FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

setup

30-inch Cinema HD Display needs the dual-link route

For Apple’s 30-inch Cinema HD Display, the Apple Mini DisplayPort-to-Dual-Link-DVI adapter has a documented route up to 2560×1600. Preserve its USB connections as well as the DVI video path.

Applies to: 13-inch Retina Early-2015 MacBook Pro native Mini DisplayPort, Apple dual-link adapter and 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Display; OS X Yosemite context.

video
Mac Thunderbolt 2 / native Mini DisplayPort → Apple Dual-Link DVI adapter → Cinema HD Display DVI
data
Display USB cable → adapter USB-A; adapter USB-A cable → Mac USB-A, as Apple directs.
power
Mac and Cinema HD Display use their supplies; adapter USB connection remains required.
Functional path diagram. Arrows show the stated role and direction; they do not report an observed connection.

What the path requires

  • Apple dual-link adapter; single-link is not an equivalent replacement.
  • Display USB and adapter USB connections following the exact Apple directions.
  • Confirm 2560×1600 is offered; preserve the display’s supported refresh.

Do not discard the extra USB lead

Apple’s named 30-inch display example routes the display USB lead into the adapter and the adapter USB lead into the Mac. The extra lead is part of this documented assembly, not optional evidence of DVI audio.

About the Apple Mini DisplayPort adapters

Worked documentary examples

Single-link adapter substituted

Documented outcome: Documented conflict for the requested ceiling

  • Request 2560×1600 with the single-link Apple adapter.
  1. Do not treat a matching DVI outline as proof of the higher mode.
  2. Use the documented dual-link assembly or lower the target to a fully supported mode.
About the Apple Mini DisplayPort adapters

Your next useful observation

Identify the full adapter model, all USB leads and the display’s reported timing.

Keep these limits

  • No hardware test or assurance for modern third-party USB-C adapters.
  • The exact current condition of a used display and adapter is unknown.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods

About the Apple Mini DisplayPort adapters

Apple · Revision not stated

Single-Link DVI; Dual-Link DVI; VGA; opening supported OS/ports

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML body inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Named Apple adapters; macOS 10.5.6+ prerequisite is historical support scope, not current security support.

Read the original source

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) — Technical Specifications

Apple · 2015 model; revision not stated

Graphics and Video Support; Connections and Expansion

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary search excerpt inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Native Mini DisplayPort over Thunderbolt 2; not USB-C or every modern Mac.

Read the original source

Source-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.

Draft a correction · More connection lessons