FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

DE-9 versus DB25

Find the exact documented interface before choosing a cable.

Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P114 · ConnectorDE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)
Computer-generated illustration, not a photograph.
P115 · ConnectorDB25 D-sub connector

How they differ

  • DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9) Compare the two rows, with five and four nominal positions. Do not treat the signal name as proven by the shell.
  • DB25 D-sub connector Compare the 13-plus-12 position layout and then read the port label. A broad D-shaped outline is not enough.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
FieldDE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)DB25 D-sub connector
TypeConnectorConnector
FamilyLegacy computerLegacy computer
Shaped subd sub
Nominal contacts9S092Nine nominal positions; the guide cautions that some D-sub connectors do not populate every contact.25S092Twenty-five nominal positions; an actual connector may omit some populated contacts.
Positions / cavity span9 (Claim C114A); 9 (Claim C114C)S092 · S625Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device.5 (Claim C115C)S627Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred.
Contact rows2 (Claim C114C); 2 (5747840-6)S625 · S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. TE identifies 5747840-6 as a nine-position, two-row plug mounted at right angles to a printed circuit board. | Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.2 (Claim C115C); 2 (5747461-1)S627 · S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. TE identifies 5747461-1 as a twenty-five-position, two-row right-angle board receptacle; the inspected page labels the part obsolete. | Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.
Connector roleplug (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.socket (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.
Key distinctionNine positions are not a serial pinout.The same shell can carry unrelated interfaces.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Connector records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: Legacy computer

Look here first

Spot the difference.

Read the views →

Not a size comparison. Illustrations fit the same display boxes; their physical dimensions are not shown to a common scale. No mating or compatibility verdict follows.

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9) — unnumbered face-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P114 / Unnumbered face-pattern sketch

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)

Role not specified

Visible clue: D-shaped outline with two rows of illustrative positions

Read the documented position count separately from electrical assignments.

Still check: The shell does not identify a serial pinout or prove the port function.

DB25 D-sub connector — unnumbered face-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending

P115 / Unnumbered face-pattern sketch

DB25 D-sub connector

Role not specified

Visible clue: Broad D-shaped outline and two rows

The diagram is not a pinout or a guarantee of actual populated contacts.

Still check: The same DB25 family name can accompany different device interfaces; the equipment documentation controls.

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

2 selected records · 15 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9) — unnumbered face-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P114 / ConnectorDE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

DB25 D-sub connector — unnumbered face-pattern sketch; role not specified; original, not-to-scale identification schematic; drawing review pending
P115 / ConnectorDB25 D-sub connector

Identification schematic · not to scale · drawing review pending

LayerConnectorConnector
Key distinctionNine positions are not a serial pinout.The same shell can carry unrelated interfaces.
Nominal contacts9S092Nine nominal positions; the guide cautions that some D-sub connectors do not populate every contact.25S092Twenty-five nominal positions; an actual connector may omit some populated contacts.
Positions / cavity span9 (Claim C114A); 9 (Claim C114C)S092 · S625Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device.5 (Claim C115C)S627Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred.
Populated contactsNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Contact rows2 (Claim C114C); 2 (5747840-6)S625 · S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. TE identifies 5747840-6 as a nine-position, two-row plug mounted at right angles to a printed circuit board. | Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.2 (Claim C115C); 2 (5747461-1)S627 · S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. TE identifies 5747461-1 as a twenty-five-position, two-row right-angle board receptacle; the inspected page labels the part obsolete. | Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.
Contact pitch2.74 mm centerline (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.2.74 mm centerline (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.
Dimensions / axis2.84 mm row-to-row spacing (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.2.84 mm row-to-row spacing (5747461-1); 3.18 mm termination post/tail length (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.
Connector roleplug (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.socket (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.
Coupling / latchNot recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Keying / polarizationNot recordedScrewlocks/boardlocks/boardmount are retention and mounting evidence, not mating polarization. A mating key remains unestablished.Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
Documented identificationThe guide lists the common DB9 form as nine positions in rows of five and four.C114AThe DB25 form has twenty-five nominal positions arranged in rows of thirteen and twelve.C115A
Important distinctionIt describes RS-232 as a common application, not an identity guaranteed for every such socket.C114BThe guide lists parallel, RS-232 and SCSI uses of the same form.C115B
Source-scoped component observationTE identifies 5747840-6 as a nine-position, two-row plug mounted at right angles to a printed circuit board.C114CTE identifies 5747461-1 as a twenty-five-position, two-row right-angle board receptacle; the inspected page labels the part obsolete.C115C
EvidenceC114A,C114B,C114C,C114D →
Independent review pending
C115A,C115B,C115C,C115D →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
Connector
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
Connector

