FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

identification

Diagnostic and EV forms: six bounded identification cases

Identify the connector family, role and exact vehicle/equipment context. A diagnostic socket or charging coupler shape does not approve a protocol, adapter, current or energized procedure.

Applies to: Exact TE 179631-1 diagnostic housing, Type1/Type2/CCS1/CCS2 manufacturer overview, SAE J3400_202409 public scope. No automotive/EV wiring is added.

What the path requires

  • Use actual vehicle/OEM and EVSE product labels and approved normal-use documentation.
  • Treat regional prevalence as context, not a current legal/installation statement.
  • No contact mapping or high-voltage procedure.

The diagnostic standard and the exact housing are separate evidence

SAE J1962_201607 public scope describes an OBD diagnostic connection with vehicle and external test-equipment mating connectors. Use that versioned standard handoff for the diagnostic interface. The separate TE179631-1 housing record does not by itself establish J1962 compliance, terminal allocation, wiring or electrical suitability.

J1962_201607 Diagnostic Connector: public scope · TE 179631-1 Diagnostic Plug Housing — exact product page

Worked documentary examples

TE 179631-1 diagnostic housing: position count versus protocol

Documented outcome: Identification and protocol-versus-form education

  • Exact TE part 179631-1: manufacturer diagnostic housing description, 16 positions in two rows, housing for female/receptacle terminals, wire-to-panel and panel mount. The product label uses plug-housing wording; identify terminal sex separately from the housing name.
  1. Read the exact housing and tool/vehicle documentation; position count and mating form do not identify populated contacts, protocol support or an approved cable.
  2. The referenced product feature page is identification evidence only. No contact allocation, universal J1962 conformity, powered probing, wiring or installation procedure is supplied.
TE 179631-1 Diagnostic Plug Housing — exact product page

Type1 AC vehicle interface

Documented outcome: Identification and protocol-versus-form education

  • North-American-origin Type1 context, referenced by Phoenix to SAEJ1772/IEC62196; distinguish AC interface from the larger CCS1 combined face.
  1. Use vehicle/EVSE exact OEM support and regional product version; do not infer charge power or adapter permission.
  2. Use only the manufacturer's permitted normal-use procedure; this reference supplies no HV pinout, powered probing, wiring or installation instructions.
Principles of e-mobility charging technology

Type2 AC interface

Documented outcome: Identification and protocol-versus-form education

  • European-origin Type2 context; distinguish a vehicle inlet from a cable connector and infrastructure-side socket. Similar appearance does not settle role.
  1. Confirm vehicle/EVSE role, supported AC mode and approved cable from OEM labels; no mains/HV contact assignments supplied.
  2. Use only the manufacturer's permitted normal-use procedure; this reference supplies no HV pinout, powered probing, wiring or installation instructions.
Principles of e-mobility charging technology

CCS Type1 combined form

Documented outcome: Identification and protocol-versus-form education

  • Combined vehicle inlet built around the Type1 interface with distinct DC mating area; this identification treatment does not assign electrical terminals.
  1. Read exact inlet/cable product and vehicle DC support; AC fit does not establish DC charging or protocol.
  2. Use only the manufacturer's permitted normal-use procedure; this reference supplies no HV pinout, powered probing, wiring or installation instructions.
Principles of e-mobility charging technology

CCS Type2 combined form

Documented outcome: Identification and protocol-versus-form education

  • Combined vehicle inlet built around Type2 with a distinct DC mating area. Do not confuse a Type2 AC connector with full CCS2 capability.
  1. Confirm vehicle, EVSE, cable and protocol support together; no energized checks, assembly or conversion advice.
  2. Use only the manufacturer's permitted normal-use procedure; this reference supplies no HV pinout, powered probing, wiring or installation instructions.
Principles of e-mobility charging technology

SAE J3400/NACS context

Documented outcome: Identification and protocol-versus-form education

  • The public J3400_202409 scope covers a coupler using two current-carrying contacts for DC or single-phase AC. This is the named2024revision, not a claim to the latest full standard.
  1. The same contact form can serve different supply modes; obtain exact OEM/EVSE/adapter permission. Public overview is not an engineering pinout or interoperability test.
  2. Use only the manufacturer's permitted normal-use procedure; this reference supplies no HV pinout, powered probing, wiring or installation instructions.
J3400_202409 North American Charging System for Electric Vehicles

Your next useful observation

Read exact vehicle/inlet/EVSE model and OEM permitted connector/adapter statement.

Keep these limits

  • SAE full standards not accessed; no dimension/pinout claims taken from public abstracts.
  • No specialist wiring review, powered test or universal interoperability approval.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods

TE 179631-1 Diagnostic Plug Housing — exact product page

TE Connectivity · Live product revision not stated; linked product specification 108-5637 not used as inspected normative evidence

Product overview; TE internal description; Features → Product Type, Configuration, Contact and Mechanical Attachment

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML page read directly in web reader; relevant body text and named table/section inspected. Not search-excerpt-only evidence. AI source review, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Exact diagnostic housing: 16 positions, two rows, female/receptacle terminals, wire-to-panel and panel mount. No universal J1962 conformity, protocol, electrical contact allocation or pinout claim.

Read the original source

Principles of e-mobility charging technology

Phoenix Contact · Live revision not stated

Charging standards/mating faces; Type1;Type2;CCS glossary

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML page read directly in web reader; relevant body text and named table/section inspected. Not search-excerpt-only evidence. AI source review, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Manufacturer identification overview, not a current geographic adoption/legal mandate.

Read the original source

J3400_202409 North American Charging System for Electric Vehicles

SAE International · Revised2024-09-30, issued2023-12

Public Scope and citation, DOI10.4271/J3400_202409

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary SAE public HTML Scope and citation read directly in web reader. The paywalled normative standard was not obtained or inspected. AI source review, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Named revision public abstract only; full engineering standard not inspected.

Read the original source

J1962_201607 Diagnostic Connector: public scope

SAE International · Revised July 1, 2016; J1962_201607

Official live browser page: expanded Scope and Details/citation. Public Scope names U.S. OBD intent and vehicle / external test-equipment mating connectors.

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Coordinator read actual official SAE browser DOM/AX Scope, revision and citation after web reader timeout; no purchased normative document inspection.

Attributed public-scope context only. No normative dimensions, contact allocation, electrical circuits or component conformity inferred. TE179631-1 remains a separately documented housing.

Read the original source

Source-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.

Draft a correction · More connection lessons