FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

P033 / USB / Standard

USB4 version 1 overview

The first USB4 specification generation supports up to 40 Gbit/s signaling.

Also called USB4 v1 USB 4 USB4 40Gbps

USB4 version 1 is not the ceiling of the whole USB4 family.

The useful distinction

Use the documented product performance level rather than assigning the family maximum to a generic Type-C port. Keep this historical generation distinct from the version 2 record.

Claim inspection dates: 2026-10-01, 2026-10-11 · Independent review pending

Standard note · not an individual product specification

CAPABILITY NOTES / SOURCE REVIEW 11 OCTOBER 2026

Read the capability, not just the name.

Published scope, conditions and what remains unknown. Figures are not measured end-to-end performance.
Name or markSupported reading and conditionsDo not inferAuthority
USB4 connectionShared multi-protocol transportIdentify the implemented version, both endpoints and dock path.The shell does not reveal traffic allocation or application speed.S522 · USB-IFChecked 2026-10-11

USB4 connection

Published scope
Shared multi-protocol transport
Conditions
Identify the implemented version, both endpoints and dock path.
Do not infer
The shell does not reveal traffic allocation or application speed.
Authority
S522 · USB-IF
Checked 2026-10-11

These are source-qualified distinctions. No complete device pairing, physical fit or operating result is certified here.

Inspect the canonical evidence and scope

C033B

USB-IF describes USB4 as a multi-protocol architecture whose common connection can carry different traffic types; capabilities depend on the connected products.

Architecture-level transport summary; application throughput and dock routing remain unspecified.

S522 · USB-IF

The useful distinction

Understand the requirement.

The first USB4 specification generation supports up to 40 Gbit/s signaling. [C033A]

USB-IF describes USB4 as a multi-protocol architecture whose common connection can carry different traffic types; capabilities depend on the connected products. [C033B]

Bounded facts, visible unknowns

Specifications and limits

USB4 version 1 overview facts and limitations
Generation ceilingUp to 40 Gbit/s signaling [C033A]
Physical connector familyUSB Type-C [C033A]
Verified device listNot included. Check exact device and accessory documentation.
A boundary, not an omission to guess around.

This is a scoped requirements guide, not an interoperability certification. It does not test hardware, calculate an arbitrary display timing, or replace the exact product documentation. A missing capability stays unknown.

Before you connect

What to check

  1. Confirm that the port and cable explicitly support USB4.
  2. Record the supported data mode and any display needs.
  3. Check accessory compatibility rather than assuming every Type-C peripheral is a USB4 device.
Trace a supported connection class →

Your next step

Move from the form to the requirement.

The source trail

Evidence for this page

AI-assisted inspection is not independent engineering review. Source scope and access limitations are disclosed below. Procedural checklists are editorial requirements, not hardware measurements.

C033ASource checked · pending review

The first USB4 specification generation supports up to 40 Gbit/s signaling.

USB-IF · USB4 system overview, 2019 ↗

Locator: USB4 system performance overview
Access: public pdf text. Not the ceiling of later USB4 revisions.

S039: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only. Next review due 2026-12-30.

C033BSource checked · pending review

USB-IF describes USB4 as a multi-protocol architecture whose common connection can carry different traffic types; capabilities depend on the connected products.

USB-IF · USB-IF — USB4 architecture overview ↗

Locator: USB4 Specification overview and architecture characteristics
Access: public page. Mutual endpoint capability and shared transport; does not specify a measured file-copy rate. Retrieval locators and observations retained; raw acquisition is recorded separately.

S522: full source recordInspect review dependencies → (private workspace)

Claim scope: Architecture-level transport summary; application throughput and dock routing remain unspecified.. Next review due 2027-01-09.

Suggest a correction to this field note →

Common questions

Questions this record can help resolve

Evidence behind this page

Scope first. Source second. Approval separate.

2 linked sources · 2 scoped claims · 0 sources with inspection/access flags.

Page scope: consumer_pilot

Assessment 2026-10-22 · earliest scheduled source review 2026-12-30. This is a recorded-date assessment, not a live source check. Page-level independent review is not established by this panel.

Inspect 2 source scopes, access limits and dates

S039 · USB4 system overview, 2019

USB-IF · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-01 · due 2026-12-30

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Historical first USB4 generation, up to 40 Gbit/s.

Not established / limitations: Not the ceiling of later USB4 revisions.

Locator: USB4 system performance overview

S522 · USB-IF — USB4 architecture overview

USB-IF · Standards-organization domain · inspected 2026-10-11 · due 2027-01-09

Within inspection window

Scoped support: Mutual endpoint capability and shared transport; does not specify a measured file-copy rate.

Not established / limitations: Mutual endpoint capability and shared transport; does not specify a measured file-copy rate. Retrieval locators and observations retained; raw acquisition is recorded separately.

Locator: USB4 Specification overview and architecture characteristics

Trace 2 claims to their source records

C033A · P033

The first USB4 specification generation supports up to 40 Gbit/s signaling.

Claim scope: Consumer identification / documented standard or product class only

Source links: S039 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

C033B · P033

USB-IF describes USB4 as a multi-protocol architecture whose common connection can carry different traffic types; capabilities depend on the connected products.

Claim scope: Architecture-level transport summary; application throughput and dock routing remain unspecified.

Source links: S522 · Evidence trail → (private workspace)

Prepare this page for review → (private workspace)Read the evidence method →

Recorded evidence only. An inspection date, publisher label, source link or generated packet is not independent technical review, hardware testing, fabrication approval or a compatibility verdict.