FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

FireWire: 4-pin, 6-pin and 9-pin

Compare the end forms; document power and software support independently.

Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P105 · ConnectorFireWire 4-pin connector
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P106 · ConnectorFireWire 6-pin connector
FireWire 9-pin connector: original recognition drawing, not to scale
P107 · ConnectorFireWire 9-pin connector

How they differ

  • FireWire 4-pin connector Look for the compact rectangular shell with a bottom notch; compare the port label and four-contact form in the manual.
  • FireWire 6-pin connector Compare the beveled end of the shell and six-contact arrangement; do not use trial insertion to identify it.
  • FireWire 9-pin connector Check the squared rectangular housing and the documented nine-contact form, rather than assuming any rectangular socket is USB.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
FieldFireWire 4-pin connectorFireWire 6-pin connectorFireWire 9-pin connector
TypeConnectorConnectorConnector
FamilyFireWireFireWireFireWire
Shaperectangularchamferedrectangular
Nominal contacts4S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.6S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.9S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Positions / cavity spanNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rowsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector roleplug (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.socket (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.plug (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.
Key distinctionFour contacts do not make it USB.Identify the generation, then verify the power arrangement.A different end does not establish software support.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Connector records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: FireWire

Look here first

Spot the difference.

Read the views →

Not a size comparison. Illustrations fit the same display boxes; their physical dimensions are not shown to a common scale. No mating or compatibility verdict follows.

FireWire 4-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P105 / Front-oriented outline study

FireWire 4-pin connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Rectangular outline with a small lower-edge notch feature

Unnumbered dots are illustrative marks, not pin positions or wiring.

Still check: The dots are not a verified contact arrangement, and this face does not establish a cable power path.

FireWire 6-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P106 / Front-oriented outline study

FireWire 6-pin connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Beveled end on the right of the shell

The dot arrangement is not an actual contact map.

Still check: Use the exact device and cable documentation for power and supported operation, not this outline.

FireWire 9-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P107 / Front-oriented outline study

FireWire 9-pin connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Rectangular FireWire family outline

Dots identify neither numbered assignments nor the real contact placement.

Still check: The nine-position family name does not make the rounded sketch an accurate key, gauge or contact-face reference.

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

3 selected records · 14 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
FireWire 4-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P105 / ConnectorFireWire 4-pin connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

FireWire 6-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P106 / ConnectorFireWire 6-pin connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

FireWire 9-pin connector — front-oriented outline study; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P107 / ConnectorFireWire 9-pin connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

LayerConnectorConnectorConnector
Key distinctionFour contacts do not make it USB.Identify the generation, then verify the power arrangement.A different end does not establish software support.
Nominal contacts4S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.6S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.9S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Positions / cavity spanNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Populated contactsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rowsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact pitchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.2 mm manufacturer-labelled centerline (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Dimensions / axisNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.3.18 mm termination post/tail length (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Connector roleplug (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.socket (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.plug (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.
Coupling / latchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Keying / polarizationNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Documented identificationThe FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing.C105AThe six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end.C106AFireWire 800 uses a nine-contact connector with a rectangular shell.C107A
Important distinctionThe four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.C105BThe six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.C106BThe guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory.C107B
EvidenceC105A,C105B,C105C,C883A →
Independent review pending
C106A,C106B,C883B →
Independent review pending
C107A,C107B,C107C →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Connector
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Connector
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Connector

Key distinction

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Four contacts do not make it USB.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Identify the generation, then verify the power arrangement.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
A different end does not establish software support.

Nominal contacts

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
4S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
6S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
9S088Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.

Positions / cavity span

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Populated contacts

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact rows

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact pitch

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
2 mm manufacturer-labelled centerline (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Dimensions / axis

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
3.18 mm termination post/tail length (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Connector role

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
plug (1394_44_6)S938Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_44_6. Documented role: plug. Cablelength1828.8mm and packaging sizes are not connector geometry.; TE2011presentation also read:4pin PCB products have DIP/SMT/FPC options,M1.6/M2.1mounting screws and0.8/1.6mmPCBoptions; these are not exact cable-plug pitch or envelope.; No contact-row count,dimension,printedmark or exact receptacle part could be verified from accessible primary mechanical material.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
socket (1734290-2)S909Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1734290-2. Documented role: socket. Exact vertical6-position THT receptacle only;2.1mm minimumPCB thickness excluded from connector geometry.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
plug (1394_99_6)S939Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 1394_99_6. Documented role: plug. Manufacturer generic compatibility statement is not repeated as universal device/cable approval.; No shell axes or contact pitch verified. TE2011presentation names9pin1394b but provides only image geometry; directPDF403 prevented localview.

