Applies to: Exact 13-inch Retina Early-2015 MacBook Pro and Apple single-link adapter; OS X Yosemite factory-era context satisfies the adapter’s 10.5.6+ prerequisite.
- video
- Mac Thunderbolt 2 / native Mini DisplayPort → Apple Mini DisplayPort-to-DVI adapter → single-link DVI cable → display DVI input
- data
- No USB peripheral path supplied by DVI.
- power
- Mac and display use their own documented supplies.
What the path requires
- Verify the Mac model and native Mini DisplayPort output.
- Use the single-link Apple adapter and display input/cable supporting the chosen mode.
- Treat 1920×1200 as an adapter ceiling; confirm display timing and refresh separately.
Fit is not the transport
Thunderbolt 2 and Mini DisplayPort share a form, but this host expressly supplies native Mini DisplayPort. An Apple Thunderbolt 3-to-2 adapter does not provide that same route to a Mini DisplayPort display.
About the Apple Mini DisplayPort adapters · MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) — Technical Specifications · About the Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 AdapterWorked documentary examples
A single-link DVI display
Documented outcome: Supported adapter class in the named host context
- 1920×1200 or lower display-supported timing; exact adapter; no reverse direction.
- Select DVI on the display.
- Confirm the offered mode in OS display settings.
- If the requested mode exceeds the ceiling, use a separately documented route.
Your next useful observation
Read the display input and timing list; do not infer dual-link operation from the presence of extra socket contacts.
Keep these limits
- Historical OS compatibility is not current OS security support.
- No audio or HDCP behavior inferred from the DVI connector.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods
About the Apple Mini DisplayPort adapters
Apple · Revision not stated
Single-Link DVI; Dual-Link DVI; VGA; opening supported OS/ports
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML body inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Named Apple adapters; macOS 10.5.6+ prerequisite is historical support scope, not current security support.
Read the original sourceMacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) — Technical Specifications
Apple · 2015 model; revision not stated
Graphics and Video Support; Connections and Expansion
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary search excerpt inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Native Mini DisplayPort over Thunderbolt 2; not USB-C or every modern Mac.
Read the original sourceAbout the Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter
Apple · Revision not stated
Opening exclusions; Video; Data transfer; Learn more
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML body inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Thunderbolt display path versus Mini DisplayPort exclusion and self-powered reverse data path.
Read the original sourceSource-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.