Applies to: Matrix reuses source-qualified baseline examples with their original check dates and adds current long-run evidence; no throughput or charging measurement.
| Task | Required evidence | Documented example / remaining check |
|---|---|---|
| Phone or laptop charging | Required charger/device voltage/current or PD mode and sufficient cable rating; data is a separate question. | Apple's named 2m240W cable is documented for USB2 data. Cable wattage is a ceiling, not a promised device charging rate. |
| USB2 peripheral | The required USB2 data path and device-side power; exact device topology. | USB3AAEXT10M explicitly documents USB2/1.1 fallback. Corning optical requires a powered hub for the low-speed USB1.x case and self-powered peripheral use. |
| Fast external storage | The drive/bridge, host/hub and cable must all document the requested USB mode; application throughput is not line rate. | StarTech's named3m retimer cable documents USB10Gbps and60W. USB2/USB4/Thunderbolt link fallback remains unestablished in its inspected protocol list. |
| USB-C display | Host DisplayPort transport, cable/converter direction and the entire requested timing/color/HDR/DSC path. | The3m retimer example has DP1.4 Alt Mode with DSC-qualified high-resolution examples. A240W mark does not supply video. |
| Thunderbolt dock | Actual Thunderbolt support at host, cable and dock; monitor/data/power paths remain separate. | Apple's1.8m active TB4 example documents TB3/4 and USB4 up to40Gb/s and USB3 up to10Gb/s. These are separate ceilings, not simultaneous throughput guarantees. |
| Long USB run | Exact active/optical topology, device power, supported fallback and selected length. | Use the four long-run profiles. Do not choose a universal passive cutoff; preserve product-specific power, direction and reach conflicts. |
Certified marking versus installed capability
A certification mark is a product-evidence question. It does not add a missing host feature or confirm the identity of a cable in hand. Match the model/length and authenticate certification separately; no registry match or specimen inspection is claimed here.
240W USB-C Charge Cable (2 m) — product information · UCC-3M-10G-USB-CABLE official datasheet · Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C) Pro Cable (1.8 m) · Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) Pro Cable (1 m) · Thunderbolt 5 technology brief · USB3AAEXT10M datasheet · USB 3.Optical Cables product page and FAQ · Compliance updates — Cables and ConnectorsActive and passive fallback
Use the exact cable's supported-protocol list. Active optical USB, active copper USB and active Thunderbolt products can have different fallback and power behavior. Passive construction also does not grant undocumented modes. Keep the existing Thunderbolt5 source conflict attached instead of assigning its grouped headline rate to older Thunderbolt hosts.
240W USB-C Charge Cable (2 m) — product information · UCC-3M-10G-USB-CABLE official datasheet · Thunderbolt 4 (USB-C) Pro Cable (1.8 m) · Thunderbolt 5 (USB-C) Pro Cable (1 m) · Thunderbolt 5 technology brief · USB3AAEXT10M datasheet · USB 3.Optical Cables product page and FAQ · Compliance updates — Cables and ConnectorsYour next useful observation
Record the exact model, selected length, both endpoint roles and required application. Keep undocumented properties unknown.
Keep these limits
- Source-scoped examples only. No actual cable sample, link, power, qualification or certification test was performed.
Source documents, revisions and inspection methods
240W USB-C Charge Cable (2 m) — product information
Apple · Revision not recorded
Overview; Tech Specs
Inspected 2026-10-03 by public_page. AI-assisted primary-page text inspection; independent technical review pending.
The two-metre USB-C-to-USB-C cable has a 240W charging ceiling and USB 2 data capability.
Read the original sourceUCC-3M-10G-USB-CABLE official datasheet
StarTech.com · Revision not recorded
Four-page PDF: overview, active retimer and e-marker description, DSC-qualified performance statement, protocol list and 60W cable-level power field; rendered pages inspected.
Inspected 2026-10-08 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted primary-source inspection of public text and rendered PDF pages where applicable; independent review pending.
Named 3m active USB 10Gbps cable with 60W PD and DP 1.4 Alt Mode evidence.
Read the original sourceThunderbolt 4 (USB-C) Pro Cable (1.8 m)
Apple · Revision not recorded
Product overview and technical specifications: active Thunderbolt 4 cable; data/display modes; charging capability; Thunderbolt marking
Inspected 2026-10-07 by public_page. AI-assisted manufacturer-source inspection; independent technical review pending
Exact Apple 1.8 m product only; active/passive construction, represented data/display modes and charging rating.
Read the original sourceThunderbolt 5 (USB-C) Pro Cable (1 m)
Apple · Revision not recorded
Product overview and technical specifications: passive Thunderbolt 5 cable; represented data/display modes; charging capability; Thunderbolt marking
Inspected 2026-10-07 by public_page. AI-assisted manufacturer-source inspection; independent technical review pending
Exact Apple 1 m product only; passive construction, represented data/display modes and charging rating.
Read the original sourceThunderbolt 5 technology brief
Intel · Revision not recorded
Five-page public brief; PDF pages 2–3, feature comparison and bandwidth reconfiguration diagram inspected in rendered form.
Inspected 2026-10-08 by public_pdf_text. AI-assisted primary-source inspection of public text and rendered PDF pages where applicable; independent review pending.
Thunderbolt 5 balanced 80/80 Gbit/s and display-driven 120/40 Gbit/s modes; Thunderbolt 4 comparison.
Read the original sourceUSB3AAEXT10M datasheet
StarTech.com · Revision not stated; three-page PDF
pp. 1–3: overview, features, power and connector tables
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_pdf_text. AI primary-source text inspection; not independent human review or hardware measurement
Exact 10m active USB-A extension; USB3 Gen1, USB2/1.1 fallback, included power adapter. Adapter output is not a guaranteed peripheral allocation.
Read the original sourceUSB 3.Optical Cables product page and FAQ
Corning · Revision not stated
Specifications and FAQ: self-powered peripherals, USB1.x hub, copper conductors
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. AI primary-source text inspection; not independent human review or hardware measurement
Named USB optical series; advertised lengths and stated host/device reach differ. No 50m operating recommendation is made.
Read the original sourceCompliance updates — Cables and Connectors
USB-IF · Update listing through July 2025 in returned text; IDs 147/151 and 140/143
USB-C Cable Logo Requirements and Clarification; power marking 60W/240W
Inspected 2026-10-23 by public_page. AI primary-source text inspection; not independent human review or hardware measurement
Power/data logo meaning, without reproducing protected logos or claiming authentic sample certification.
Read the original sourceSource-documented education. Hardware behavior and independent human review have not been performed for these examples.