FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Exact component comparison

SlimSAS: select the width, component and assembly

SlimSAS is a family. Separate four-lane and eight-lane widths, board receptacle and cable-plug roles, entry direction, impedance and the exact assembly’s protocol. A matching shell is insufficient.

Applies to: No body-width millimetres, exact opposing mate or universal assembly pin map is claimed. Source lookup uses live official charts and a dated 2019.04 series sheet.

SlimSAS: select the width, component and assembly
Exact componentWidth / circuitsComponent role and entryDocumented example scope
Molex 21196631034x / 38 circuitsVertical board receptacle; SMT;3.00 mm shell tabs100 ohm; two rows; not a universal cable/protocol choice
Molex 21196630038x / 74 circuitsVertical board receptacle; SMT;3.00 mm shell tabs100 ohm; two rows; exact width and assembly still required
Molex 21196621134x / 38 circuitsRight-angle board receptacle; SMT;3.00 mm shell tabs85 ohm; keep electrical/assembly scope distinct from100 ohm variants
Molex 20736810014x / 38 circuitsStraight plug-to-straight plug;0.30 m, 32 AWG ribbon assemblySAS 4.0 example; dated series sheet says100 ohm; no opposing mate inferred

Molex 2119663103

4x; 38 circuits; vertical board receptacle; SMT; 3.00 mm shell tabs. 100 ohm; two rows; LCP; locked and polarized to mate; manufacturer keying attribute No

Molex SlimSAS 211966 exact receptacle variants

Molex 2119663003

8x; 74 circuits; vertical board receptacle; SMT; 3.00 mm shell tabs. 100 ohm; two rows; LCP; locked and polarized to mate; manufacturer keying attribute No

Molex SlimSAS 211966 exact receptacle variants

Molex 2119662113

4x; 38 circuits; right-angle board receptacle; SMT; 3.00 mm shell tabs. 85 ohm; two rows; exact physical variant, not the same protocol/assembly as a 100-ohm example

Molex SlimSAS 211966 exact receptacle variants

Molex 2073681001

4x; 38 circuits; straight plug-to-straight plug cable assembly; 32 AWG ribbon cable; 0.30 m assembly. SAS 4.0 example; source series sheet says 100 ohm

Molex SlimSAS 207368 assembly variants · SlimSAS cable assemblies 987652-0234

Standard and assembly handoff

SNIA’s 2021 SAS overview associates SlimSAS 4i/8i with SFF-8654. SFF-8654 Rev 1.2 defines mechanical 0.6 mm 4/8X unshielded connectors. Select the assembly’s signal assignment and device documentation separately; the specification’s introduction does not promise that every possible component exists or interoperates.

Molex SlimSAS 211966 exact receptacle variants · Molex SlimSAS 207368 assembly variants · SlimSAS cable assemblies 987652-0234 · SFF-8654: 0.6 mm 4/8X Unshielded I/O Connector · How to Connect a SAS System

Your next useful observation

Read the complete part and assembly label, then width and board/cable role. Obtain the exact device protocol and pin assignment; do not substitute an SAS cable for a PCIe application from shape alone.

Keep these limits

  • No body-width millimetres, exact opposing mate or universal assembly pin map is claimed. Source lookup uses live official charts and a dated 2019.04 series sheet.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods

Molex SlimSAS 211966 exact receptacle variants

Molex · Revision not stated in inspected source

Export Spreadsheet: exact 2119661113 and 2119663003 rows; circuits loaded/maximum, rows, gender, shell-tab length, lock, polarization, mount and materials

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. AI-assisted reading of stated sections using official web retrieval; no independent human review or hardware testing

Documented component examples for identification and document selection. Exact equipment wiring, replacement suitability and powered use require the equipment maker’s documentation.

Read the original source

Molex SlimSAS 207368 assembly variants

Molex · Revision not stated in inspected source

Export Spreadsheet: exact 2073681001 row, 38 loaded/maximum circuits, plug/plug, lock, polycarbonate and 0.30 m assembly length

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. AI-assisted reading of stated sections using official web retrieval; no independent human review or hardware testing

Documented component examples for identification and document selection. Exact equipment wiring, replacement suitability and powered use require the equipment maker’s documentation.

Read the original source

SlimSAS cable assemblies 987652-0234

Molex · 2019.04

p.1 features; p.2 specifications and Ordering Information

Inspected 2026-10-22 by public_pdf_text. official_web_document_text

Current primary-document research for P197. Each normalized fact retains its exact part/family, role and document scope.

Read the original source

SFF-8654: 0.6 mm 4/8X Unshielded I/O Connector

SNIA SFF TA TWG · 1.2, 27 April 2018

p.1 title and abstract; pp.2–4 revision history identifying separate 4X/8X plug/receptacle and latch views

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted official web document reading; relevant introduction and revision/view context; no source pixels or hardware test

Dated mechanical interface and document handoff only; not current revision or universal interoperability approval

Read the original source

How to Connect a SAS System

SNIA / SCSI Trade Association · Storage Developer Conference, 28–29 September 2021

p.6 connector documentation table; pp.2–3 applicability and sideband caveats; pp.11–13 cable types

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted official web document reading; pp.2–3,6,11–13; not hardware testing

Document handoff and distinction of SlimSAS/SFF-8654 from MiniLink/SFF-8611/8612; no signal assignments transcribed

Read the original source

Source-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.

Draft a correction · More connection lessons