FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P109 / Video / Connector

4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video form)

The four-pin Mini-DIN form associated with S-Video is distinct from the six-pin PS/2 form.

Also called S Video SVideo 4 pin mini DIN Y C video

Same broad outline, different contact arrangement.

Look for

Compare four positions arranged in two rows and the key block. This record does not cover every proprietary multi-pin video socket.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03 · Independent review pending

Image inspection / P109

See the view. Check its scope.

1 registered view for this reference. Different part examples are not automatically mates; all remain not to scale and independently unapproved.

4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video form): Four-position keyed Mini-DIN S-Video form. Cable-end plug concept with separate number tokens; no socket-side pin array. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide. (private workspace)

P109 / Inherited recognition study

4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video form)

4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video form)

Cable-end plug concept with separate number tokens; no socket-side pin array · Cable plug / cable end

Not to scale. Technical and rights review pending.

Inspect view & provenance (private workspace)

Visual atlas / P109 / 2026

Recognize the right physical clue.

FIGURE · REVIEW PENDING
4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video form): Four-position keyed Mini-DIN S-Video form. Cable-end plug concept with separate number tokens; no socket-side pin array. Qualitative source-linked recognition study, not a pinout or a dimensional guide.
Cable-end plug. Cable-end plug concept with separate number tokens; no socket-side pin array.

What to look for

Four-position keyed Mini-DIN S-Video form

What the drawing does not prove

Number of positions appears as a label; the relative pin layout is deliberately omitted.

A circular shell does not identify keyboard, mouse or video service. Never force a similarly shaped plug.

No fabrication dimensions, conductor routing, guaranteed fit or device approval. For electrical, power and optical interfaces, follow the original equipment instructions.

Figure evidence, orientation & usage rights

Uses previously recorded V112 manufacturer claim/source inspections; October 2026 supplementary public-source spot checks are documented separately, not treated as a refreshed approval.

Original Port & Cable interpretive vector, no third-party photo, copied CAD, logo or vendor drawing. Third-party product photos, logos and source drawings are not redistributed. No independent technical or rights certification is claimed.

Original claim identifiers: C109A (private workspace) · C109B (private workspace). Legacy evidence dates and rights assessments remain as recorded.

The useful distinction

Recognize it. Then verify it.

The four-pin Mini-DIN form associated with S-Video is distinct from the six-pin PS/2 form. [C109A]

S-Video separates luminance and chrominance signals. [C109B]

Source-scoped identification facts

Each value retains its exact example, role and measurement axis. Facts from different parts must not be combined into an invented component.

Documented examples; not a mating drawing or compatibility approval
Nominal contacts4S089Nominal contact count; some implementations may omit populated positions. It is not a wiring map.
Dimensions / axis16.51 mm manufacturer-labelled connector height (5749263-1); 12.83 mm manufacturer-labelled product length (5749263-1); 14 mm manufacturer-labelled product width (5749263-1)S908Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5749263-1. Documented role: socket. Catalog6.5mm centerline lacks contact-axis interpretation; withheld from normalized pitch.; 5749263-1 page swaps height/length relative to6/8position pages; values retained exactly labelled, not silently corrected. Drawing comparison remains needed.
Connector rolesocket (5749263-1)S908Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5749263-1. Documented role: socket. Catalog6.5mm centerline lacks contact-axis interpretation; withheld from normalized pitch.; 5749263-1 page swaps height/length relative to6/8position pages; values retained exactly labelled, not silently corrected. Drawing comparison remains needed.
Keying / polarizationMating polarization; right-angle boardmount receptacle (5749263-1)S908Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5749263-1. Documented role: socket. Catalog6.5mm centerline lacks contact-axis interpretation; withheld from normalized pitch.; 5749263-1 page swaps height/length relative to6/8position pages; values retained exactly labelled, not silently corrected. Drawing comparison remains needed.
ManufacturerTE Connectivity (5749263-1)S908Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5749263-1. Documented role: socket. Catalog6.5mm centerline lacks contact-axis interpretation; withheld from normalized pitch.; 5749263-1 page swaps height/length relative to6/8position pages; values retained exactly labelled, not silently corrected. Drawing comparison remains needed.
SeriesCircular Mini DIN (5749263-1)S908Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5749263-1. Documented role: socket. Catalog6.5mm centerline lacks contact-axis interpretation; withheld from normalized pitch.; 5749263-1 page swaps height/length relative to6/8position pages; values retained exactly labelled, not silently corrected. Drawing comparison remains needed.
Exact part / implementation5749263-1 (5749263-1)S908Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5749263-1. Documented role: socket. Catalog6.5mm centerline lacks contact-axis interpretation; withheld from normalized pitch.; 5749263-1 page swaps height/length relative to6/8position pages; values retained exactly labelled, not silently corrected. Drawing comparison remains needed.

