Applies to: Exact examples above plus ChromeOS/Windows MST topology; native, MST and software graphics remain distinct.
What the path requires
- Count built-in/other external displays and exact chip/lid state.
- Select Extend only where the platform/path supports independent screens.
- Read the actual output group; alternative sockets may share one engine.
Worked documentary examples
M1Max with DKT31, two extended screens
Documented outcome: Worked documented conflict
- DKT31 single-display profile.
- Host capacity is sufficient in another topology.
- Dock explicitly supports one display.
- Select an independent documented second route.
Follow the observation
Read the result before moving to the next branch. Leave unavailable evidence unknown.
1. DKT31 has two video sockets and both are used
What it supports: It documents one display.
Next action: Use a supported independent second path or different topology.
Stop / escalation: Do not infer two engines from socket count.
2. M4Max can drive four overall but TS5Plus three are requested
What it supports: Single-dock Mac limit is narrower.
Next action: Use the exact two-screen dock case and a separately documented additional path.
Stop / escalation: No cross-product compatibility inference.
3. MST-only dock on macOS mirrors
What it supports: This topology/platform combination differs from native Thunderbolt streams.
Next action: Read exact dock macOS exclusions and consider a source-supported Thunderbolt or USB-graphics alternative.
Stop / escalation: Do not promise a driver can enable unsupported native MST extension.
4. macOS DisplayLink Manager path selected
What it supports: USB graphics has separate installation, running and permission states; none is established by connecting a dock.
Next action: Follow the cited DisplayLink Manager first-time configuration for the actual OS/version, including applicable Screen Recording and Background Activity settings. Read the exact dock/software support and content restrictions before choosing the workload.
Stop / escalation: Only grant a permission the user intends. No security or protected-content bypass; this site has not installed software or observed permission state.
5. Each monitor works directly but one is missing through dock
What it supports: Dock topology, resource or mode issue remains possible.
Next action: Check host/dock count, alternative-output groups and complete mode; add one display at a time at a supported baseline.
Stop / escalation: Do not blanket-flash firmware.
Your next useful observation
Record each display's selected input, engine/group and whether it works directly.
Keep these limits
- No actual Extend, MST, DisplayLink permission or protected-content test.
- The reused DisplayLink source supports its stated macOS configuration context; no current unnamed driver/OS or protected-content workload is accepted by this lesson.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods
MacBook Pro 14-inch (2021) Technical Specifications
Apple · 2021 model; revision not stated
Display Support; Charging and Expansion
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
M1 Pro versus M1 Max native capacity.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS5 Plus
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
Single/Dual/Three/Four Displays; USB port roles; minimum system requirements
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact dock display count, DSC and mode footnotes.
Read the original sourceCalDigit TS5
CalDigit · Live revision not stated
Single/Dual/Triple/Quad Displays; technical specifications
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact TS5 transport and display groups.
Read the original sourceDKT31CDHPD3 Quick-Start Guide
StarTech.com · Manual Revision 2022-12-02 1:28 PM
pp.1–2: port roles, power and display connection
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. Primary PDF relevant text/tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
One display, DP Alt Mode, USB data and 100W/85W PD split.
Read the original sourcePlugable UD-MSTHDC — Certified Works With Chromebook dock
Plugable · Live product revision not stated
Compatibility; setup steps 6–9; WWCB features
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML body and relevant table inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Exact dock port groups, ChromeOS/Windows prerequisites and macOS exclusion.
Read the original sourceIf your external display is dark or low resolution
Apple · Revision not stated
Check cables and connections; Detect your display; sleep/wake
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML body and relevant table inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.
Mac direct-path and detection checks.
Read the original sourceDocking Station Playbook
Plugable · Revision not recorded
Comparison of DisplayLink, MST, USB-C and Thunderbolt approaches
Inspected 2026-10-01 by public_page. AI-assisted inspection of retrieved primary-page text; independent review pending
Manufacturer explanation of technology and host/OS caveats; no endorsement or device recommendation.
Read the original sourceDisplayLink Manager — first-time configuration
Synaptics / DisplayLink · Revision not recorded
Allow Screen Recording; Allow Background Activity
Inspected 2026-10-03 by public_page. AI-assisted primary-page text inspection; independent technical review pending.
macOS DisplayLink Manager configuration requirements.
Read the original sourceSource-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.