FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Side by side

USB 3.2 vs USB4 version 1

Compare explicit modes and product support. Neither title identifies an individual port’s performance.

Standard
No drawing: not a physical form
P032 · StandardUSB 3.2 nomenclature and modes
Standard
No drawing: not a physical form
P033 · StandardUSB4 version 1 overview

How they differ

  • USB 3.2 nomenclature and modes The nomenclature includes older USB 3.x capabilities. Keep the connector, lane arrangement, product rating and end-to-end result in separate fields.
  • USB4 version 1 overview Use the documented product performance level rather than assigning the family maximum to a generic Type-C port. Keep this historical generation distinct from the version 2 record.

At a glance

Source-scoped form facts; counts, variants and unknowns are distinct
FieldUSB 3.2 nomenclature and modesUSB4 version 1 overview
TypeStandardStandard
FamilyUSBUSB
Key distinctionUse a mode and rate instead of a version label alone.USB4 version 1 is not the ceiling of the whole USB4 family.

Full evidence ledger and sources ↓

Illustrations are computer-generated with prior AI visual review; independent technical and rights review pending. A comparison is not a compatibility verdict.

This comparison stays within one evidence layer.

All selected records are Standard records. Similar layer does not mean compatible, interchangeable or safe to mate.

Families represented: USB

The reference ledger

Read the same question across.

2 selected records · 8 fields
No score. No compatibility verdict.

On a narrow screen, scroll the table sideways or open the field-by-field reading view below. Illustrations are not a size comparison.

Comparison of selected field notes; source links accompany each documented specification
What you are comparing
P032 / StandardUSB 3.2 nomenclature and modes

Reference symbol · not a product specification

P033 / StandardUSB4 version 1 overview

Reference symbol · not a product specification

LayerStandardStandard
Key distinctionUse a mode and rate instead of a version label alone.USB4 version 1 is not the ceiling of the whole USB4 family.
USB 3.2 Gen 15 Gbit/s signalingC032ANot an equivalent field
USB 3.2 Gen 210 Gbit/s signalingC032ANot an equivalent field
USB 3.2 Gen 2×220 Gbit/s signalingC032ANot an equivalent field
Generation ceilingNot an equivalent fieldUp to 40 Gbit/s signalingC033A
Physical connector familyNot an equivalent fieldUSB Type-CC033A
EvidenceC032A →
Independent review pending
C033A,C033B →
Independent review pending
Read field by field — no sideways scrolling

The same selected records, fields, values and source links as the table. Missing fields remain non-equivalent; no values are merged.

Layer

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
Standard
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
Standard

Key distinction

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
Use a mode and rate instead of a version label alone.
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
USB4 version 1 is not the ceiling of the whole USB4 family.

USB 3.2 Gen 1

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
5 Gbit/s signalingC032A
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
Not an equivalent field

USB 3.2 Gen 2

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
10 Gbit/s signalingC032A
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
Not an equivalent field

USB 3.2 Gen 2×2

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
20 Gbit/s signalingC032A
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
Not an equivalent field

Generation ceiling

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
Not an equivalent field
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
Up to 40 Gbit/s signalingC033A

Physical connector family

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
Not an equivalent field
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
USB Type-CC033A

Evidence

USB 3.2 nomenclature and modesP032 / Standard
C032A →
Independent review pending
USB4 version 1 overviewP033 / Standard
C033A,C033B →
Independent review pending

Your next step

Use the distinction in context.

Continue the distinction

Compare next

Browse every comparison →

Adjust this comparison

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

3 linked sources · 3 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: Evidence behind the compared records; the editorial comparison still needs separate review.

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2026-12-30. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 3 source scopes, access limits and dates

S004 · USB 3.2 overview

USB-IF · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: 5, 10 and 20 Gbit/s signaling modes, not payload throughput.

Not established / limitations:

Locator: USB 3.2 key characteristics

S039 · USB4 system overview, 2019

USB-IF · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Historical first USB4 generation, up to 40 Gbit/s.

Not established / limitations: Not the ceiling of later USB4 revisions.

Locator: USB4 system performance overview

S522 · USB-IF — USB4 architecture overview

USB-IF · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Mutual endpoint capability and shared transport; does not specify a measured file-copy rate.

Not established / limitations: Mutual endpoint capability and shared transport; does not specify a measured file-copy rate. Retrieval locators and observations retained; raw acquisition is recorded separately.

Locator: USB4 Specification overview and architecture characteristics

Trace 3 claims to their source records

C032A · P032

USB 3.2 includes 5, 10 and 20 Gbit/s signaling modes.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S004 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C033A · P033

The first USB4 specification generation supports up to 40 Gbit/s signaling.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S039 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C033B · P033

USB-IF describes USB4 as a multi-protocol architecture whose common connection can carry different traffic types; capabilities depend on the connected products.

Claim scope: Architecture-level transport summary; application throughput and dock routing remain unspecified.

Source links: S522 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.