Applies to: Six distinct new host profiles beyond the baseline dock host cohort; source-only profile additions.
What the path requires
- No other attached external displays unless explicitly counted.
- Use exact dockOS and lid prerequisites.
- Do not apply these Pro/Max profiles to base chips.
Worked documentary examples
14-inch MacBook Pro (2024), M4 Pro
Documented outcome: Source-documented host profile; not an automatic dock verdict
- Two native external displays up to6K60 over Thunderbolt with built-in display active; alternative HDMI combinations have distinct limits. Thunderbolt5 ports; use macOS15+ for TS5/TS5Plus.
- Read About This Mac for exact chip/model.
- Count every other native external display.
- Check dock transport and complete requested mode; a base M1/M2 host is a different profile.
14-inch MacBook Pro (2024), M4 Max
Documented outcome: Source-documented host profile; not an automatic dock verdict
- Up to four native external displays under Apple's three-Thunderbolt6K60 plus HDMI4K144 arrangement. This whole-host budget does not make one dock carry four. Thunderbolt5; TS5 minimum macOS15+.
- Read About This Mac for exact chip/model.
- Count every other native external display.
- Check dock transport and complete requested mode; a base M1/M2 host is a different profile.
14-inch MacBook Pro (2023), M2 Pro
Documented outcome: Source-documented host profile; not an automatic dock verdict
- Two native external displays up to6K60 over Thunderbolt with the built-in display active; HDMI alternatives differ. Thunderbolt4 host, not Thunderbolt5; use a supported OS for the chosen dock.
- Read About This Mac for exact chip/model.
- Count every other native external display.
- Check dock transport and complete requested mode; a base M1/M2 host is a different profile.
14-inch MacBook Pro (2023), M2 Max
Documented outcome: Source-documented host profile; not an automatic dock verdict
- Up to four native external displays using Apple's documented Thunderbolt/HDMI combination. Count other direct displays as part of that budget; a single dock has its own lower capacity.
- Read About This Mac for exact chip/model.
- Count every other native external display.
- Check dock transport and complete requested mode; a base M1/M2 host is a different profile.
14-inch MacBook Pro (2021), M1 Pro
Documented outcome: Source-documented host profile; not an automatic dock verdict
- Two native external displays up to6K60 with the built-in display active. Native DisplayPort over Thunderbolt4/USB-C; HDMI is a separate up-to4K60 path.
- Read About This Mac for exact chip/model.
- Count every other native external display.
- Check dock transport and complete requested mode; a base M1/M2 host is a different profile.
14-inch MacBook Pro (2021), M1 Max
Documented outcome: Source-documented host profile; not an automatic dock verdict
- Up to three6K60 displays plus one4K60 external display under the model-specific Apple statement. A TS3Plus connection still has its own two-display/4K60-each ceiling.
- Read About This Mac for exact chip/model.
- Count every other native external display.
- Check dock transport and complete requested mode; a base M1/M2 host is a different profile.
Your next useful observation
Read exact chip, OS version and all attached displays.
Keep these limits
- Profile documentation is not complete system acceptance.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods
MacBook Pro 14-inch M4 Pro/M4 Max (2024) Technical Specifications
Apple · 2024 model; revision not stated
Charging and Expansion; Display Support → M4 Pro / M4 Max
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Chip-specific host budget and port roles.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS5 Plus
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
Single/Dual/Three/Four Displays; USB port roles; minimum system requirements
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact dock display count, DSC and mode footnotes.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS5
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
Single/Dual/Triple/Quad Displays; technical specifications
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact TS5 transport and display groups.
Read the original sourceMacBook Pro 14-inch (2023) Technical Specifications
Apple · 2023 model; revision not stated
Display Support → M2 Pro / M2 Max; Thunderbolt ports
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Chip-specific budget; not every 2023 MacBook.
Read the original sourceMacBook Pro 14-inch (2021) Technical Specifications
Apple · 2021 model; revision not stated
Display Support; Charging and Expansion
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
M1 Pro versus M1 Max native capacity.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS3 Plus
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
5K or Dual4K Displays; Monitor Resolutions; M1 Pro/Max note
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact historical dock and output ceilings.
Read the original sourceSource-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.