Not recorded: Positions / cavity span, Populated contacts, Contact rows, Contact pitch, Contact gender / arrangement, Mounting, Coupling / latch, Shell / form, Recorded markings, View convention. Unknown fields stay unknown; illustrations supply no measurements or pin assignments.

Recorded variant and source limits
  • Check the exact device manual before wiring or applying power.
  • Extron CSVEQ 100 D wall-plate S-video input (device-specific): As sketched on p. 6 (3 4 top, 1 2 bottom); face not stated.
  • Euresys Picolo S-VIDEO input (4-pin female Mini-DIN receptacle): Female receptacle, bracket viewed from outside (positions not recorded).
  • TI TVP5150AEVM S-video input SV1: Schematic symbol only.
Report a correction to these facts →

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video form) facts and limitations
Documented identificationThe standard S-Video connector form uses four pins in a keyed Mini-DIN housing. [C109A]
Important distinctionS-Video separates luminance and chrominance signals. [C109B]
Mechanical dimensionsNo independently approved mechanical dimensions. Do not use this record for fabrication or fit testing.
Engineering pinoutSource-checked engineering profile available; independent review pending. Open engineering profile →
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

Record the exact device model and the label beside the port. Obtain its manual and the accessory documentation. Keep unknown properties unknown instead of filling them from a visually similar item.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Check the video input or output label.
  2. Distinguish standard four-pin S-Video from proprietary look-alikes.
  3. Document any needed signal conversion rather than choosing by shape.
Trace a supported connection class →

Pins & wiring

Pinout

Choose the exact wiring. Pin numbers follow its stated view; a schematic does not establish physical positions. Check your exact device before wiring.

What the status labels mean
Confirmed
Recorded research passes agree within this variant; this is not independent human review or hardware validation.
Single source
Only one underlying document, or one pass, supports this assignment.
Device-specific
Supported for the named equipment or wiring only. Check your device’s manual.
Unverified
Missing or conflicting evidence. Do not wire from this row.
Not connected
The source explicitly says NC, no contact or no pin for this wiring.
Wiring variant

Extron CSVEQ 100 D wall-plate S-video input (device-specific)

Device-specific wiring. Check your device’s manual before connecting or applying power.

View and evidence limits

As sketched on p. 6 (3 4 top, 1 2 bottom); face not stated.

  • P109 S-Video Mini-DIN — **Agree** (1 Y ground, 2 C ground, 3 Y/luma, 4 C/chroma) — Three manufacturers: Extron (A), Euresys and TI (B). IEC 60933-5 is paywalled. A noted an unconfirmed hint that some Sony PVM manuals number the pins differently.
  • Device-specific manufacturer table; the only primary source obtained for this connector.
  • IEC 60933-5 (Y/C connector) is paywalled and was not consulted.
  • A search snippet indicated that some Sony PVM monitor manuals number the Y/C connector differently (signals on 1-2, grounds on 3-4). The official Sony download (pro.sony operation manual 3-865-341-11) returned HTTP 403, so this was not read or established; it is listed only as an open question.
  • Shell/screen connection and non-video uses (e.g., DC power, ADB) were not established.
4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video) engineering referenceAs sketched on p. 6 (3 4 top, 1 2 bottom); face not stated.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: GND (device_specific)12: GND (device_specific)23: Y (device_specific)34: C (device_specific)4powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
Extron CSVEQ 100 D wall-plate S-video input (device-specific) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1GNDGround reference and return.Device-specific
Sources
2GNDGround reference and return.Device-specific
Sources
3YControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
4CControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
Sources (1)

Euresys Picolo S-VIDEO input (4-pin female Mini-DIN receptacle)

Device-specific wiring. Check your device’s manual before connecting or applying power.

View and evidence limits

Female receptacle, bracket viewed from outside (positions not recorded).