Coupling / latch

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Keying / polarization

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Documented identification

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
The FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing.C105A
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
The six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end.C106A
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
FireWire 800 uses a nine-contact connector with a rectangular shell.C107A

Important distinction

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.C105B
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.C106B
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
The guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory.C107B

Evidence

FireWire 4-pin connectorP105 / Connector
C105A,C105B,C105C,C883A →
Independent review pending
FireWire 6-pin connectorP106 / Connector
C106A,C106B,C883B →
Independent review pending
FireWire 9-pin connectorP107 / Connector
C107A,C107B,C107C →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

3 linked sources · 10 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 3 source scopes, access limits and dates

S088 · FireWire connector guide — physical forms

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 4-, 6- and 9-contact forms; the 4-pin form omits bus power.

Not established / limitations: Legacy identification text only; no current OS support, converter recommendation or promised transfer rate.

Locator: 4-Pin Connector; 6-Pin Connector; 9-Pin Connector

S642 · i.LINK cable selection, power and rate limits

Sony · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-14 · due 2027-01-12

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Documented 4-to-4 and 4-to-6 cable identifiers; four-contact power boundary and slowest-device rate statement.

Not established / limitations: Article is limited to applicable products/operating systems. Not current availability, universal camcorder coverage, USB conversion or present-day OS/driver/capture support. Third-party compatibility not verified.

Locator: Displayed article ID 00006752, modified 2024-11-01; cable part-number list and NOTES. URL suffix differs from displayed ID.

S883 · EX-16600 Manual / Anleitung

EXSYS · Unclassified publisher domain · inspected 2026-10-22 · due 2027-01-20

Within inspection window

Scoped support: EX-16600 named-card4-pin / 6-pin FireWire1394a socket assignments only.

Not established / limitations: 6-pin1 is called Power without a voltage/current here. Numeric socket figures are recorded as printed; no solder-tail/cable-rear mirror inferred. Printed date is preserved verbatim.

Locator: PDF p. 2, printed p. 2, ANSCHLÜSSE:6-PinFireWire1394aBuchse and4-PinFireWire1394aBuchse numbered tables/illustrations; corresponding EnglishCONNECTORS on PDF p. 1, printed p. 5

Trace 10 claims to their source records

C105A · P105

The FireWire 4-pin connector has four contacts and a notched rectangular housing.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C105B · P105

The four-pin FireWire connection carries data without bus power.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C105C · P105

Sony identifies VMC-IL4415 as a four-to-four-pin i.LINK cable and VMC-IL4615 as a four-to-six-pin cable, directing selection to the device manuals.

Claim scope: Named legacy cable identifiers in the displayed 2024 article. Not current stock, third-party approval or support for an arbitrary capture setup.

Source links: S642 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C106A · P106

The six-pin FireWire form is larger than the four-pin form and has beveled corners at one end.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C106B · P106

The six-pin interface includes DC power as well as data.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C107A · P107

FireWire 800 uses a nine-contact connector with a rectangular shell.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C107B · P107

The guide describes nine-pin to earlier FireWire adaptations; that does not verify a particular host or accessory.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S088 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C107C · P107

Sony states that an i.LINK connection operates at the speed of its slowest connected device.

Claim scope: Scoped legacy support statement, not a measured transfer rate or a promise of present-day host, driver or software compatibility.

Source links: S642 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C883A · P105

EXSYS EX-16600 external 4-pin FireWire1394a socket: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope.

Claim scope: Only the named implementation and explicit numbered rows; no universal family claim, independent confirmation, hardware verification or fabrication approval.

Source links: S883 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C883B · P106

EXSYS EX-16600 six-pin FireWire1394a sockets: exact numbered manufacturer contact normalization. Device-specific source-backed research only; see per-contact source and scope.

Claim scope: Only the named implementation and explicit numbered rows; no universal family claim, independent confirmation, hardware verification or fabrication approval.

Source links: S883 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.