Key distinction

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
Nine positions are not a serial pinout.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
The same shell can carry unrelated interfaces.

Nominal contacts

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
9S092Nine nominal positions; the guide cautions that some D-sub connectors do not populate every contact.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
25S092Twenty-five nominal positions; an actual connector may omit some populated contacts.

Positions / cavity span

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
9 (Claim C114A); 9 (Claim C114C)S092 · S625Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
5 (Claim C115C)S627Recorded source-scoped values; named examples do not describe every family variant or establish compatibility. Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred.

Populated contacts

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Contact rows

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
2 (Claim C114C); 2 (5747840-6)S625 · S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. TE identifies 5747840-6 as a nine-position, two-row plug mounted at right angles to a printed circuit board. | Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
2 (Claim C115C); 2 (5747461-1)S627 · S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. TE identifies 5747461-1 as a twenty-five-position, two-row right-angle board receptacle; the inspected page labels the part obsolete. | Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.

Contact pitch

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
2.74 mm centerline (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
2.74 mm centerline (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.

Dimensions / axis

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
2.84 mm row-to-row spacing (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
2.84 mm row-to-row spacing (5747461-1); 3.18 mm termination post/tail length (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.

Connector role

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
plug (5747840-6)S625Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747840-6. Documented role: plug. Exact named part only. Product specification is not a specimen measurement or interoperability approval.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
socket (5747461-1)S627Named source examples retain separate role, part, view and axis limits; values are not a universal family specification. 5747461-1. Documented role: socket. TE currently labels this exact part obsolete. No universal DB25 dimensions or pinout inferred.

Coupling / latch

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Keying / polarization

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
Not recordedScrewlocks/boardlocks/boardmount are retention and mounting evidence, not mating polarization. A mating key remains unestablished.
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
Not recordedNot recorded in a normalized source-scoped field. Consult the exact part/revision; no value inferred from illustrations.

Documented identification

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
The guide lists the common DB9 form as nine positions in rows of five and four.C114A
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
The DB25 form has twenty-five nominal positions arranged in rows of thirteen and twelve.C115A

Important distinction

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
It describes RS-232 as a common application, not an identity guaranteed for every such socket.C114B
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
The guide lists parallel, RS-232 and SCSI uses of the same form.C115B

Source-scoped component observation

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
TE identifies 5747840-6 as a nine-position, two-row plug mounted at right angles to a printed circuit board.C114C
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
TE identifies 5747461-1 as a twenty-five-position, two-row right-angle board receptacle; the inspected page labels the part obsolete.C115C

Evidence

DE-9 D-sub (commonly called DB9)P114 / Connector
C114A,C114B,C114C,C114D →
Independent review pending
DB25 D-sub connectorP115 / Connector
C115A,C115B,C115C,C115D →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

5 linked sources · 8 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2027-01-01. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 5 source scopes, access limits and dates

S092 · D-sub identification guide — nine and twenty-five positions

C2G / Legrand · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-03 · due 2027-01-01

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Two-row position counts and multiple documented DB25 applications.

Not established / limitations: Some contacts may be unpopulated. DB9 is the source trade label; no universal serial pinout or protocol is inferred.

Locator: Introductory population warning; DB9; DB25

S625 · 5747840-6 nine-position board plug

TE Connectivity · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-13 · due 2027-01-11

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named nine-position, two-row, right-angle PCB plug only; not an RS-232 device or complete cable.

