Applies to: TS5Plus,TS5,TS3Plus,DKT31CDHPD3; four new profiles beyond the baseline dock catalog.
What the path requires
- Exact model/firmware and source transport.
- Native video is not DisplayLink USB graphics.
- A dock supply does not establish sufficient host charging under every load.
Worked documentary examples
CalDigit TS5 Plus
Documented outcome: Source-documented dock profile
- Thunderbolt5/4, USB4 and Thunderbolt3 Mac contexts; macOS15+. Use the Computer upstream and spare Thunderbolt/DP display outputs; ordinary USB-C data ports are not display outputs. Named M1–M4 Pro/Max Mac dock path is at most two external displays; DSC/mode footnotes apply.
- Connect the specified upstream and supply.
- Treat display, USB data and power as separate paths.
- Read the complete output/mode row and host prerequisite before selecting.
CalDigit TS5
Documented outcome: Source-documented dock profile
- Thunderbolt5 hub/dock with downstream Thunderbolt display paths. macOS15+; M1–M4 Pro/Max Mac path supports two, despite three spare Thunderbolt sockets. Choose exact monitor/cable/mode evidence; USB-C data outputs are separate.
- Connect the specified upstream and supply.
- Treat display, USB data and power as separate paths.
- Read the complete output/mode row and host prerequisite before selecting.
CalDigit TS3 Plus
Documented outcome: Source-documented dock profile
- Thunderbolt3 dock: dual extended4K60 via DisplayPort and downstream Thunderbolt, or single5K60 through Thunderbolt. M1Pro/Max dual-display scope explicitly documented. Active conversion required for its DP-to-HDMI route.
- Connect the specified upstream and supply.
- Treat display, USB data and power as separate paths.
- Read the complete output/mode row and host prerequisite before selecting.
StarTech DKT31CDHPD3
Documented outcome: Source-documented dock profile
- Single-display DP Alt Mode multiport adapter, HDMI or DisplayPort output; the two video sockets are alternatives. USB10Gbps data; PD input up to100W, up to85W host charging with15W reserved. Use exact supported host mode.
- Connect the specified upstream and supply.
- Treat display, USB data and power as separate paths.
- Read the complete output/mode row and host prerequisite before selecting.
Your next useful observation
Record host transport and each actual output group.
Keep these limits
- No model cross-product promise; source tables can change.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods
CalDigit TS5 Plus
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
Single/Dual/Three/Four Displays; USB port roles; minimum system requirements
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact dock display count, DSC and mode footnotes.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS5
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
Single/Dual/Triple/Quad Displays; technical specifications
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact TS5 transport and display groups.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS3 Plus
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
5K or Dual4K Displays; Monitor Resolutions; M1 Pro/Max note
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact historical dock and output ceilings.
Read the original sourceDKT31CDHPD3 Quick-Start Guide
StarTech.com · Manual Revision 2022-12-02 1:28 PM
pp.1–2: port roles, power and display connection
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. Primary PDF relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
One display, DP Alt Mode, USB data and 100W/85W PD split.
Read the original sourceSource-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.