Applies to: Four new dock-monitor profiles: StudioDisplay,ProDisplayXDR,U2720Q,XG17AHPE.
What the path requires
- Exact input, target tuple and cable.
- No assumed USB data/touch through HDMI/DP.
- Use independent AC/USB monitor power as documented.
Worked documentary examples
Apple Studio Display (2022)
Documented outcome: Source-documented monitor/input profile
- 5120×2880 5K; one upstream Thunderbolt3 host port and three downstream USB-C data ports. Use upstream for picture; downstream sockets do not create a native multi-display chain.
- Read exact model and choose the documented video input.
- Use independent monitor supply where required.
- Confirm offered mode and USB/power roles separately.
Apple Pro Display XDR (2019)
Documented outcome: Source-documented monitor/input profile
- 6016×3384, up to60Hz; Thunderbolt3 upstream and three USB2 downstream ports. 14-inch MacBookPro2021+ is in the compatibility cohort with the stated OS prerequisite.
- Read exact model and choose the documented video input.
- Use independent monitor supply where required.
- Confirm offered mode and USB/power roles separately.
Dell U2720Q
Documented outcome: Source-documented monitor/input profile
- 3840×2160 preset timing up to60Hz; select exact HDMI/DisplayPort/USB-C input. USB-C priority changes video/data allocation. Monitor power and its downstream hub are separate from the picture path.
- Read exact model and choose the documented video input.
- Use independent monitor supply where required.
- Confirm offered mode and USB/power roles separately.
ASUS XG17AHPE
Documented outcome: Source-documented monitor/input profile
- 1920×1080; Micro-HDMI and USB-C DP Alt Mode inputs plus distinct charging USB-C. Target1080p60 SDR for the scoped examples; no USB touch/data feature inferred from picture.
- Read exact model and choose the documented video input.
- Use independent monitor supply where required.
- Confirm offered mode and USB/power roles separately.
Your next useful observation
Read input label and actual reported mode.
Keep these limits
- No panel/input timing was measured.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods
Studio Display Technical Specifications
Apple · 2022 model; revision not stated
Display; Connections; Compatibility
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
5K monitor upstream Thunderbolt versus three downstream USB-C ports.
Read the original sourcePro Display XDR Technical Specifications
Apple · 2019 model; revision not stated
Resolution/refresh; Connections; Compatibility
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
6016×3384, up to60Hz; Thunderbolt3 upstream; supported Mac/OS cohort.
Read the original sourceDell U2720Q/U2720QM User’s Guide
Dell · 2020-01 Rev. A00
USB-C Prioritization; Plug-and-Play; Preset Display Modes
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. Primary PDF text and relevant table inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact U2720Q modes and USB-C video/data priority; not U2723QE.
Read the original sourceROG STRIX XG17AHPE User Guide
ASUS · Copyright 2020; revision not stated
§1.3.1 printed pp.1-2–1-3; §2.2 p.2-2; §3.4 supported timing list
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. PDF text inspected; connector page screenshot pending; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact XG17AHPE input and separate charging roles.
Read the original sourceSource-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.