Not established / limitations: Named nine-position, two-row, right-angle PCB plug only; not an RS-232 device or complete cable. Raw source file possession and byte hash are not claimed; only the available web observations are recorded.

Locator: Product identification, configuration, mounting and document link.

S626 · 5747840 customer drawing, revision D1

TE Connectivity · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-13 · due 2027-01-11

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Drawing family linked to 5747840-6; five-plus-four contact pattern. Mounting-hardware details, tails, numbering and dimensions omitted from the study.

Not established / limitations: Drawing family linked to 5747840-6; five-plus-four contact pattern. Mounting-hardware details, tails, numbering and dimensions omitted from the study. Raw source file possession and byte hash are not claimed; only the available web observations are recorded.

Locator: One sheet: upper-left contact-facing view, separate mating-face-labelled profile, variant table. Revision D1 dated 17FEB2026.

S627 · 5747461-1 twenty-five-position board receptacle

TE Connectivity · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-13 · due 2027-01-11

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Named two-row, right-angle PCB receptacle; not a printer, serial or SCSI port. Lifecycle is an observed page label, not a replacement recommendation. All Plastic versus Steel shell metadata is not resolved or used.

Not established / limitations: Named two-row, right-angle PCB receptacle; not a printer, serial or SCSI port. Lifecycle is an observed page label, not a replacement recommendation. All Plastic versus Steel shell metadata is not resolved or used. Raw source file possession and byte hash are not claimed; only the available web observations are recorded.

Locator: Product identification, configuration and linked drawing; observed lifecycle label Obsolete.

S628 · 5747461 customer drawing, revision P

TE Connectivity · Manufacturer / product-owner domain · inspected 2026-10-13 · due 2027-01-11

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Source family contact-facing geometry only. -1 mounting-hole option is tabulated; the generic front drawing also illustrates optional hardware. Study omits hardware rather than inventing an exact assembled variant.

Not established / limitations: Source family contact-facing geometry only. -1 mounting-hole option is tabulated; the generic front drawing also illustrates optional hardware. Study omits hardware rather than inventing an exact assembled variant. Raw source file possession and byte hash are not claimed; only the available web observations are recorded.

Locator: One sheet: upper-left thirteen-plus-twelve contact-facing view; separate recommended PCB mounting view; variant table; revision P dated 11MAR11.

Trace 8 claims to their source records

C114A · P114

The guide lists the common DB9 form as nine positions in rows of five and four.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S092 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C114B · P114

It describes RS-232 as a common application, not an identity guaranteed for every such socket.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S092 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C114C · P114

TE identifies 5747840-6 as a nine-position, two-row plug mounted at right angles to a printed circuit board.

Claim scope: Exact component role and mounting only; this is not an identification of the service on a complete device.

Source links: S625 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C114D · P114

Drawing 5747840 D1 shows five contacts above four in the contact-facing view, separately from the recommended board layout.

Claim scope: Named drawing family only. Pin numbers, dimensions, plating, optional mounting hardware and electrical assignments are not reproduced.

Source links: S626 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C115A · P115

The DB25 form has twenty-five nominal positions arranged in rows of thirteen and twelve.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S092 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C115B · P115

The guide lists parallel, RS-232 and SCSI uses of the same form.

Claim scope: Identification and explicitly scoped documentation only; not an end-to-end connection approval

Source links: S092 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C115C · P115

TE identifies 5747461-1 as a twenty-five-position, two-row right-angle board receptacle; the inspected page labels the part obsolete.

Claim scope: Observed named-component identity and lifecycle label only. No current replacement, material resolution or equipment protocol is inferred.

Source links: S627 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C115D · P115

Drawing 5747461 P shows a thirteen-plus-twelve contact-facing pattern separately from its recommended printed-circuit-board mounting view.

Claim scope: Source-facing family view. The -1 hole variant is distinguished in the table; optional screwlocks are not attributed to that variant. No numbering, footprint dimensions or service mapping entered.

Source links: S628 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.