FIELD GUIDESource-led reference

Observation lesson

Read connector and connection terms in context

Separate the shape, signal, role and exact implementation before treating a matching connector as a useful path.

Applies to: Editorial reading conventions with source-backed examples. Each link supports its named example; these are not quotations from a universal terminology standard or a compatibility verdict.

Form, protocol and implementation

Form names the mating shape; implementation names what exact equipment supports. USB-IF warns that the USB-C name does not establish USB performance. Kingston separately explains that an M.2 outline or key does not settle SATA, PCIe or NVMe support. Read the product and intended signal together.

USB Type-C language guidelines, March 2023 · SSD FAQ

Source and sink

Use source for the sender and sink for the receiver of the named signal. In the cited Sony return-audio connection, TV audio travels to the audio system through the labeled ARC/eARC path. Name the function before drawing its arrow; video, USB data and power require separate paths.

Television Help Guide — Connecting an audio system

Upstream and downstream

For the 2022 Apple Studio Display, the specification identifies one Thunderbolt upstream host connection and three downstream USB-C peripheral connections. Apply the terms to the documented function and port; matching USB-C shapes do not make the peripheral ports additional video inputs.

Studio Display (2022) — upstream and downstream connections

Complete mode

The Elgato 4K X matrix distinguishes HDMI passthrough from USB capture. Its 3840x2160 NV12 8-bit 4:2:0 capture row lists 60fps on USB 10Gbps and 30fps on USB 5Gbps. In a worksheet, record resolution, refresh, color/depth, HDR/VRR and compression when the task requires them; a resolution label alone leaves those conditions open.

Elgato Game Capture 4K X — Supported Resolutions and Frame Rates

Pitch, rows and body axes

JST names PH as a 2.0mm-pitch family and XH as a 2.5mm-pitch family. For an observation, record a span across several contact-center intervals along one row and divide by the number of intervals. Keep between-row spacing and housing dimensions on separate named axes; neither substitutes for pitch. Follow the exact drawing view and dimension labels.

PH connector catalog · XH connector catalog

Connector role and contact role

Keep cable/board/panel and plug/receptacle role separate from pin/socket contact geometry. The saved exact Amphenol 132134RP example is called a jack while its center contact is male. That example explains why an outer-role name cannot replace inspection of the disconnected contact.

Amphenol RF 132134RP — board-jack and thread fields · TE Connectivity Linx cross-reference — RP-SMA role labels and limits

Electronic marker

VIA Labs describes its VL153 electronic marker for passive USB-C cables, including passive Thunderbolt 3/4 applications. An electronic marker therefore does not by itself establish signal-conditioning-active construction, conversion or every display/data mode. Use the exact cable construction and supported-protocol documentation.

VL153 electronic marker: passive-cable application

Evidence states

These are this site's editorial labels: source documented means a cited document supports the scoped fact; one document is not independent corroboration. Unknown means required evidence is missing or conflicting. Neither label reports an independent human review, measurement or completed hardware test.

Your next useful observation

Write the exact product, port role and missing discriminator alongside your intended task.

Keep these limits

  • These definitions do not replace an exact source drawing or device manual.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods

USB Type-C language guidelines, March 2023

USB-IF · Revision not recorded

USB Type-C is not USB performance; USB 2.0 Type-C cables section

Inspected 2026-10-01 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted public-source inspection; not independent expert review

Shape/performance distinction and absence of high-speed lanes in USB 2.0 Type-C cables.

Read the original source

SSD FAQ

Kingston · Revision not recorded

M.2 physical sizes, B/M keys, host compatibility and hot-plug questions

Inspected 2026-10-01 by public_page. AI-assisted public-source inspection; not independent expert review

M.2 physical fit does not establish SATA / PCIe / NVMe support.

Read the original source

Television Help Guide — Connecting an audio system

Sony · Live Help Guide identifier iusltn1/v1; revision unavailable

HDMI eARC; ARC; Digital optical

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML body or primary indexed specifications inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Source-scoped Sony TV procedure; exact region/model menu applicability must be checked against TV Help Guide. Exact US XR-55A80J association verified by live manufacturer listing; see S1262.

Read the original source

Studio Display (2022) — upstream and downstream connections

Apple · Revision not recorded

Year introduced; Connections; Compatibility

Inspected 2026-10-02 by public_page. AI-assisted inspection of retrieved primary-page text in V6; independent review pending

2022 display only; host and peripheral roles kept separate.

Read the original source

Elgato Game Capture 4K X — Supported Resolutions and Frame Rates

Elgato · Updated 2026-05-21

Input and Capture Resolution Matrix; Detailed Capture Codec Specifications

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. Primary HTML tables inspected; AI-assisted source reading, no independent human review or hardware validation.

Capture and passthrough are different paths, with software and USB-link qualifications.

Read the original source

PH connector catalog

JST · Revision not stated in inspected source

pp.2–3 contact/tool table, housing/header four- and six-circuit rows; p.1 board-view note

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted reading of stated sections using official web retrieval; no independent human review or hardware testing

Documented component examples for identification and document selection. Exact equipment wiring, replacement suitability and powered use require the equipment maker’s documentation.

Read the original source

XH connector catalog

JST · Revision not stated in inspected source

p.2 board-view note; p.3 contact/tool table; p.4 housing; p.5 top-entry header

Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted reading of stated sections using official web retrieval; no independent human review or hardware testing

Documented component examples for identification and document selection. Exact equipment wiring, replacement suitability and powered use require the equipment maker’s documentation.

Read the original source

Amphenol RF 132134RP — board-jack and thread fields

Amphenol RF · Revision not recorded

Exact part heading; Product Specifications: Gender, Coupling, Thread Direction, Orientation, Termination Style and Contact Termination.

Inspected 2026-10-12 by public_page. AI-assisted source inspection; PDF page images inspected only at stated locations. Independent review pending.

Part-specific jack role, standard thread direction and PCB through-hole solder termination. Linked drawing could not be visually inspected; no physical geometry is inferred.

Read the original source

TE Connectivity Linx cross-reference — RP-SMA role labels and limits

TE Connectivity · Revision not recorded

Printed page 5: the two Amphenol 132134RP rows; printed page 2: disclaimer. Both pages visually inspected.

Inspected 2026-10-12 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted source inspection; PDF page images inspected only at stated locations. Independent review pending.

The competitor-description rows identify a jack with a male pin. TE explicitly does not assert exact equivalence; this guide is not a replacement approval or a source for uninspected geometry.

Read the original source

VL153 electronic marker: passive-cable application

VIA Labs · Revision not recorded

Description and Applications: electronic marker optimized for passive USB Type-C cables and supporting passive Thunderbolt 3/4 cables.

Inspected 2026-10-08 by public_page. AI-assisted primary-source inspection of public text and rendered PDF pages where applicable; independent review pending.

A manufacturer counterexample to equating an electronic marker with signal-conditioning-active cable construction.

Read the original source

Source-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.

Draft a correction · More connection lessons