  • P109 S-Video Mini-DIN — **Agree** (1 Y ground, 2 C ground, 3 Y/luma, 4 C/chroma) — Three manufacturers: Extron (A), Euresys and TI (B). IEC 60933-5 is paywalled. A noted an unconfirmed hint that some Sony PVM manuals number the pins differently.
  • Device-specific capture input.
  • Both sources list pins 1 and 2 as plain ground. Neither assigns pin 1 to the Y return or pin 2 to the C return.
  • IEC 60933-5 (the Y/C connector standard) is paywalled and was not consulted. A Panasonic projector S-video adaptor sheet returned an HTML page instead of a PDF.
  • No drawing of contact positions was examined.
4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video) engineering referenceFemale receptacle, bracket viewed from outside (positions not recorded).SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: GND (device_specific)12: GND (device_specific)23: LUMA (device_specific)34: CHROMA (device_specific)4powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
Euresys Picolo S-VIDEO input (4-pin female Mini-DIN receptacle) — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1GNDGround reference and return.Device-specific
Sources
2GNDGround reference and return.Device-specific
Sources
3LUMAControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
4CHROMAControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Device-specific
Sources
Sources (2)

TI TVP5150AEVM S-video input SV1

View and evidence limits

Schematic symbol only.

  • P109 S-Video Mini-DIN — **Agree** (1 Y ground, 2 C ground, 3 Y/luma, 4 C/chroma) — Three manufacturers: Extron (A), Euresys and TI (B). IEC 60933-5 is paywalled. A noted an unconfirmed hint that some Sony PVM manuals number the pins differently.
  • The symbol also has pins 5, 6 and 7, all tied to ground with pins 1 and 2. These are taken to be shell/mounting contacts, but that is not stated.
  • Both sources list pins 1 and 2 as plain ground. Neither assigns pin 1 to the Y return or pin 2 to the C return.
  • IEC 60933-5 (the Y/C connector standard) is paywalled and was not consulted. A Panasonic projector S-video adaptor sheet returned an HTML page instead of a PDF.
  • No drawing of contact positions was examined.
4-pin Mini-DIN (S-Video) engineering referenceSchematic symbol only.SCHEMATIC · physical positions unconfirmedNot to scale · check the named wiring and device manual1: Ground (confirmed)12: Ground (confirmed)23: Y (confirmed)34: C (confirmed)4powergrounddataConfigshieldNCUnknown
Schematic only · physical contact positions unconfirmed. Original drawing · not to scale. Scroll sideways if needed.
TI TVP5150AEVM S-video input SV1 — source-scoped contact map
PinSignalWhat it doesStatus
1GroundGround reference and return.Confirmed
Sources
2GroundGround reference and return.Confirmed
Sources
3YControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Confirmed
Sources
4CControl, detection or configuration connection; check the source and device.Confirmed
Sources
Sources (3)

What is not established

This field note does not approve a connection, publish a pinout or provide a measured template. Use the linked source scope and the checklist as a documentation starting point.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

Back to first citation ↑
C109ASource checked · pending review

The standard S-Video connector form uses four pins in a keyed Mini-DIN housing.

C2G / Legrand · DIN and Mini-DIN identification guide ↗

Locator: 5-pin DIN; 4-pin Mini DIN; 6-pin Mini DIN
Access: public page. A historical application is not a guarantee of what a particular port carries.

S089: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Back to first citation ↑
C109BSource checked · pending review

S-Video separates luminance and chrominance signals.

C2G / Legrand · DIN and Mini-DIN identification guide ↗

Locator: 5-pin DIN; 4-pin Mini DIN; 6-pin Mini DIN
Access: public page. A historical application is not a guarantee of what a particular port carries.

S089: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Put this field note to work.

Add to discovery trayRecord an unsaved candidate (private workspace)

Compare look-alikes: PS/2 form versus S-Video form

Candidate selection does not confirm the identity or capabilities of your physical item.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

1 linked sources · 2 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 1 source scopes, access limits and dates

S089 · DIN and Mini-DIN identification guide

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Distinct DIN / Mini-DIN arrangements and the S-Video and PS/2 examples.

Not established / limitations: A historical application is not a guarantee of what a particular port carries.

Locator: 5-pin DIN; 4-pin Mini DIN; 6-pin Mini DIN

Trace 2 claims to their source records

C109A · P109

The standard S-Video connector form uses four pins in a keyed Mini-DIN housing.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S089 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C109B · P109

S-Video separates luminance and chrominance signals.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S089 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.