FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P143 / Ethernet and PoE / Guide

Ethernet rates: the plug is only the beginning

A documented model, port role, rate or budget is not a verified physical connection.

The useful distinction

Read the exact model and port labels; do not infer network or power capabilities from the modular outline.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-03 · Independent review pending

Guide note · not an individual product specification

The useful distinction

Understand the requirement.

A copper modular plug does not establish the supported rates of the ports at its ends. Build an exact-port evidence trail before interpreting a link. [C143A]

TL-SG105-M2 lists 100, 1000 and 2500 Mbps in the inspected page. U7 Pro lists 1 and 2.5 GbE. The worksheet stores those lists without inventing an unlisted 10 or 100 Mbps fallback. A missing rate is not proof of incompatibility; it is an evidence gap. [C143B]

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

Ethernet rates: the plug is only the beginning facts and limitations
Workflow boundaryCopper Ethernet / af and at documentation only [C143A] [C143B]
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

TL-SG105-M2 lists 100, 1000 and 2500 Mbps in the inspected page. U7 Pro lists 1 and 2.5 GbE. The worksheet stores those lists without inventing an unlisted 10 or 100 Mbps fallback. A missing rate is not proof of incompatibility; it is an evidence gap.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Record both exact port groups.
  2. Keep unlisted rates unknown.
  3. Check actual link status separately.
Trace a supported connection class →

Separate three different numbers

A shared documented rate is a candidate in a specification comparison. An actual negotiated link rate must be observed on the equipment. Application throughput additionally depends on protocol overhead, workload and the rest of the path. None can be substituted for the others.

Finish outside the worksheet

Inspect undamaged connectors, the cable specification and the actual port status using the equipment's documentation. Do not infer cable category, electrical condition or usable distance from the outline drawing. The atlas does not test cabling or approve an installation.

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

C143ASource checked · pending review

Write down the manufacturer, exact model, hardware revision and selected port group at both ends. Distinguish an Ethernet jack on an adapter from the adapter's USB host interface. A specification for another model or another port is not interchangeable evidence.

TP-Link · TL-SG105-M2 product specifications ↗

Locator: Hardware Features / Interface
Access: public page. Hardware revision is not specified in the inspected page; do not transfer this inventory to other revisions.

S121: full source recordTP-Link · UE300 product specifications ↗

Locator: Hardware Features / Output Interface, Input Interface
Access: public page. This network profile does not establish PoE support, USB host approval or current operating-system drivers.

S125: full source recordUbiquiti · U7 Pro technical specifications ↗

Locator: Hardware / Networking Interface / Power Method
Access: public page. No 100 Mbps fallback is inferred. Wireless radio rates are not Ethernet link rates; power method is separate from data rate.

S127: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Dated network reference; exact product scope where named. Documentation only; independent review pending.. Next review due 2027-01-01.

C143BSource checked · pending review

TL-SG105-M2 lists 100, 1000 and 2500 Mbps in the inspected page. U7 Pro lists 1 and 2.5 GbE. The worksheet stores those lists without inventing an unlisted 10 or 100 Mbps fallback. A missing rate is not proof of incompatibility; it is an evidence gap.

TP-Link · TL-SG105-M2 product specifications ↗

Locator: Hardware Features / Interface
Access: public page. Hardware revision is not specified in the inspected page; do not transfer this inventory to other revisions.

S121: full source recordTP-Link · UE300 product specifications ↗

Locator: Hardware Features / Output Interface, Input Interface
Access: public page. This network profile does not establish PoE support, USB host approval or current operating-system drivers.

S125: full source recordUbiquiti · U7 Pro technical specifications ↗

Locator: Hardware / Networking Interface / Power Method
Access: public page. No 100 Mbps fallback is inferred. Wireless radio rates are not Ethernet link rates; power method is separate from data rate.

S127: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Dated network reference; exact product scope where named. Documentation only; independent review pending.. Next review due 2027-01-01.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Take the reference into a network worksheet.

Compare exact Ethernet interfaces and power roles, or build an explicit source-side af/at reservation scenario.

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

3 linked sources · 2 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_reference_expansion

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 3 source scopes, access limits and dates

S121 · TL-SG105-M2 product specifications

TP-Link · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: The named US product page documents five copper ports with 100 Mbps, 1 Gbps and 2.5 Gbps rates. It does not establish a 10 Mbps rate in this capture.

Not established / limitations: Hardware revision is not specified in the inspected page; do not transfer this inventory to other revisions.

Locator: Hardware Features / Interface

S125 · UE300 product specifications

TP-Link · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: The named UE300 page lists one 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 interface and a USB 3.0 host interface.

Not established / limitations: This network profile does not establish PoE support, USB host approval or current operating-system drivers.

Locator: Hardware Features / Output Interface, Input Interface

S127 · U7 Pro technical specifications

Ubiquiti · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: The exact U7 Pro page lists one 1/2.5 GbE RJ45 interface and PoE+ power.

Not established / limitations: No 100 Mbps fallback is inferred. Wireless radio rates are not Ethernet link rates; power method is separate from data rate.

Locator: Hardware / Networking Interface / Power Method

Trace 2 claims to their source records

C143A · P143

Write down the manufacturer, exact model, hardware revision and selected port group at both ends. Distinguish an Ethernet jack on an adapter from the adapter's USB host interface. A specification for another model or another port is not interchangeable evidence.

Claim scope: Dated network reference; exact product scope where named. Documentation only; independent review pending.

Source links: S121 · S125 · S127 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C143B · P143

TL-SG105-M2 lists 100, 1000 and 2500 Mbps in the inspected page. U7 Pro lists 1 and 2.5 GbE. The worksheet stores those lists without inventing an unlisted 10 or 100 Mbps fallback. A missing rate is not proof of incompatibility; it is an evidence gap.

Claim scope: Dated network reference; exact product scope where named. Documentation only; independent review pending.

Source links: S121 · S125 · S127 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.