductor modular form.C111AThe guide identifies the common RJ12 form as six positions with six conductors in one row.C112AThe C2G guide describes a four-position modular form used on telephone handsets.C113A
Important distinctionThat physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement.C111BIts documented uses extend beyond a single uniform telephone application.C112BIt notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation.C113B
EvidenceC111A,C111B →
Independent review pending
C112A,C112B →
Independent review pending
C113A,C113B,C113W →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Connector

Key distinction

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Count positions and contacts separately.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Same position count can hide a different populated layout.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Handset and telephone-line connections are different questions.

Nominal contacts

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
4S091Four populated contacts in a six-position housing; this is not a six-contact observation.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
6S091Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Positions / cavity span

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
6 (Claim C111A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
6 (Claim C112A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
4 (Claim C113A)S091Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Populated contacts

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact rows

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact pitch

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
1.02 mm Manufacturer Pitch-Mating Interface (Molex 955012441 board jack)S982Current primary-source scoped values; named examples remain separate and unknowns are not inferred from illustrations. Exact Molex 95501-2441 right-angle 4P4C board jack; manufacturer mating-interface pitch only, separate from any unidentified handset plug.

Dimensions / axis

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Connector role

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
plug (135-0337)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0337. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
plug (135-0341)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0341. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
plug (135-0324)S923Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 135-0324. Documented role: plug. Flat26AWG is accepted wire, not connector pitch or housing dimension. Generic4–8position wording does not transfer8position non-keyed attribute to other forms.

Coupling / latch

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Keying / polarization

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Documented identification

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
C2G describes common RJ11 trade usage as a six-position, four-conductor modular form.C111A
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
The guide identifies the common RJ12 form as six positions with six conductors in one row.C112A
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
The C2G guide describes a four-position modular form used on telephone handsets.C113A

Important distinction

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
That physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement.C111B
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
Its documented uses extend beyond a single uniform telephone application.C112B
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
It notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation.C113B

Evidence

6P4C modular plug (often sold as RJ11)P111 / Connector
C111A,C111B →
Independent review pending
6P6C modular plug (often sold as RJ12)P112 / Connector
C112A,C112B →
Independent review pending
4-position modular handset formP113 / Connector
C113A,C113B,C113W →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 7 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S091 · Modular connector identification guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 6P6C, common 6P4C trade naming, and the four-position handset form.

Not established / limitations: Trade names are not exact registered-jack wiring declarations. No telephone voltage, line count, crimping or network-speed inference.

Locator: 6-pin RJ-12; 4-pin RJ-11; RJ-22

S982 · Molex 95501 modular-jack series chart, exact4/4,6/4,6/6,8/8 variants

Molex · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Exact named right-angle board-jack rows only; no plug-role geometry transfer.

Not established / limitations: P111/P112 are plug records, so jack values are counterpart context only and excluded from their pitch numerator. Port Configuration1x1 is not contact-row count. No Number of Rows field or inspected face drawing on this chart.

Locator: Full Export Spreadsheet table: exact955012441,955012641,955012661,955012881 rows. Web Description identifies modular JACK; Pitch-Mating Interface1.02 mm differs from Pitch-Termination Interface1.27 mm; Positions/Loaded Contacts4/4,6/4,6/6,8/8.

Trace 7 claims to their source records

C111A · P111

C2G describes common RJ11 trade usage as a six-position, four-conductor modular form.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C111B · P111

That physical description is different from specifying a registered-jack wiring arrangement.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C112A · P112

The guide identifies the common RJ12 form as six positions with six conductors in one row.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C112B · P112

Its documented uses extend beyond a single uniform telephone application.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C113A · P113

The C2G guide describes a four-position modular form used on telephone handsets.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C113B · P113

It notes that RJ22 is an unofficial designation.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S091 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C113W · P113

Molex identifies 95501-2441 as a right-angle 4P4C modular jack. Its chart separates 1.02 mm mating-interface pitch from 1.27 mm termination-interface pitch.

Claim scope: Exact Molex 95501-2441 right-angle 4P4C board jack; manufacturer mating-interface pitch only, separate from any unidentified handset plug.

Source links: S982 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.